We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than last time!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gilmer Apartment Hotel
Ranked #4 of 45 Wellington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
72 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Better than last time!”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

This is the third time I have stayed here. The last time I complained about the room (one bedroomed apartment) and the cleanliness of the shower, so the owner kindly offered a half price room for our next visit. It is handilly located just off Boulcott Street, or you can walk up the Plimmer Steps and take the lifts up. They provided outdoors carparking for $15.

This time we had a studio apartment which was very large and spacious, lovely furnishings, very modern. The apartment is perfectly set up for two with a very large comfortable bed. The kitchenette has everything you would need. The only small gripe was that once again there was some staining on the bottom seal of the shower. This is due to mould growing in the seal, and can only be treated with exit mould sprayed every week or so. I told the front desk and they said they would get onto it. I would return.

Room Tip: The one bedroom apartments are very tiny, go for a studio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MargoBebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NatashaPennellGM, General Manager at Gilmer Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Hi there Ms. Bebb,
The Gilmer Establishment is very pleased that you returned to our establishment and not only enjoyed your stay in one of our Studio Deluxe apartments, but would return as well.
Firstly, the Management group would like to warmly thank you for taking time out of your day to post another review. It is your dedication to continuous feedback that allows establishments like the Gilmer Apartment Hotel to meet and improve upon the high standards that we set ourselves.
We are pleased to inform you, that since you posted your review on Trip Advisor we have taken to steps to rectify your shower complaint. In commercial establishments like the Gilmer Apartments, it is expected that after a certain amount of time, amenities will experience some ‘wear and tear’. It appears that the paste at the bottom of your shower is a particular example of this, as there is a very small amount of minute discolouration in the very corner of the shower tray. The Gilmer Management recognises that it would be very easy to mistake this discoloration as not age but mould. However, it is in fact this misidentification that has helped the hotel with a maintenance revitalisation, we thank you Ms. Bebb for that.
The Gilmer Management did take into account your advice of using Exit Mould spray. However it was determined that Exit Mould spray is both highly toxic and not suitable to use in commercial hospitality environments such as ours, where there is the high possibility of guests’ having an allergic reaction to the spray. We do thank you though, for taking time to offer suggestions for Management. However, as previously mentioned Exit Mould spray is not the safest or effective remedy for silicon discoloration. Instead, we have decided to remove all the silicon pastes from the bottom of the showers effective immediately.
Lastly, It was fantastic to see you mention, for the second time, our convenient location to the Wellington CBD. Easy access into the heart of the city is a facet of the hotel which we pride ourselves on.
We do look forward to seeing you back again
Natasha Pennell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    134
    34
    8
    6
See reviews for
41
161
29
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Otaki, Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We recently stayed at Gilmer Apartment Hotel, and had a great time. Natasha and Samsara were great to deal with, they looked after us, and we thoroughly enjoyed our break away. The room was superb, the location of the hotel is great for access to Wellington city and to get out on the motorway if you are heading north. Thanks very much for a memorable stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NatashaPennellGM, General Manager at Gilmer Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review Debbi,
We are very glad that our reception staff and convenient location aided you having an enjoyable trip to the Capital City.
The Gilmer Management Group sincerely hopes that you and your friends choose us again for your next trip to Wellington as we thoroughly enjoyed having you.
Many thanks,
Natasha Pennell.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levin, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

My stay at the Gilmer Apartments was fantastic. Samsara was a great host ensured my stay was hassle free and I had everything I needed. I was impressed how clean the apartment was and facilities available. It was in close walking distance to town.

This is defiantly a place you want to stay. Affordable, clean and friendly staff.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kylie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NatashaPennellGM, General Manager at Gilmer Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Hello Kylie,
The Gilmer Management group were extremely pleased to receive such a positive review.
It means a great deal that you found our facility aptly equipped and clean. We do strive to ensure that guests, such as yourself, derive satisfaction from our hotel and the services we offer.
Your positive endorsement means a lot to us, and we would love to have you again on your next retreat to Wellington!
Many thanks,
Natasha Pennell.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed October 21, 2013

The accommodation was fantastic, with our room serviced everyday to a very high standard. Everything was more than you would need for a great break away.
Sammi on reception was a real treat and she was very efficient at her job making sure we were totally looked after.

Room Tip: We had a corner suite which gave us a great look out to see the action around us
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NatashaPennellGM, General Manager at Gilmer Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Hello Nicki,
Our housekeepers were very happy to receive your glowing review about our room servicing. We derive great satisfaction from seeing that our employees contributed to your pleasurable stay.
It is also great to hear such positive feedback about our reception staff.
We hope that next time you visit Wellington you choose us as your accommodation provider, for more exceptional service and quality accommodation.
Many thanks,
Natasha Pennell.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckll
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

A friend and I recently stayed at the Gilmer. We were in Wellington for WOW. Wellington is the place I grew up and I wanted to show my friend this wonderful city. Staying at the Gilmer was perfect for our three day trip. The accommodation was central- they had easy parking, the staff were great, the rooms were clean and the beds were magnificent. The hotel was quiet- all in all it was top quality for an incredibly cheap price- 120 per night. A few weeks before our stay at the Gilmer my husband and I stayed one night in a 5 Star hotel in central wellington it didn't compare to the Gilmer. I couldn't recommend this place more

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seedgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NatashaPennellGM, General Manager at Gilmer Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post this review.
It means so much to the Gilmer Management group that you rate our facility so highly in the Wellington region. We strive very hard to meet our mission statement of ‘affordable excellence’; therefore to receive this feedback is superbly satisfying as it lets us know we are supplying service at optimal standard.
Lastly, we are extremely pleased to hear that you found our beds, staff and affordability so exceptional. It is great to hear these positive affirmations about the Gilmer Apartment Hotel.
We would love to have you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Natasha Pennell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 1, 2013

It is simple; this accomadation ticks all the boxes!

✅ clean
✅ central location ( couldn't get closer to CBD )
✅ great price
✅ rooms are more than sufficient
✅ great kitchenette and laundry area
✅ service at front reception was 100% welcoming and informative
✅ cleaning crew were friendly and certainly kept the rooms spotless

I am a perfectionist and like to have all of these; I rely on feedback like this from others when I book accommodation.

Overall Caroline made us feel extremely welcome from the moment we stepped in the door. Professional, friendly and offered general info on getting about. It was nice to see a friendly face coming to and from our room during the days we were there. This takes a lot of stress off when in unfamiliar surroundings!
We found the beds comfortable, linen crispy white and a choice of pillow sizes to use. The room surroundings were quiet. We were able to easily walk everywhere from here! Even in high heels!
We arrived in the morning and it was no problem to pop our bags in our room early and settle in!
Our trip back to the airport was also made easy with Caroline organizing a local rate taxi to the airport instead of using the bus 91. Much easier and just as affordable.

I would definitly recommend to stay here!

Thanks Caroline and the Cleaning Crew from the Girls in 301

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AGarton123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NatashaPennellGM, General Manager at Gilmer Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you for writing such a thorough and positive review of Gilmer Apartment Hotel. It is very satisfying for the Management group to hear that you believe we ‘tick all the boxes’.
It is particularly great to hear that you rate our staff so highly. We are very proud of our employees’ work ethic and commitment to their job, therefore to have this belief mimicked in guest feedback, is very reassuring. Caroline and the Cleaning Staff were also very pleased to have such positive feedback written about them on the site.
Lastly, it is nice for us to hear that you valued our check-in/out services and found our exclusive Taxi rate with Capital Taxis to be so affordable. For it is the Gilmer Group’s highest priority that we extend our philosophy of ‘affordable accommodation’ to not only our rooms but every aspect of our facility.
We hope you choose us again next time you are in the city.
Many thanks,
Natasha Pennell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I stayed in a deluxe studio room for 6 weeks and was very happy with the standard of furnishings, service and staff. The rooms have everything you need for a long (or short) stay so you can be quite self-sufficient and not feel like you're in a dog box. The room was cleaned beautifully and the reception staff are truly delightful - nothing was a hassle and everything was done with a smile. Sometimes it's these small things that make a big difference. The bathroom was definitely on the small size but the rest of the room was laid out so well it didn't feel small - I was in room 305 which is in the corner with lots of natural light and windows. A warning to all light sleepers - this is a noisy part of town so just be prepared with ear plugs (although the hotel kindly provides them) which is nothing to do with the hotel and everything to do with the council allowing bin collections at 4am. Brilliant idea by management to have an arrangement with Habit gym, and I made full use of this fantastic collaboration between two smart businesses. I would definitely recommend the Gilmer and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 305 is on the corner with lots of windows and light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 00DW00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NatashaPennellGM, General Manager at Gilmer Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Hello Donna,
We were exceptionally pleased that you had such an enjoyable stay with us.
It is fantastic to hear that you enjoyed the self-sufficiency of your room, and found our employees to be so amiable. It is a true delight to hear that guests of our facility hold our service and standard in such high regard.
We were also pleased to hear that you enjoyed our collaboration with Habit facility. It is an exceptional gym and health care centre, and it is delightful to receive endorsement from our guests on this partnership.
Next time you are in the city, we hope you choose to stay with us again, whether on a long term or short term stay.
Many thanks,
Natasha Pennell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.5 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
740 reviews
0.2 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#15 of 46 in Wellington
2,572 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
1,382 reviews
0.1 mi away
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gilmer Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gilmer Apartment Hotel

Property: Gilmer Apartment Hotel
Address: 10 Gilmer Terrace | Te Aro, Wellington 6011, New Zealand (Formerly Gilmer Serviced Apartments)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gilmer Apartment Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Wellington's vibrant CBD, Gilmer Apartment Hotel is the perfect place to stay a night, a month or even a year! Gilmer offers guests who book direct access to the exclusive Habit Health and Fitness club which boasts a spa, sauna, steam room, salt water pool and excellent gym facilities(located a short walk away) . All guests have access to UNLIMITED FREE WIFI. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Gilmer Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gilmer Serviced Apartments Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing