We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice 4 star hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rydges Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rydges Wellington
Ranked #6 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very nice 4 star hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

Stayed two nights in a standard room which is very modern and of ave size. Comfortable bed and good shower (over bath). NIce indoor swimming pool good for lengths, but only a token gym. Downside to the hotel is the road noise and expensive car parking ($30 per night), although it is valet. Hotel is a long way from Courtney place if that is where you are wanting to spend most of your time, although excellent for courtney place and govt buildings. Staff very very nice and the breakfast in the morning was excellent one of the best that we have had all over the world.

Room Tip: Ask for the quiet side of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwis_in_Brit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,753 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    699
    733
    242
    61
    18
See reviews for
286
737
74
410
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (457)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

Thank you Duty Manager and Housekeeping manager for making sure that your system of locating lost property and tracing is through is thorough. Hence I was able to have my ipod returned safely. Commending your cleaning staff also for their honesty.

Cheers
Pale Sauni
MaP Consultants

Room Tip: room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pale33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mermaid Waters, Queensland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2011

The Rydges is missing a little something of whatever it was that made the Holiday Inn so friendly...but I think the recent brand change has probably meant a change in staff and many new faces. Understandable.
The hotel itself is still very nice NOT tired at all, if anything the styling is a little too modern if that is possible, black and red tones - velvet finishings, high gloss sheer red curtains. I have found the central location great. I have more often than not been given a room with a nice view ...even when I havent paid for it. This happened last time, even when the staff member didnt know me, as they acknowledges I was a regular visitor. I find it is probably beneficial to pay extra as the higher priced rooms have a balcony and sliding door, which is a bonus when Wellington turns on nice weather.
I have been told by other people that have stayed at the hotel that they are horrified by a frosted glass panel located adjacent to the toilet....but as I travel alone this has never bothered me!
I find the rooms quiet and have never been disturbed by noises of a fellow guest on any trip. This is the best feature of the hotel. Ask for a quiet room and you will get one. When travelling on business that is just magic!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mermaidmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2011

This was originally the Holiday Inn and when a brand like that bails out you have to ask why. One reason may be that the place needs a spruce up to keep its perceived place in the market.
What you can tell about the place is that it was built to a price. It looks fine but when the shower becomes hot if a tap is turned on over the hand basin then some pressure levelling valves or better pipework is missing. There is something missing between the carpets and the hard concrete floor. The air conditioning unit in each room has a remote that defies logic, or simply does not work and when the unit does fire up it can sound like a Lear jet on start up. The lack of an opening window seals the price deal for me, especially with an air con unit that is so noisy.
The rooms have a hot plate and a microwave oven which suggests they do not mind if you self cater. The trouble is the pot and pan and plates are nowhere to be seen. The stove top vent and lights did not work either. I feel there is a message here.
A high point is the pool and spa on the second floor. The gymnasium is rudimentary and cannot be taken seriously and the hotel does offer access to a real one close by.
Location is good and if you can talk the people on the desk into giving you a room with a harbour view it is much better. There is a god-awful ugly building right next door that has a tenant with lots of money. You can tell that because they leave floors of lights on all night. Try to avoid a room that has empty desks for a view.
The valet parking is a bit rich at $30 (these people may not have heard about the recession) and the after hours parking on the wharf by the police station is a much better deal.
It is a perfectly fine hotel but if you do not have a special deal, which most people who use the place probably have, then it may not represent the best value for money.
Staff are good to deal with and this always helps to paint over any imperfections in a hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a view that is not of the Post Office next door
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JacktheLadd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nz
Level Contributor
128 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2011

Accommodation was nice and location quite central but I will be avoiding this one in future.

The Viaduct is a noisy place at night, full of drunks and rowdy people: not my scene at all and so not for me again.

Nice room, although I disliked the glass wall between the bathroom and the bedroom. It has the WC immediately on the other side of it and frankly, even though the glass was frosted, there are some things which are better left private, rather than as shadow-puppet viewing entertainment for others in the suite.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AA_Gull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Rydges Wellington for a weekend away from home. The room was nice and tidy, and the bed was very comfortable. In the room there was even a small kitchen with a microwave and a sink which was a surprise. Bathroom was nice and big enough for us. But the frosted glass wall!!! We hated it. If the toilet was not right next to the wall it could have been a bit more acceptable. But it's just so embarrassing to have it so clearly visible so I definitely won't go back there unless I travel alone. Not even with my husband!

It's a shame because I like everything else about the hotel. The spa/pool/sauna area is very nice and a lovely place to relax. The staff at the reception were OK, but those girls in the restaurant were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast (included in the room rate) was of very good value, with pancakes and even a juicer for fresh juice to start the day. We was a bit late for our breakfast but the staffnever rushed us and even allowed us to stay at the table finishing our newspapers. Overall it was a very enjoyable stay.

Rydges is very close to the railway station and bus stops. A short walk to the Parliament Buildings/the Beehive and the Lambton Quay and fairly close to the water front. It's not too close to Courtney Place which is the entertainment centre of Wellington. But unless the weather is bad, it's a pleasant walk along the waterfront or the shops.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rusticity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2011

I chose to stay here as it is the closest hotel to Wellington Railway station, and with the Overlander leaving at 0725 I wanted to be as close as possible. It was $20 more for two adults and a child than a 3* hotel, so not bad on the value front. Check in was professional if a little impersonal, but I certainly didn't feel unwelcome. The room, although the cheapest option for our stay, was stylish & comfortable. I took my daughter for a swim and there were floating toys (eg rings and noodles) for her, and the pool was a perfect temperature- not so hot as to make a good swim tiring. I was surprised at the lack of hotel information in our room, the only Rydges literature was the room service menu- prices for that looked good and the choices appetising. However, with Wellington's selection of eateries who would eat in a hotel?

Check out was quick and easy, I don't envy foreign travellers getting stung with a credit card surcharge though.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DuffBasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.2 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
0.8 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,050 reviews
0.9 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.8 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#9 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Wellington

Property: Rydges Wellington
Address: 75 Featherston Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Wellington
#6 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#7 Family Hotel in Wellington
#12 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Wellington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Wellington is located on downtown Featherston Street with a unique combination of harbour views and city outlooks. Ideally situated in New Zealand's capital city, Rydges Wellington is within close distance to the Westpac Stadium, Queens Wharf, Wellington Railway Station, both the Interislander and Bluebridge Ferry terminals and Lambton Quay for shopping.This 4+ Star hotel offers 280 accommodation rooms for business and leisure guests with the benefits of modern facilities including wireless internet throughout, iPads for guests and fantastic leisure facilities. All rooms feature flat screen televisions, free unlimited Wi-Fi, iPod docking stations and kitchenettes. There are 19 apartment style suites, perfect for your long stay requirements with washer and drier facilities available. Rydges Wellington is your landmark hotel in the Capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Rydges Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Wellington Hotel Wellington
Holiday Inn Wellington
Wellington Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing