We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms, but unimpressive service.”
Review of Rydges Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rydges Wellington
Ranked #8 of 47 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 10, 2011

We spent three nights here with our five-year-old son. The best thing about this hotel is its location. It is right next to the waterfront, and is convenient to the whole city. Parking is a bit of an issue during the week, as the parking fees for using the hotel lots are steep: $30 per night. There is metered parking around the hotel, but it is restricted to two hours during the day, so it is a bit of an annoyance.

The rooms are clean and the sheets and bedding are of high quality. The kitchenette has a very nice appearance, but unfortunately is ill-equipped, making it very difficult to do more than the simplest meals. Our room also lacked any eating area, so once we did prepare our food, we were left to eat while sitting on our beds.

Service was extremely slow. When we requested additional plates or silverware, they came very slowly, if at all. Some items simply never came, and we made do without them.

The hotel also charges for internet use, and although the front desk staff is friendly, the inability to get service in the room is a negative.

There is a nice indoor pool, and a hot tub. The restaurant downstairs looked fine, but we did not eat there. It's not a bad hotel, just nothing special.

www.riderbymyside.com

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank riderbymyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,939)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,888 - 1,894 of 1,939 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2011

We had a nice stay. Utilised most of the services within the hotel. really enjoyed the spa area.

First impressions ... reception area needs to be done up instead of pushed to a really un-noticable area of the foyer. Reception staff helpful though.

Bar staff need to sell Wellington better as asked about a few attractions and also transport services to get to places and they couldnt help me - in my own personal opinion all staff, no matter what department they are in - should be able to sell their city.

Although the breakfast seating area was all over the place, the food was a favourite as i mainly ordered a-la-carte brekkie which i do recommend to anyone.

Also, in our room we had a small kitchenette with 2 oven stove top, so we went to buy food which we could cook and then went looking for fry pan, pot and utensils but couldnt find anything. Strange??????

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KaiTePuariki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2011

We traveled in New Zealand for 7 weeks. This hotel was a Holiday Inn. We received an e-mail about two weeks before our stay informing us they were no longer a Holiday Inn. At best I would say the location was great. The service, horrible and beds were more like hammocks. Very pricey for what you get, no business center, no laundry and a staff that was very unfriendly.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BobS039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2011

A good hotel with very polite and friendly staff.

The rooms are clean and spacious and the hotel is well located, with easy access to the business district, restaurants and the waterfront.

The breakfast could be a bit better though and the air conditioning unit is a bit tricky to use.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris_S123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2011

Our driver (husband Rod) was a little stressed out when we arrived as there was no designated client parking for the hotel, even on a temporary basis whilst one organises themselves. I hopped out the car and started the process of checking in and requesting valet parking whilst Rod did a lap of the block, negotiating one way streets. The service was prompt and a space was organised for our car whilst we unloaded and our bags and various odds and ends were loaded onto a trolley and taken to our room. This was a little bit more time consuming than it would normally have been because we were leaving the hire car for collection the following morning and needed to gather all of our belongings. Anyway the service was very efficient but my husband’s comment is valid – what if you were arriving and the only person in the car, how would you be able to organise the parking space in this very busy part of the city? The very convenient location to the train station was the draw card for us as we were catching the Overlander to Auckland the next morning. With suitcases and the possibility of rain the convenience to the station was ideal, once again our thanks goes to Cam Pott’s of Self Drive Holidays NZ for organising this for us and also for his accurate directions for making our way into Wellington via State Highway 1. Our room was very, very nice and the night view was stunning so we never closed our curtains. Reception was always helpful and the buffet breakfast was great, we were the first ones to partake at 6.00am as we needed to be at the station at 7.00. The scrambled eggs were the best we have seen at any buffet but we were still asked if we had any requests for fried or poached as an alternative.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelNZwithJARs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2011

Rydges offered a great welcome, and the wheelchair accessible rooms are well-appointed. The pool and spa were a welcome reprieve from the awful weather, and the buffet breakfast sets you up for the day.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank inapinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2011

The Holiday Inn Wellington changed to Rydges Wellington the day before we arrived, so if you think you're booking for Holiday Inn, you won't be. The hotel is in a nice location being adjacent to the waterfront area, but it is a 15min walk to the main restaurant and shopping areas such as Cuba Street. This is not necessarily a problem for those who like a stroll. However, despite it's harbour-side location, it's not a waterfront hotel, in fact, the big old 60s post office beside it gets those obscuring views from most rooms. Other than the very few number of large suites on the absolute edge of the building, you will find even the high floor harbour view rooms do not in fact have direct harbour views. Also, the layout of our executive floor harbour view room with balcony was poorly executed, even on level 15, all you could see when laying on the bed was the big ugly post office opposite. What's more, the windows were absolutely filthy. I requested they be cleaned, but over our five night stay, they never were. Despite this, the rooms are pleasant enough, nice beds and pillows, but it is certainly not luxurious; there is no comfortable chair to lounge on, nor a suitable place to eat should you wish to use the kitchen. The opaque glass wall between the bedroom and the bathroom has been noted by others, yes, it's quite a strange feature; the designer I assume wanting to let some natural light in, or perhaps wanting to encourage couples to share more private moments with each other, but it doesn't really work on a functional level because if you get up in the middle of the night to take a pee and turn the bathroom light on (as you undoubtedly will), you're likely to wake your slumbering partner as it'll also light up the bedroom - brightly... Other things, the lobby is relatively basic, and while wi-fi is available, there's no computers available for guests' use. The breakfast is okay, but nothing spectacular. Overall, it's an nice place to stay, but I'd rate it as a 3.5-4 star hotel, not the 4.5 as it is advertised. I also visited friends staying at the Novotel, it's a lower grade than the Holiday Inn (Rydges). The best place to stay in my opinion would be the Copthorne Hotel. It has a lovely location on the waterfront capturing the best views. It's by Te Papa and the weekend market area. I'd try a harbour view room there if I went to Wellington again (which I hope to do, it's a great little city).

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JasoninNewtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.9 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.2 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 47 in Wellington
1,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#16 of 47 in Wellington
2,236 reviews
0.8 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#6 of 47 in Wellington
1,718 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Wellington
Novotel Wellington
#10 of 47 in Wellington
2,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Wellington

Address: 75 Featherston Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Wellington
#6 Family Hotel in Wellington
#8 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#12 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
Price Range: $119 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Wellington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Wellington is located on downtown Featherston Street with a unique combination of harbour views and city outlooks. Ideally situated in New Zealand's capital city, Rydges Wellington is within close distance to the Westpac Stadium, Queens Wharf, Wellington Railway Station, both the Interislander and Bluebridge Ferry terminals and Lambton Quay for shopping.This 4+ Star hotel offers 280 accommodation rooms for business and leisure guests with the benefits of modern facilities including wireless internet throughout, iPads for guests and fantastic leisure facilities. All rooms feature flat screen televisions, free unlimited Wi-Fi, iPod docking stations and kitchenettes. There are 19 apartment style suites, perfect for your long stay requirements with washer and drier facilities available. Rydges Wellington is your landmark hotel in the Capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Rydges Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Wellington Hotel Wellington
Holiday Inn Wellington
Wellington Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing