We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Booklovers is just wonderful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Booklovers Bed and Breakfast

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Booklovers Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 54 Wellington B&B and Inns
La Paz, Mexico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Booklovers is just wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

I enjoyed my 5 days with Jane very much and my room was lovely ! Breakfast is a treat!!
This home is a must for everyone visiting the interesting city Wellington.Thanks again Jane and I wish you all the best !Saludos from Mexico,Esther

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheAngelTeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    45
    13
    6
    2
See reviews for
24
91
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Booklovers B&B and would certainly stay again if we return to Wellington. The room was very comfortable and a pleasant place to come back to after a day of sight seeing. We left on an early ferry our second morning, so only had breakfast one of the two night we stayed. Breakfast was good and Jane kindly gave us a discount for the breakfast we didn't have. Jane was lovely and very helpful, despite feeling under the weather with a cold while we were there. The location was perfect for us, and we were excited to discover that the park right next door is where the "get off the road!" scene was filmed in LOTR. It's a bit of a walk into town, but not a bad one and there are places to eat and grab a drink nearby.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ltc1002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

In our first visit ever to NZ, my wife, 15 years old boy and I spent 2 delightful nights in cold July at Jane´s B&B in a first floor very spacious room, with large comfortable beds for all, large bath tub with plenty of hot water running, enough room for 6 pieces of luggage and still could walk around :-) There was a nice dock in the back with excellent view that we didn´t get to enjoy. It should be great in the summer.

Jane herself prepared a delicious and generous breakfast. Public buses stop in front of the house, taxis arrive promptly and you can have a brisk 10-15 minute walk to the harbor front, Te Papa museum, nice restaurants in Cuba Street (20 minutes).

Enjoy! IDC

Room Tip: Make sure to memorize or write down the door access code so you don´t lock yourself out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivan_Leadership
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

Legend has it that this is a nice comfortable B&B, friendly host, nice yummy breakfast and cookies etc.....and it turns out to be so true during my stay. Such a wonderful, special accommodation in Wellington. I stayed there for three nights in a room upstairs facing Pirie St. Nice comfortable bed and heat pump keeps me warm and comfortable through the winter nights. The warm and comfy living room is perhaps the place I will have the nicest memory of Wellington. Nice long conversations with other guests, healthy breakfast, and just sitting there enjoying the warmth and glow of the morning sun are just simply fantastic. It was also very nice to meet Jane herself, as well as the friendly helpers of Jane who prepared the breakfasts to the guests during my stay. Would love to go back to Wellington in the near future, and would definitely like to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VinterBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

This B&B has its share of eccentricity (in a good way), but the service and convenience are lovely. Jane is a warm and very interesting host, let us park right in her driveway (a big help in Wellington, where parking is difficult) and had breakfast ready at an early hour so we could catch our morning ferry to Picton. The place is a pretty easy walk to Te Papa National Museum and many restaurants, including a nice little place just a couple of blocks from the B&B that Jane recommended. We also appreciated free internet and a computer available for guest use, as well as beverages and cookies in the hall.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LK_Arlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

Jane, the host, was genuinely friendly and helpful from booking throughout our stay. She is also a great cook! The biscuits left upstairs for guests were yummy. We really enjoyed talking with her about Wellington and the history of the area. The beds were wonderfully cozy. We enjoyed the free Wi-Fi as well. There is a hike right next to the Booklovers that was part of The Lord of the Rings movies. It is also a great distance to walk to Te Papa, the national museum.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa27Marie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

Those are Jane's words to describe her B&B. Jane really made us feel like guests, not customers. There are so many little touches like full cookie jars, beer, wine and milk available in the upstairs hall, tons of books available and great conversation and recommendations. We had a cosy room lacking nothing for a comfortable night. The location is really convenient for walking all over town or for walking off some calories! The breakfast table discussions were really fun.

Room Tip: A room in the back of the house would be a little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.4 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
0.5 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.6 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#9 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
1.2 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,051 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Hotel Wellington
Comfort Hotel Wellington
#20 of 46 in Wellington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Booklovers Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Booklovers Bed and Breakfast

Property: Booklovers Bed and Breakfast
Address: 123 Pirie Street | Mt Victoria, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Booklovers Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Booklovers b&b
Booklovers Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing