We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some Good, Some Not So Good”
Review of At Home Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
At Home Wellington
Ranked #1 of 47 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Our experience here was mixed - some good, some not so good during our four-night stay. I'll start with the good:
- Excellent location; near downtown, the harbor district and right across from Te Papa national museum.
- Free parking and free internet.
- Close to large supermarket.
- Nicely equipped kitchen and full laundry (washer and dryer) in the room.
- Big bedroom and closets with comfy bed.
- Large bathroom.
- Weekend manager, Rhys, was very welcoming, helpful and friendly.

The not-so-good:
- Don't move any of the furniture in the lounge, not even a little, because no vacuuming has gone on there for a long time.
- No tissues were provided and no extra toilet paper provided (problem when there are no tissues). No note paper, pens or pencils.
- Coffee/tea supplies not replenished, though great that milk was initially provided in the fridge.
- Layout and furniture placement in our room (Unit A), was peculiar as the main passageway between the living area and bedroom was blocked by the desk chair if another person is sitting at the desk. Also, husband hit head on TV mounted on the wall in the bedroom near doorway.
- Our room was never serviced on one of the nights of our stay.

On a long trip, this place is nice as it's not a typical hotel room. To have a kitchen, laundry and great location (note that some rooms provide no interesting views) are all huge bonuses. It lacked a few niceties that I would have expected for $205 USD per night.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room with a view. Our room, Unit A, looked at the museum. Apparently there ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clearview3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (811)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

614 - 620 of 811 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2013

It is more a studio apartment than a hotel but it is even better. It is not just conveniently located nearby the Te papa. It is only 2 minutes walk from the Sunday harbourside market where you can buy cheap & fresh local produce. One of the great thing for this studio is that there is a small kitchen and a lovely balcony. The kitchen has everything you need: cooking utensils, wine opener, wine glasses, oven and even a washing machine that we can wash our clothes. We bought fresh meat and wine from a supermarkt (New World) two blocks from the hotel, cook them and have it in our balcony overseeing Te Papa. What a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D_and_G_2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

I will start by saying that we stayed over a weekend when I believe accommodation prices drop in Wellington. We paid less than £100 a night which was great value - midweek stays may be more
These are modern, clean apartments with all the facilities including the kitchen. All apartments have a small balcony.
Brilliant location within spitting distance of Te Papa and the waterfront with all it's bar and restaurants. Courtney Place is a short stroll away where there are more eateries and drinking spots. We preferred this end of town to the CBD which was quite scruffy in places
Beware the driving! Wellington is littered with one way systems!
A good choice for your stay in the capital

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidandmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

'At Home' is extremely conveniently located for exploring Wellington and we spent an excellent two nights there during our NZ honeymoon. However, if you are driving, don't make the mistake of arriving during rush hour like we did or you may find yourself spending a lot more time sitting in traffic negiotating the one way system than you had intended! At Home has parking spaces available on a first come first serve basis at the back of the cinema opposite, however there are 4 lanes of traffic between these and the unloading bay right outside, so we found ourselves circling the block to get to our space after dropping off our bags - which, since it was so busy, took a good half an hour. Small niggles aside, our room was wonderful - large and sparkling clean with a spacious balcony and a fantastic view of the harbour. The beds are comfortable and having a washer/dryer in the property was very handy. Te Papa was literally round the corner and we enjoyed exploring the bars and restaurants on Courtenay Place too - do go to 'The Library'! We very much enjoyed our stay in Wellington - thank you for making us feel 'At Home'!

Room Tip: We had the corner room at the end of the corridor - no. 10 I think? - and this provided ample space...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheOriginalLiverbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Stayed for one night and found it a well equipped room comfortable bed and would be great for those who like to be independent and not rely on takeaway. Easy walk to everything in the city. We had a great time and would return again.

Room Tip: well equipped kitchen area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melinda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed in Wellington for two days At Home and found it the perfect place to relax and unwind after exploring North Island for several days. The accommodation was roomy, comfortable and extremely close to the wharf and Te Papa -- Wellington's marvelous museum. We couldn't have been happier with this choice!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pajaro_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Jason&Leanne Bowden own and run these great apartments with so much warmth and generosity to visitors like myself. Spacious with an all modern set up with a kitchen I could cook in and relax on my balcony with a vino after a days work. I highly endorse At Home apartments which are based in Wellington City. Thank you Jason & Leanne.

Room Tip: They are all good...but I do like the harbour side for views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.9 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 47 in Wellington
1,451 reviews
0.1 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#6 of 47 in Wellington
1,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.7 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#8 of 47 in Wellington
2,004 reviews
0.5 mi away
CityLife Wellington
CityLife Wellington
#9 of 47 in Wellington
918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to At Home Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At Home Wellington

Address: Level 4 181 Wakefield Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#1 Business Hotel in Wellington
#3 Family Hotel in Wellington
Price Range: $130 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — At Home Wellington 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for a place that makes you feel like you are home, then At Home is the place. All our rooms have balconies, wireless internet, kitchens, TVs/DVD, IPOD dock/charger and en-suite bathroom. Being located right in the heart of Wellington with one side looking out at Te Papa, and the other the night life hub means that whilst you stay with us you can enjoy all that Wellington has to offer easily. We look forward to meeting you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your At Home Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
At Home Wellington Hotel Wellington
At Home Hotel Wellington
Wellington At Home Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing