We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of At Home Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
At Home Wellington
Ranked #1 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We only stayed here for one night but I can see how it would do well for much longer too. It is in a great location - right opposite Te Papa but also near lots of great bars and restaurants on Courtenay Place.

The room was comfortable and clean and we really did feel "at home". Great facilities - washing machine, dryer, fridge, free wifi. Would recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skibunny_1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtHome10, Manager at At Home Wellington, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear skibunny_1979,
Thank you very much for your review! We are pleased that you enjoyed our location and facilities and felt right "at home"!
Regards,
Hayley & Dwayne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

740 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    526
    164
    45
    2
    3
See reviews for
114
406
56
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chessington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
514 reviews
208 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

The bedrooms are on the top floor of an office block, with no parking. The decor is neutral and modern, with a comfy bed, and ingenious use of space to fit in a fridge, washing machine, dishwasher, cooker hob, microwave etc. Walls are quite thin, and we did hear our neighbours a bit, but not a problem. Small bathroom, shower, no bath. Disappointing view from the balcony over a parking lot and graffiti on walls. Very fast & free wifi. Friendly staff.
15 minute walk to shops, but close to restaurants and bars. You need a key fob to get to the 4th floor, so felt secure.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PotterMoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtHome10, Manager at At Home Wellington, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear PotterMoose,
Thanks for your review! We are pleased that you found our rooms to be comfortable and a good use of space. We are proud to be able to provide the excellent in-room facilities that you mention. We are surprised to hear that you thought the bathroom was small as we're often complimented on their spaciousness. As you mention there is no bath, only a shower, so that allows for more floor space as well. With regards to the view, you stayed in a king studio which overlooks Wakefield Street so the views are of the city. The bonus of being on that side of the building is that the rooms are much larger and quite sheltered from the sometimes notorious Wellington wind! Thanks again for sharing your comments, we really appreciate it & trust you enjoyed the rest of your stay in NZ.
Kind regards,
Hayley & Dwayne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
192 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Location of At Home Wellington is excellent -- just across from the waterfront and the Te Papa museum, and a couple of blocks from lots and lots of bars and restaurants on Courtenay Place and nearby streets.

This really is a boutique hotel -- only a dozen or so apartments on one floor. The apartments are very well equipped for long-term travelers: strong free wifi, washing machine, dishwasher, cooktop, oven, microwave, aircon, cable TV.

But we were just in town for a couple days and didn't use most of that stuff. Purely as hotel lodging, it was nice enough but not overwhelming -- especially compared to the many motel rooms we have stayed in around NZ, most of which are equally well equipped, much larger and more reasonably priced. The bathroom was particularly small and felt cramped. There was no space at all for a towel rack, and we ended up hanging the towels from the shower door (they were then not changed and so still slightly damp the second night.)

Those are minor inconveniences, and I would rate this as very good lodging, just not particular value for money (our hotel room in a 5-star hotel in downtown Auckland cost less, though admittedly it didn't have all the long-term stay equipment).

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HK_Observer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtHome10, Manager at At Home Wellington, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear HK_Observer,
Thanks for taking the time to place a review. Firstly we are delighted that you found our location and in-room facilities to be excellent. We aim to please both the short & long -term traveller with the comforts of home.
Secondly, the bathroom. Admittedly the bathroom in your apartment was smaller than all of the others, and doesn't have a heated towel rack. Instead there are two hooks for hanging towels, or if you prefer you can leave them on the floor and they will be replaced when your room is serviced. We apologise if this was not ideal for you. Overall, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we hope you enjoy the rest of your travels in NZ.
Regards,
Hayley & Dwayne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perigueux, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Comfortable,spacious and modern apartments, well maintained and very central. Dwayne & Hayley were both very helpful during our three separate visits over the last two months. Would certainly stay again next time we are in Wellington.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJA46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtHome10, Manager at At Home Wellington, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear MJA46,
Thank you very much for your review! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stays with us, we thoroughly enjoyed getting to know you, it was a real pleasure! Hope your long journey home went smoothly.
Kind regards,
Hayley & Dwayne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at At Home for our golden wedding anniversary in november 2013. We found it to be an ideal location for exploring Wellington. We had a lovely big room which was comfortable and clean, with great facilities for cooking and washing clothes - and a lovely balcony. Close to the harbour and the Te Papa museum, there were also plenty of local restaurants and cafés nearby. The shopping area was with in walking distance as was the cable car up to the botanical gardens. Haley and Dwayne were both very friendly and helpful in booking our ferry and onward hotel. We would highly recommend it for its location and convenience to the Town.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtHome10, Manager at At Home Wellington, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear John R,
Thank you very much for your kind words, it really means a lot! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay "At Home" as a part of your wedding anniversary holiday. All the very best, Hayley & Dwayne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights. The place is a nicely converted top floor of an old building in the centre of Wellington .
The room was quite adequate but the parking was not as we had expected. We had been advised that for $6 we would have 24 hour parking. Well when we arrived we were told that the parking was at a car wash site two doors away. It just so happens that this is next to a public car park but it's not clear that it's separate from the car wash building. When we arrived the car wash was in full operation and there were no spaces in front of the building so we assumed the lot next door was the same place. It's actually a pay and display car park and we copped a $65 fine! I mentioned it to the owners who were unsympathetic and still charged us for 3 days at $6 a day!!
I was a bit disappointed as it took the edge off what is a good room close to the city's attractions.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Cillin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtHome10, Manager at At Home Wellington, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Cillin,
Thanks for your review. We are sorry for the confusion over your parking. When you arrived we advised that the parking arrangement we have at the car wash would be OK after 5pm which is when they close and space becomes available. The car park next door is completely seperate and quite clearly sign-posted. While we do sympathise that you received a parking ticket, I'm afraid that is beyond our control. We would have been happy to provide alternate parking suggestions if we'd have known at the time that the car wash was full. Unfortunately car parking in Wellington has become very limited since the recent earthquakes which closed two multi-storey facilities in our immediate vicinity, one of which we used for our guests. It's for this reason that we encourage guests not to bring a car into the city if it can be avoided. This being said, we are pleased that you enjoyed your room and our location, and hope to see you again!
Regards,
Hayley & Dwayne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Great location, right near the wharf and numerous fun restaurants. Owners were very nice and helpful. Great place to stay in Wellington. Very clean, and really nice to have a washer/dryer when you've been on the road a few days.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pj1290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtHome10, Manager at At Home Wellington, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Dear pj1290,
We really appreciate the time taken to place a review, thank you! We're glad that you agree our location is great & so close to many restaurants. We are very lucky to have so many wonderful choices on our doorstep!
Kind regards,
Hayley & Dwayne - Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.9 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
1,381 reviews
0.1 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#6 of 46 in Wellington
1,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.7 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
1,831 reviews
0.6 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to At Home Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At Home Wellington

Property: At Home Wellington
Address: Level 4 181 Wakefield Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Wellington
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#1 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#3 Family Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — At Home Wellington 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for a place that makes you feel like you are home, then At Home is the place. All our rooms have balconies, wireless internet, kitchens, TVs/DVD, IPOD dock/charger and en-suite bathroom. Being located right in the heart of Wellington with one side looking out at Te Papa, and the other the night life hub means that whilst you stay with us you can enjoy all that Wellington has to offer easily. We look forward to meeting you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your At Home Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
At Home Wellington Hotel Wellington
At Home Hotel Wellington
Wellington At Home Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing