We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, clean, bright, great location.”
Review of At Home Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
At Home Wellington
Ranked #1 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Yellowknife, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Friendly, clean, bright, great location.”
Reviewed November 23, 2010

Stayed here for 2 nights. Arrived at 8 AM after flying all night and they let me check-in right away so I could have a nap. The room was great-kitchenette, washer/dryer, bright clean room and comfy beds. The staff were very friendly and helpful, good location near the Te Papa museum. Great value.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greatslave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

740 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    526
    164
    45
    2
    3
See reviews for
114
406
56
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, South Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2010

At Home Wellington resides on the attic floor of a 4 storey office block, so it's a slightly strange location. Don't let that put you off for a single second!
To start with location, it's well nigh perfect. It's on Wakefield St, just around the corner from the Te Papa Museum (an absolute must to visit), and the attractive waterfront promenade. It's also just one block away from the lively Courtney Place, and two from the Cuba Street Mall, with its restaurants and shops. It's a few more minutes walk to Willis St and Lambton Quay, which appear to be the main shopping streets.
Courtesy of Qantas, we arrived on schedule but well after midnight, yet access was not a problem, thanks to an intercom and a still awake and welcoming weekend manager. The rooms are terrific ( we stayed twice - at the start and end of our visit to NZ), with cooking facilities if you really want them. Everything was spotlessly clean and left nothing to complain about. The free wireless internet connection was especially welcome.
The managers were very helpful, allowing us to leave our suitcases by their office after the checkout time of 10am.
All in all, with a room rate of $180, we found At Home Wellington to be a perfect place to start off our holiday, and would highly recommend it for anyone on business too.

Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank madpom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NP
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2010

Nice place, clean, spacious, comfy bed, good heat pump (it was freezing in wellington) Hosts were great. it was nice to be treated like a human being and not just another body on a bed. If i absolutely had to be picky and this is more for the At home owners so they can keep it up to the high standards. :) I would say the sheets are just about past their use by date and more than 1 towel per guest in the rooms would have been good. Got such a great price though that i feel bad making those suggestions. :)

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clippedwings2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2010

The location was excellent for Wellington (once you find the place on the 4th floor of an office block). The accomodation was spacious, modern and had all the fixed amenities including a balcony. No real views however. We had two issues a step up between the kitchen and the lounge/bedroom area which we were warned about but still managed to fall over. The second was in the lack of kitchen utensils e.g no frying pan, no tin or bottle opener, etc.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dave_jacqueline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
57 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2010

Stayed here for three nights before using the ferry to go south.

Really convenient location right next to the Te Papa museum, near the water and within walking distance for everything in downtown.

Got a nice room at the back with a small balcony, a kitchen and a seating are with two chairs. Very comfortable.

Also liked the free internet access, the use of the gym, the washing machine and the cheap parking.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GH_RTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2010

I stayed at At Home Wellington on two different occasions, and both stays were excellent. The rooms are large, clean, comfortable, and the building is quiet with secure entry. Free wi-fi, a kitchen, and laundry machine in the room was ideal for my long stay. It’s a quick and easy walk to all the places of interest or necessity (grocery store, post office) in the Wellington CBD, and a major bus stop is at Courtenay Place--just a block over, for all the places you can’t or don’t want to walk to. Leanne, Jason, Gill, and Rhys are all welcoming and helpful. I look forward to my next stay there when I’m in Wellington.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank imfoghead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2010

This accomodation was absolutely beyond our expectations! We stayed for two nights in this beautiful accommodation and could not fault it. Spotlessly clean, lovely beds, great ktchen facllttes, TV etc. Very friendly greeting from Leanne. Walk to CBD and amazing museum. Very secure apartment. Very quiet even though right in the CBD.
Will only ever stay in "at home" when one day we return to Wellington. Thanks Leanne for creating these lovely apartments! Lyal, Pat and Tim Allen (Australia

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sydney_AustraliaPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.9 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
1,381 reviews
0.1 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#6 of 46 in Wellington
1,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.7 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
1,831 reviews
0.6 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to At Home Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At Home Wellington

Property: At Home Wellington
Address: Level 4 181 Wakefield Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#1 Business Hotel in Wellington
#3 Family Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — At Home Wellington 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for a place that makes you feel like you are home, then At Home is the place. All our rooms have balconies, wireless internet, kitchens, TVs/DVD, IPOD dock/charger and en-suite bathroom. Being located right in the heart of Wellington with one side looking out at Te Papa, and the other the night life hub means that whilst you stay with us you can enjoy all that Wellington has to offer easily. We look forward to meeting you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your At Home Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
At Home Wellington Hotel Wellington
At Home Hotel Wellington
Wellington At Home Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing