We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“at home wellington city”
Review of At Home Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
At Home Wellington
Ranked #1 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
tauranga
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“at home wellington city”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

What a great place to stay. We had not been to Wellington for forty years, and it was easy to find.The owners were lovely and friendly The rooms were lovely and clean and fully equipped. A great location to get to every thing and the dog was just lovely. I took it around all the rooms to meet every one.I would recommend this place to everyone

Room Tip: Once you are there you do not need to use your car to go anywhere.everything is in walking distance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtHome10, Owner at At Home Wellington, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear Peter W,
Thank you for taking time to write us this wonderful review. We are glad that you have had a fabulous stay with us and enoyed Wellington as much as we have enjoyed having you with us! We will continue to strive and excel in our service standards to meet your expectations. We hope to welcome you home again!

Kind regards
Katrina & Suresh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    537
    166
    45
    2
    3
See reviews for
117
413
56
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed At Home with our son while I was on a business trip. The Manager was fantastic; friendly and welcoming. They even bought our son birthday presents! The room was fairly spacious, fully equipped and scrupulously clean. A great location beside Te Papa and near enough to cafes etc. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nsnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtHome10, Owner at At Home Wellington, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear nsnz,
Thank you for taking time to give us this gracious review which we are appreciative of! We are glad to have made your stay an enjoyable one! Once again thank you and look forward to welcoming you back 'Home'.

Kind regards
Katrina & Suresh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney/London
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

My wife and I stayed on a Sunday night after a long drive down from Taupo. We were greeted warmly, location was great and bed and pillows very comfortable. all very smooth and nice. Owner has a very cute and friendly dog that we met at check out. Strongly recommend!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve_in_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtHome10, Owner at At Home Wellington, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear Steve_in_Sydney,
Gracious greetings from At Home Wellington! Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking time to write us a wonderful review! We are pleased to learn that you've enjoyed your stay with us and will continue to strive and excel to meet your expectations. We look forward to having you with us again in the near future!

Warmest Regards
Katrina & Suresh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porirua
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Came across the place on the internet. Very Central . Handy to Te Papa, Circa and Reading Central.
A special place for a special weekend. Well appointed. Very clean.
Room a decent size with a good view towards Te Papa.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevin36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtHome10, Owner at At Home Wellington, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear Kevin36,

Thank you for taking valuable time to give us your feedback. We are pleased to learn that you've had an enjoyable time with us and that you found the location and facilities to your liking. We look forward to another opportunity to be of service to you in the near future!

Kind Regards
Katrina & Suresh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay 'At Home' - we did indeed feel at home. Katrina and Suresh made us very welcome. The room was large, light and bright. The bed was comfortable and the kitchen and bathroom facilities were very good. The location was ideal - easy walking distance to everything we wanted to visit. Free wifi was a bonus as was being able to park in the car park opposite for $6 a day. We opted to have the continental breakfast basket and it was very good. We would definitely recommend "At Home" as an excellent, small, boutique apartment- style hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RozR191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtHome10, Owner at At Home Wellington, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear RozR191,
We hope you've had both exciting and wonderful experiences in the land of the long white cloud! We thank you for chosing us as your preferred accommodation for your stay in Wellington and for the positive comments about your experiences here 'At Home'. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kindly yours
Katrina & Suresh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverton NZ
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Thank you for the old fashioned good service at this very comfortable accommodation. Nothing in life is perfect, but this was close. Clean, well-appointed and easily accessible, with a major cinema & food-hall complex across the road. If you want to do a little cooking, our apartment had a very serviceable kitchenette, complete with every man's friend, a decent dishwasher. The location is very central, with restaurants and entertainment less than 5 minutes walk away - you do not need a car. However, if you do want to hire a vehicle, there isa top quality car-hire firm immediately adjacent to the apartment building - the service was excellent and the cars are relatively new. Well done Wellington - you have got the service industry for tourist's right.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BethRivertonNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtHome10, Owner at At Home Wellington, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Beth RivertonNZ,
Thank you for taking time to write us this great review. We thoroughly enjoyed having you both on the 2 occassions last month! We are glad you liked the location and facilities of the Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in the Capital!

Kind regards
Katrina & Suresh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

At Home Wellington provides good apartment style accommodation. The room was very neat and clean and the management were warm and hospitable. This is not a luxury hotel and some choosing top rated accommodation may have higher expectations of the bathroom facilities, there was very little water pressure in our shower and the towels were small and thin, however these are relatively minor complaints in the context of the price point. It's very well located, in walking distance to everything, and equipped with the necessary wine glasses and bottle opener that every room should have!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Douglas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtHome10, Owner at At Home Wellington, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Douglas J,

Thank you for you recent stay with us and for taking the time to write us this wonderful review.
We're glad that you've had a wonderful stay with us and will continue to strive and excel in our service to meet your expectations. We will look into the water pressure and please accept our apologies for the towels. We have plans to upgrade the towelling and will be doing so in the coming weeks. Once again, thank you for taking the time to give us your constructive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Graciously yours
Katrina & Suresh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.1 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#5 of 46 in Wellington
1,620 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
1,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.6 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,144 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
1,865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to At Home Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At Home Wellington

Property: At Home Wellington
Address: Level 4 181 Wakefield Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Wellington
#1 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#3 Family Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — At Home Wellington 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for a place that makes you feel like you are home, then At Home is the place. All our rooms have balconies, wireless internet, kitchens, TVs/DVD, IPOD dock/charger and en-suite bathroom. Being located right in the heart of Wellington with one side looking out at Te Papa, and the other the night life hub means that whilst you stay with us you can enjoy all that Wellington has to offer easily. We look forward to meeting you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your At Home Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
At Home Wellington Hotel Wellington
At Home Hotel Wellington
Wellington At Home Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing