We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gilmer Apartment Hotel
Ranked #4 of 46 Wellington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 28, 2013

I can't fault Gilmer Apartment Hotel. Friendly staff, clean and well presented rooms, affordable, great location. It ticked all the boxes for our stay. Would most definitely stay again and highly recommend it for others.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DarrEmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NatashaPennellGM, General Manager at Gilmer Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thank you for reviewing our hotel, It's really encouraging to hear your stay was 'perfect' as that is our ultimate goal! I'm pleased you found our staff friendly and our location good.
We would love to welcome you back for your next visit to Wellington.

Kind regards,

Natasha Pennell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (373)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

315 - 321 of 373 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2013

I have stayed at Gilmer a few times and every time I do it seems to get better! I love the new upgrades in the rooms, makes it feel very warm and inviting.
Great location! Easy walk down to Lambton Quay or about a 5 - 10 minute walk to Courtney Place.
The staff are very helpful and friend, special prop to Natasha. Very easy to deal with.
Highly recommended and will defiantly be back! :)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NatashaPennellGM, General Manager at Gilmer Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
I'm really pleased to hear you have enjoyed many stays with us and that the service and rooms get better every time. At Gilmer we strive to provide exceptional service, clean and functional facilities at an affordable price.
We look forward to your next stay with us.

Kind regards,

Natasha Pennell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We have stayed at the Gilmer apartments on many occasions and have found it such amazing value. Really nice tidy rooms, and always helpful friendly staff. Great location for our weekend activities, so close to restaurants and shopping. We always choose to stay here and would highly recommend as a great option for those weekend getaways, shopping trips or Wellington events. Each apartment has a really good set up to accommodate for eating in, or making small meals, and with the supermarket so close, it adds to its affordability and convenience. Very comfortable beds and although so close to the city is quiet and private.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Aimeeeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NatashaPennellGM, General Manager at Gilmer Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, I'm pleased to hear our staff were friendly and our location suited for your weekend in Wellington.
It's great to receive feedback regarding how quiet our apartments are, being located slightly off the beaten path has its advantages!
We would love to see you back for your next weekend in town.

Kind regards,

Natasha Pennell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Stayed here for a week. Price was very reasonable compared with other similar properties and it is in a very handy central location though the short cuts to Lambton Quay are steep and may cause difficulty for the less able. Staff friendly and helpful and made up for an initial mistake in the room configuration. Another positive is the fact that the apartment was clean and comfortable but you should really expect that. Negatives include not much storage space and the fact that it was simply not possible to cook without the infernal smoke alarm going off every 30 seconds. My main gripe is the fact the reception hours are variable and never late into the evening as I wanted to store my valuables in the safe there being no facility in the room. Bathroom in need of updating but would stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NatashaPennellGM, General Manager at Gilmer Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Thank you for providing us with feedback on your stay at our hotel.

I'm pleased to hear you found our pricing reasonable, location convenient and our rooms clean. I'm also happy to hear our staff rectified the issue of the room configuration in a timely manner.
Our reception hours are Monday - Friday 7.30am - 8.00pm and Weekends and Public Holidays 8.00am - 5.00pm. We advertise our reception hours on all booking websites and they were advised over the phone to the person who made your booking.

I'm pleased we were able to assist you with holding your valuables in our safe and I understand one of our staff members went above and beyond by removing your washing from the in room washing machine once the cycle had finished and hung the items of clothes on the drying rack for you so it was ready to wear that afternoon as you had requested, she did this during her lunch break, thank you for leaving her a $2.70 tip on your departure.

Thank you for the specific feedback regarding the lack of storage space in the room, you stayed in one of our two 2 bedroom apartments, we will look for a way to incorporate more storage space into these rooms rooms to ensure future guests don't come across the same problem.

We are required by law to have smoke alarms in the rooms, we understand your frustration regarding this issue so we are currently converting an apartment on our ground floor into a cooking room, this room has a commercial range hood to stop steam reaching the smoke alarms, it also has a full oven , rice cookers, LCD TV and a dining room table. We hope this extra service will allow guests the freedom to cook what ever they want while they stay at our hotel.

We look forward to seeing your group back next time the cricket is on in Wellington !

Kind regards,

Natasha Pennell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

I stay at Gilmer Apartment Hotel regularly and these are the best value apartments you'll ever find in central Wellington. The staff are unfailingly cheerful and helpful and the service is great. The apartment upgrades are stylish and they have all the amenities you could want. I particularly enjoy being able to eat in. The supermarket is handy for getting provisions, or there are any number of eateries close by. In fact you can get anywhere in the central city within 10 minutes, whether you want to stroll in the Botanic Gardens or along the waterfront, or sample the action on Courtney Place or Cuba St. And when you need cover in bad weather, just hop down the handy elevators nearby to Lambton Quay. The apartments are cosy and tucked away. It's a safe and very pleasant place to stay. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms on the side away from the carpark are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank W P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NatashaPennellGM, General Manager at Gilmer Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write us such a positive review!
One of the greatest compliments a hotel can receive is return business, I'm delighted to hear you find our staff cheerful and friendly. We are located perfectly for guests travelling to Wellingtons CBD for business and I pleased you find our corporate rates value for money.
We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Kind regards,

Natasha Pennell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

I spent in this hotel almost a half year while living in Wellington. I must say that it was a great place to live where rooms are very tidy, regularly serviced. The staff is absolutely amazing and always very helpful. I had never experienced any NO or WE CAN’T. In terms of location, it’s obvious that everything is close by and within the walking distance. If asked, I would always recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dusan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NatashaPennellGM, General Manager at Gilmer Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write us such a positive review!
I'm really pleased to hear our staff were amazing! We always try and go the extra mile to provide outstanding service to our guests. We wish you the best of luck for your future, and hope to one day see you back at Gilmer Apartment Hotel.

Kind regards,

Natasha Pennell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

I must say ~ Gilmer Apartments is PERFECTLY located to everything & anything you want to do, experience or see in Wellington. Not only are the apartments clean, tidy and equipped with all the essentials, the space within is ideal for the family. The staff were so gracious and extremely helpful with directions, tourist attractions and assisting us with prime parking (which is hard to find in Wellington). I would certainly book a long ... or short stay at Gilmer Apartments again - without any hesitation! I HIGHLY recommend your next visit be with Gilmer Apartments.

Room Tip: We had a corner suite and the bedrooms were bright, sunny and didn't feel stuffy at all. The lou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NatashaPennellGM, General Manager at Gilmer Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Thank you for providing us with such positive feed back in your review of our hotel. Its great to hear our staff we gracious and friendly, assisting you with directions to local attractions.
We really appreciate receiving feedback like yours as we like to reward success here at Gilmer.
I will pass this on to our staff.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Natasha Pennell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.2 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#16 of 47 in Wellington
2,238 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#15 of 47 in Wellington
686 reviews
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 47 in Wellington
1,425 reviews
0.8 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.1 mi away
CityLife Wellington
CityLife Wellington
#9 of 47 in Wellington
892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gilmer Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gilmer Apartment Hotel

Address: 10 Gilmer Terrace | Te Aro, Wellington 6011, New Zealand (Formerly Gilmer Serviced Apartments)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Wellington
Price Range: $67 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gilmer Apartment Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Wellington's vibrant CBD, Gilmer Apartment Hotel is the perfect place to stay a night, a month or even a year! Gilmer offers guests who book direct access to the exclusive Habit Health and Fitness club which boasts a spa, sauna, steam room, salt water pool and excellent gym facilities(located a short walk away) . All guests have access to UNLIMITED FREE WIFI. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gilmer Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gilmer Serviced Apartments Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing