We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All True”
Review of At Home Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
At Home Wellington
Ranked #1 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Simple and comfortable, this is the property to stay at in Wellington, close to the Museum Te Papa ( an absolute must) walking distance to some fantastic eating and drinking in Cuba Street and the stunning shores of the Harbour or a brisk walk up to the Mount Victoria lookout (about thirty minutes) and excellent staff and Hosts.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank prau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtHome10, Owner at At Home Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Dear prau,
Sounds like you've had a great stopover in Wellington! We are pleased to learn that you liked our hotel and the facilities. We sincerely appreciate your kind words and look forward to welcoming you back home very soon.
Graciously yours
Katrina & Suresh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (775)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

517 - 523 of 775 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2013

Stayed 3 nights at this great property. Wellington's stormy weather was kept at bay as I was tucked up in my clean, comfortable, well-appointed room. Wonderful bed, crisp white bed linens, a calming neutral colour scheme to the room, neat little kitchen area and lovely hot shower. The hosts were friendly and helpful, and not intrusive. As a solo traveller I felt secure, and loved the fact that the property was truly 'boutique' in size. The location was excellent, with the wondrous Te Papa museum just around the corner, and close proximity to the great eating (and shopping) to be had on Cuba Street.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bmcj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtHome10, Owner at At Home Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Dear Bmcj,

Thank you for your recent stay with us. We really appreciate you taking valuable time to give us your many observations and this great review! We're pleased to learn that you have enjoyed the room, facilities and the area around us. We look forward to another opportunity to be of service to you in the near future. Once again, thank you for your positive comments.

Kind regards
Katrina & Suresh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed here just one night, but could have easily stayed a week! It is a hotel/apartment. Has place to cook, has cutlery, has refrigerator, and washer/dryer. Room is spacious and clean. Ensuite Bathroom is clean. Parking is across the street but discounted. Walking distance to several yummy restaurants, cafes, and shops. Walking distance to Te Papa museum and Cuba District. Staff was very helpful and inviting. Definitely recommend At Home!

Room Tip: All rooms are on the top floor. Wellington does have a few tall buildings. If view is important to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sabrinabcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtHome10, Owner at At Home Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Dear sabrinabcat,
We hope you've had both exciting and wonderful experiences in New Zealand over the time you were in the land of the long white cloud! We thank you for chosing us as your preferred accommodation for your stay in Wellington and for the very positive comments about your experiences here 'At Home'. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kindly yours
Katrina & Suresh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

From check in to check out our stay with At Home Wellington was outstanding. The location, the facilities, the extra little touches by owner/managers Katrina & Suresh made our 3 day stay a wonderful family holiday. Travelling with 3 teenagers is no picnic, but all was handled with the utmost professionalism and compassion. The apartments are perfectly situated within easy walking distance to all the main tourist attractions. The markets (both underground & Sunday food markerts) were great and all within a 3-5 minute walk. The wifi was an absolute godsend.
I sincerely believe Katrina & Suresh are committed to delivering 100% guest satisfaction and are obviously passionate in how they achieve this. Thank you again for a wonderful experience, we will be back most definitely.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kylie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtHome10, Owner at At Home Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear kylads68,

Thank you for your detailed and valuable feedback. It is indeed very heartening to know that we could provide you a memorable experience and we are truly honoured and inspired by your recommendation.

We are glad that you and your family have had a fabulous stay with us and enoyed Wellington as much as we have enjoyed having you with us!

Once again thank you for your fantastic comments and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards

Katrina & Suresh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We found they did all things well for us. An extra early bag drop, and an early check-in were arranged to accommodate our schedule.
The apartment studio was like an over-sized hotel room, but had more cooking facilities, a washing machine, and full sky channels on your own decoder.

The location is great. The back of the hotel faces Te Papa (The Museum of New Zealand), the front is across the road from where you can park your car for $6 a day in the Reading Cinemas complex outdoor car parking. Walking across the road from the hotel, through the park, and through the cinemas and food court brings you out onto Courtney Place for the shopping, and the St James theatre directly across the road where most live stage shows are held. Cuba street shopping is walking distance (< 1km) as are the waterfront cafes and the saturday "underground market" around Frank Kitts park (<1km)
The couple who manage the complex are friendly and professional, and the room was very, very clean.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MethuselahNz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtHome10, Owner at At Home Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Dear MethuselahNz,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking time to write us a lovely review! We are pleased to learn that you've enjoyed your stay with us and will continue to strive and excel to meet your expectations. We look forward to having you with us again in the near future!

Warmest Regards
Katrina & Suresh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights here at the end of our holiday. This is a very well run place. We got a lovely welcome on arrival and a helpful introduction to the room and facilities.

I requested a quiet room and we stayed in one not facing the main road out front. It was a nice quiet room, and well set up with coffee plunger, dish washer and washing machine/dryer.

The apartments take one floor of an office building. The gym is fine but shared (I imagine) with the offices in the building. It's a bit neglected as a result, but it's not a big issue (and presumably not within the powers of the apartment managers to fix).

The location is very central.

It was the most expensive accommodation on our trip. But on balance I would definitely come back. It's quiet, very well run, great location, well equiped, and small and friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterY62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtHome10, Owner at At Home Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2013

Dear PeterY62

Thank you for your favourable review. We are pleased to know that you found the room to be well appointed and quiet. Thank you also for your comments on the Gym, we will be in touch with the building manager .

We hope we can welcome you back to "At home Wellington" sometime in the future.

Kind regards,
Katrina & Suresh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Had great 2 days here - "at home" fully lived up to its rating on trip advisor

Very comfortable studio room with nice view of museum, plus great internet speed. Very convenient for Cuba st etc, and close to Airport bus ( one block away) and downtown sites 10-15 min comfortable walk

Thank you Suresh and Katrina for making my stay so enjoyable - next time hope to stay longer

neilh

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank neilh2013_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtHome10, Owner at At Home Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Dear Neilh2013_13,
Warm greetings from 'At Home'! Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking time to write us a wonderful review! We are pleased to learn that you've enjoyed your stay with us and will continue to strive and excel to meet your expectations. We look forward to having you with us again in the near future!

Warmest Regards
Katrina & Suresh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.1 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#5 of 46 in Wellington
1,669 reviews
0.4 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
1,407 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
1,911 reviews
0.6 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to At Home Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At Home Wellington

Address: Level 4 181 Wakefield Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#1 Business Hotel in Wellington
#1 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#3 Family Hotel in Wellington
Price Range: $145 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — At Home Wellington 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for a place that makes you feel like you are home, then At Home is the place. All our rooms have balconies, wireless internet, kitchens, TVs/DVD, IPOD dock/charger and en-suite bathroom. Being located right in the heart of Wellington with one side looking out at Te Papa, and the other the night life hub means that whilst you stay with us you can enjoy all that Wellington has to offer easily. We look forward to meeting you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your At Home Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
At Home Wellington Hotel Wellington
At Home Hotel Wellington
Wellington At Home Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing