We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place to Stay in Wellington”
Review of At Home Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
At Home Wellington
Ranked #1 of 47 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 2, 2011

Leanne, Jason and Gill have created an amazing place. At Home has become the only place we want to stay at when we visit Wellington. The rooms are great - nice and roomy with all the kitchen and laundry facilities you need for a longer stay. Very comfortable bed and it was incredibly useful to have the free broadband. Good gym at the bottom of the building and At Home is really central to everywhere in downtown Wellington. Above all, Leanne, Jason and Gill are all incredibly friendly and nothing, but nothing, is too much trouble.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank perpetualsummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (798)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

710 - 716 of 799 reviews

Reviewed December 12, 2010

A super friendly welcome from the wonderful hosts, great position and fantasic value. I would not hesitate to recommend it. Along the lines of a previous reviewer, it feels nitpicky to be critical of any aspect but as feedback for Leanne and Jason, the shower was more of a trickle than a gush. The friendly informality, free wifi and all the other little extras make it a great place to stay

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrPaulCook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2010

Booked one night and stayed on for two. Big rooms with modern appliances, couldn't asks for anything more. Good value accomadation. Great location in Wellington, easy walking distance to Te Papa, harbour and restaurants in the city.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChienRouge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2010

Stayed here for 2 nights. Arrived at 8 AM after flying all night and they let me check-in right away so I could have a nap. The room was great-kitchenette, washer/dryer, bright clean room and comfy beds. The staff were very friendly and helpful, good location near the Te Papa museum. Great value.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greatslave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2010

At Home Wellington resides on the attic floor of a 4 storey office block, so it's a slightly strange location. Don't let that put you off for a single second!
To start with location, it's well nigh perfect. It's on Wakefield St, just around the corner from the Te Papa Museum (an absolute must to visit), and the attractive waterfront promenade. It's also just one block away from the lively Courtney Place, and two from the Cuba Street Mall, with its restaurants and shops. It's a few more minutes walk to Willis St and Lambton Quay, which appear to be the main shopping streets.
Courtesy of Qantas, we arrived on schedule but well after midnight, yet access was not a problem, thanks to an intercom and a still awake and welcoming weekend manager. The rooms are terrific ( we stayed twice - at the start and end of our visit to NZ), with cooking facilities if you really want them. Everything was spotlessly clean and left nothing to complain about. The free wireless internet connection was especially welcome.
The managers were very helpful, allowing us to leave our suitcases by their office after the checkout time of 10am.
All in all, with a room rate of $180, we found At Home Wellington to be a perfect place to start off our holiday, and would highly recommend it for anyone on business too.

Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank madpom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2010

Nice place, clean, spacious, comfy bed, good heat pump (it was freezing in wellington) Hosts were great. it was nice to be treated like a human being and not just another body on a bed. If i absolutely had to be picky and this is more for the At home owners so they can keep it up to the high standards. :) I would say the sheets are just about past their use by date and more than 1 towel per guest in the rooms would have been good. Got such a great price though that i feel bad making those suggestions. :)

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clippedwings2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2010

The location was excellent for Wellington (once you find the place on the 4th floor of an office block). The accomodation was spacious, modern and had all the fixed amenities including a balcony. No real views however. We had two issues a step up between the kitchen and the lounge/bedroom area which we were warned about but still managed to fall over. The second was in the lack of kitchen utensils e.g no frying pan, no tin or bottle opener, etc.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dave_jacqueline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.9 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 47 in Wellington
1,434 reviews
0.1 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#6 of 47 in Wellington
1,753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.7 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#8 of 47 in Wellington
1,964 reviews
0.6 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#14 of 47 in Wellington
2,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to At Home Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At Home Wellington

Address: Level 4 181 Wakefield Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Wellington
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#1 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#3 Family Hotel in Wellington
Price Range: $132 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — At Home Wellington 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for a place that makes you feel like you are home, then At Home is the place. All our rooms have balconies, wireless internet, kitchens, TVs/DVD, IPOD dock/charger and en-suite bathroom. Being located right in the heart of Wellington with one side looking out at Te Papa, and the other the night life hub means that whilst you stay with us you can enjoy all that Wellington has to offer easily. We look forward to meeting you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your At Home Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
At Home Wellington Hotel Wellington
At Home Hotel Wellington
Wellington At Home Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing