We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location and well appointed” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of At Home Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
At Home Wellington
Ranked #1 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent location and well appointed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

We chose At Home mostly because of its proximity to Te Papa. To our delight it was also right next door to our Thrifty rental car return place - and a convenient petrol station - plus walking distance to a lot of great restaurants and attractions. The rooms are well-appointed and comfortable and the wifi is excellent: real benefit. The managers were friendly and outgoing and really couldn't be more helpful.

We stayed here a few nights and it was lovely to cater for ourselves and have a washing machine and dryer partway through our trip. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtHome10, Manager at At Home Wellington, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Leanne D,
Thank you very much for the 5/5 rating! We are so delighted that you enjoyed our prime location. It really is so easy to get around to see all of the sights from where we are, and yes it's a real bonus having Thrifty Car Rentals right next door - very convenient! It's great that you made good use of the free WiFi and laundry facilities in your room too, both very popular with the majority of our guests. Hope to see you back in the "coolest little Capital" very soon!
Hayley & Dwayne - Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    496
    156
    42
    2
    3
See reviews for
110
384
51
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
505 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

The location is perfect ! The room is nice, we slept very well.....what do you want more....? The staff is very friendly and helpfull. The wifi is super ( not always in N.Z. ). We could skype and have facetime as much as we wanted ! We hope to come back ! Te Papa Museum is great at just 5 minutes walking. We hope to come back !

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hugo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtHome10, Manager at At Home Wellington, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Hugo R,
Thank you very much for the terrific review! We hope you come back too!
Hayley & Dwayne - Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

I asked Paul Carberry from New Zealand in Depth for a place in Wellington, near the centre where we could leave the car cheaply, perhaps cater for ourselves and relax, he did it again. “At Home” in Wellington looks out over the Te Papa National Museum, has $10 a day parking not 100 metres away, a gym, super management who have great advice on places to visit & eat, and great facilities to cook a meal (supermarket just up the road) or just make an espresso for yourself before hitting the town, cinema over the other way from the museum and enough restaurants to choose a different one every night for a very long time! Laundry facilities foc (always useful ) Highly recommended, Paul yet again you have come up with the goods!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BigDen55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtHome10, Manager at At Home Wellington, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear BigDen55,
Wow, thank you very much the wonderful compliments! Your travel agent clearly knows his stuff! We are so happy that we ticked all the boxes for you & hope to see you back in Wellington sometime in the future!
Hayley & Dwayne - Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
628 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

Looking for good value accommodation in Wellington stumbled across these wonderful appartments. They are well located and well appointed. They are comfortable and well equipped. The staff live on the premises so are able to ensure cleanliness and responsiveness alongside privacy of having your own apartment. The view was also good opposite the Te Papa museum.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtHome10, Manager at At Home Wellington, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear njhharrogate,
We are very pleased that you stumbled across us, and even more pleased that you found our apartments to be comfortable, clean and well equipped! The view towards Te Papa is quite impressive too isn't it! Thanks again for sharing your experience!
Hayley & Dwayne - Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The studio was very clean, spacious, bright and very well equipped. From our balcony we had a nice view to the harbour. We found it quiet, and in a good location for the supermarket, quayside, Courtney Place and the Te Papa Museum. An added bonus for us was being able to return our hire car to Thrifty which happened to be next door.
The staff were helpful and friendly , and I would definitely recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: Harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtHome10, Manager at At Home Wellington, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Anne w,
Thanks for placing a review, we really appreciate your kind words and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us!
Hayley & Dwayne - Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

We stayed at At Home Wellington for one night on our tour on New Zealand and we wished it had been longer! It's a very private small hotel which you have to buzz up to the fourth floor to enter and we liked the privacy. Our room was very spacious, clean, and we even had a handwritten note on the bed welcoming us to stay. It was a lot of little details like that which made us enjoy the stay. We liked out little patio but the wind in Wellington made it rather unusable though the view was great. The manager who checked us in was also very helpful and gave us directions to a few nearby attractions. If my wife and I ever head back to wellington, this is definitely where we will stay.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Lowcawki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtHome10, Manager at At Home Wellington, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear Lowcawki,
Thank you so much for your kind words! We are pleased that you enjoyed the privacy that comes with our unique set-up and small boutique nature. We're also thrilled that you noticed the "little things" which we think make staying "At Home" special. Hope you see you both again!
Regards,
Hayley & Dwayne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
286 reviews
225 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

It's a slightly odd arrangement, an apartment hotel on the top floor of an office block - but there are huge advantages. First, it is directly across the street from the Te Papa Museum - probably the best museum in New Zealand. Just beyond that is the waterfront, another plus. They have an arrangement for car parking in front of the car wash next door - another plus.
The rooms are spacious, well equipped and comfortable and even stretch to a balcony space. Like all such places in New Zealand they come with a small kitchen so you can do your own catering, but there are plenty of bars, cafes and restaurants within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RedHeadPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtHome10, Manager at At Home Wellington, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear RedHeadPeter,
We really appreciate that you have shared your experience "At Home" with other travellers on TripAdvisor and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay! We definitely have a unique arrangement being on the 4th floor of an office block, and we are pleased that you saw the huge advantages that come with it. Firstly and most importantly our location is pretty hard to beat, and secondly, access is easy but also very secure. Also, the building is very quiet at night and during the weekends as we are the only ones here! Thanks again and we hope to see you again!
Regards,
Hayley & Dwayne - Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.9 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,339 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#6 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#9 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,515 reviews
0.4 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.6 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to At Home Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At Home Wellington

Property: At Home Wellington
Address: Level 4 181 Wakefield Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Wellington
#1 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#3 Family Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — At Home Wellington 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for a place that makes you feel like you are home, then At Home is the place. All our rooms have balconies, wireless internet, kitchens, TVs/DVD, IPOD dock/charger and en-suite bathroom. Being located right in the heart of Wellington with one side looking out at Te Papa, and the other the night life hub means that whilst you stay with us you can enjoy all that Wellington has to offer easily. We look forward to meeting you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your At Home Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
At Home Wellington Hotel Wellington
At Home Hotel Wellington
Wellington At Home Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing