We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Different!”
Review of At Home Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
At Home Wellington
Ranked #1 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Howick, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Different!”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

The accommodation was very clean, comfortable and well equipped and the bed was excellent. I found this a very strange place to stay! As a single traveller I felt it was very lonely, not like a hotel where you have common areas, ie lounge, bar, dinning room etc, to see/meet other people. I never say a single sole the whole time I was there. It was like a ghost hotel. Also, it is away from the busy streets, again, not suitable for a person on their own. I had two hours to lose before going to the airport to catch my flight home, which in a hotel I would have sat in the lounge and had tea, but here I was just shown the door! Without providing any of these facilities, I felt it was very expensive. It was very comfortable but I would not stay there again.

Room Tip: A room facing the harbour is away from the road and therefore quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BFCLSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtHome10, Manager at At Home Wellington, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear BFCLSC,
Thank you very much for sharing your opinion on TripAdvisor. We are delighted that you found our accommodation to be very clean, comfortable and well equipped with an excellent bed. We pride ourselves on attention to detail and we're pleased you had a comfortable stay "At Home", as this is very important to us. You are correct when you say that we are not like a hotel where you have common areas. With only 12 rooms we aim to offer intimate, personalized service that makes you feel like you’re staying at home, not in a large hotel. We are very sorry that you felt you were "shown the door" on your day of departure. Due to our small size it is very difficult to extend late check-outs, but we are always more than happy to look after your bags while you fill in a couple of hours at Te Papa, or in one of Wellington's many cafes, browsing the shops, or strolling along the waterfront - all within 1-2 blocks of "At Home'. We hope to welcome you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    538
    166
    45
    2
    3
See reviews for
117
414
56
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sherman Oaks,Ca
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

location, location, location. Short walks to museum, theatres, restaurants and shopping make this an ideal place to settle in for a stay in the city. Kitchenettes and washer dryer make it easy to refresh for a trip to the south island after touring the north. Hosts are friendly and helpful with parking and other needs. The nearby iSite visitor center was a big plus with discount theatre tickets and city attractions.We made good use of the New World market for breakfast fruits and pastries. If you like Italian food Nicoletti's was a definite find.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phynanze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtHome10, Manager at At Home Wellington, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear phynanze,
Thank you very much for your kind review! We have to agree, our location is pretty special with all of Wellington's attractions on our doorstep. We also pleased that you found our apartments and facilities to your liking and we hope to welcome you home again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I was unfamiliar with serviced apartments until this trip. Would choose this over a traditional hotel any day. So nice to have a washer/dryer and kitchenette. Very roomy and clean. Great location. Loved Wellington!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lacburns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtHome10, Manager at At Home Wellington, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear lacburns,
Thank you so much for your lovely comments! It's great to hear from guests that enjoy all the features of our apartments. We look forward to welcoming you home again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Great location right across from the national museum and close to nice restaurants (Monsoon Poon and the Fish Shack, for example). The hosts were SUPER nice and friendly. The room was large and quiet and had a mini kitchenette and a washer dryer unit right in the room. I'd definitely stay again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darrick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtHome10, Manager at At Home Wellington, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Hello! Thank you for taking time to place your valuable feedback, we really appreciate it. We are so pleased that your found our location close to Te Papa and the many fantastic restaurants on offer in Wellington so convenient. Wellington really is a very walk-able city! We look forward to welcoming you "At Home" again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Modernity in a central city location is the best way to describe this central city apartment. These apartments reflect a spacious and modern style with compact kitchen and spacious en suite bathroom. Presence of comfortable lounge chairs was greatly appreciated. First impression was of clean spacious and modern studio apartment. A basic mix of condiments such as cooking oil and balsamic vinegar were available in the hallway making cooking you own meals easier. The location in central Wellington and close to a great variety of restaurants makes doing your own cooking unlikely. A selection of basic lollies, newspapers and magazines on the same table as the condiments was a thoughtful addition in making things easier for a traveler. The king-size bed was comfortable with an assortment of pillows. Upon registering the duty manager noted that there could be some noise from party goers in the street owing to its central location. While this was the case at 4 am the next day, it was short-lived and not very loud, it could not be considered a negative. The appliances were adequate with pots, pans and compact cook top. Toaster and microwave were also present. There was also a combined washer/dryer which was adequate for a small load. Its location close to the waterfront and the museum is a positive. The recent earthquake had affected their normal parking arrangements. Management was able to put in place adequate parking arrangements for this stay over the weekend reflecting their overall attitude to client service.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Waddles54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtHome10, Owner at At Home Wellington, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Waddles54,
Thank you for recommending our hotel and providing really useful information for all to read. We are happy that you enjoyed our location and pleased to know that the facilities offered to you lived up to your expectations. Thank you for pointing out all the essentials that make things easier for travelers as we are sure many will benefit from your comments. Once again, thank you for your positive comments and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm regards
Katrina & Suresh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Returned yday from a one-night stay at 'At Home'. There were 5 of us in our party; my daughter & I shared a king room & 3 friends stayed in a queen room with an extra single bed. Our room over-looked the carpark behing Reading Courthey which was fine as we weren't overlooked; there was some traffic noise but then we were staying in the CBD!! Our friends were on the Te Papa / harbour side although their view was really restricted to another apartment block.
We flew in hideously early & Suresh kindly let us in at 8ish to ditch our bags; he gave us a swipe card to get back in & pointed us towards Joe's Garage for breakfast (2 blocks away... recommend it... they catered for a gluten free diet which was great). Similarly, we left our bags behind until our late-ish flight home yesterday. They also made a much appreciated effort to get our rooms ready early - thanks guys!
Couldn't fault the accommodation at all. Lovely rooms, comfortable contemporary furnishings and a stunning bed. Great to actually see a small oven instead of just a hotplate & microwave.
2 minutes walk to Te Papa and Courtney Place.... New World 2 blocks away and any Macca's fans will be pleased to know there's a set of Golden Arches 30 seconds away!! An easy walk to Cuba Street and Lambton Quay.
Katrina & Suresh were lovely & couldn't have been more accommodating; it's called 'At Home' for good reason... I loved the size of the place; all rooms lead off one central corridor with the manager's office 'overseeing' everything. Feels very secure being on the 4th (top) floor of a commercial building. My daughter didn't want to leave and struck up a friendship with the smallest member of their family.
The free Wi-Fi was great as has been previously mentioned.
I wouldn't hesitate to recommend At Home to anyone; book well ahead though as I get the impression that they're permanently chocca.
Look forward to my next visit :o)

Room Tip: I think rooms overlooking the harbour would be quieter; having said that I preferred our roomier kin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ukkird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtHome10, Owner at At Home Wellington, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear ukkird,

Thank you for your detailed and valuable feedback. It is indeed very heartening to know that we could provide you a memorable experience and we are truly honoured and inspired by your recommendation.

We are glad that you and your family have had a fabulous stay with us and enoyed Wellington as much as we have enjoyed having you with us! Skar had so much fun when you were here; we have no doubt that he misses you as he keeps sitting outside the door you were in and thank you for taking care of him :)

Once again thank you for your fantastic comments and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards

Katrina & Suresh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles, ca
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

This was a very well located place right opposite the Te Papa museum. There was a washing machine and dryer right in the room and they were extremely helpful in their suggestions. I would give it 5 stars except they say after midnight to ring their bell to get in and I alerted them to my late arrival. Unfortunately nobody answered. Since it was after midnight I was lucky that the cab driver stayed around ir that could have been very difficult since it was my first city to visit in New Zealand and did not know the country code to use. The cab driver called the hotel number on his cell phone and they let me in. Except fpr that I recommend it highly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank robw17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtHome10, Owner at At Home Wellington, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear robw17,
Sounds like you've had a great stopover in Wellington! We are pleased to learn that you liked our hotel and the facilities. We sincerely appreciate your comments regarding getting into the hotel after hours. After 5.30pm and throughout the weekend, guests have to contact us via the intercom which is located in the entrance of the building and there are clear instructions as to how to reach us. Since we live here, we are here 24 hours and we understand that an incorrect apartment may have been contacted in error, hence our not receiving your call. We apologise for any confusion or inconvenience due to this.

Once again, thank you for your positive comments and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Graciously yours
Katrina & Suresh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.1 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#5 of 46 in Wellington
1,621 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
1,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.6 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,145 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
1,865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to At Home Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At Home Wellington

Property: At Home Wellington
Address: Level 4 181 Wakefield Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#1 Business Hotel in Wellington
#3 Family Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — At Home Wellington 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for a place that makes you feel like you are home, then At Home is the place. All our rooms have balconies, wireless internet, kitchens, TVs/DVD, IPOD dock/charger and en-suite bathroom. Being located right in the heart of Wellington with one side looking out at Te Papa, and the other the night life hub means that whilst you stay with us you can enjoy all that Wellington has to offer easily. We look forward to meeting you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your At Home Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
At Home Wellington Hotel Wellington
At Home Hotel Wellington
Wellington At Home Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing