We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gilmer Apartment Hotel
Ranked #4 of 45 Wellington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great location!”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed in the studio deluxe apartment for five nights. Room was great - very roomy. Twin beds, kitchen, great bathroom. Location is great, very close to shopping and restuarants.Easy to get to Lampton Key. Staff were great, very helpful with anything we need. Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwimeggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NatashaPennellGM, General Manager at Gilmer Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for providing such a positive review of our rooms and staff.

I'm really happy to hear that you found our location perfect and close to everything and that our staff were friendly.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,

Natasha Pennell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    134
    34
    8
    6
See reviews for
41
160
29
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed October 29, 2012

The rooms are a decent size. 5 minute walk into the CBD. Its nice and quiet in the morning because the location isn't right in the CBD. The rooms are very clean and the room service is great!! Will stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bapeisntcool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NatashaPennellGM, General Manager at Gilmer Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write us such a positive review!

We really located perfectly in the CBD but not on a main street. I'm pleased you found our location quiet and that you enjoyed your stay.

Thank you for the specific feedback regarding how clean our rooms are, we have a fantastic team of housekeepers who ensure this standard is upheld. I have passed this review on to our head house keeper to present to the staff at their next meeting and the hotel has shouted them morning tea to reward them for gaining such great feedback from a guest. .

Kind regards,

Natasha Pennnell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

The studio apartment is reasonably spacious and lacks for nothing. Only thing is that the beds are way too soft, like sleeping on jelly. Other than that, special thanks to to Samsara for her exceptional service and warm friendly smile. She made us feel really welcome. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SydneyTracker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NatashaPennellGM, General Manager at Gilmer Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a review and also providing us with specific feedback so that we can improve the services and facilities we provide to our guests.

I'm pleased to hear that once again Samsara our receptionist has provided excellent service to a guest and has received a mention. She is an asset to our team.

Upon receiving your feedback regarding the bed being soft we replaced it immediately with a brand new one so future guests can enjoy a good nights sleep.

We have made lots on improvements to our rooms and common areas since your stay so we'd love to have you back again to see the changes.

Kind regards,

Natasha Pennell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanganui
2 reviews
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Location was perfect, clean ,friendly and sooooo cheap. Would recommend if you are looking for value for your money, Very handy walk to downtown Wellington, restaurants, shopping etc. Room was very clean, a small studio. Just a little noise at night. One of the best value for money hotels that I have stayed in. Very helpful and friendly at the desk.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NatashaPennellGM, General Manager at Gilmer Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review.

I'm very pleased you found our location close to the CBD and your room was very clean.

We aim to provide affordable accommodation so I'm happy that you thought we were value for money.

We would love to have you visit us again!

Kind regards,

Natasha Pennell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed October 12, 2012

I was working in the Wellington CBD. The Gilmer Serviced Apartments were a great location - 5 minutes walk to work. The room was comfortable and adequate for a short stay. I particularly appreciated the handy car parking - right by the entrance and easily accessible to the motorway. The staff were excellent - always friendly and ready to assist if needed. I've stayed in a number of apartments in Wellington - for the price the Gilmer Apartments offer the best value for me.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NatashaPennellGM, General Manager at Gilmer Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review.

I'm pleased to hear you found our staff excellent and our rooms comfortable. I'm also pleased to hear you found our pricing affordable.

We have made many changes since you were here and look forward to welcoming you back again when you are next in Wellington.

Kind regards,

Natasha Pennell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

This is a great hidden gem. It's so close to Lambton Quay and the waterfront. You don't have to climb up Plimmer steps - the hotel staff gave great directions to make it really quick and easy. They were very friendly, polite and helpful. The room was small and had no view but we didn't care as we were only there to sleep. It was clean and tidy and had adequate facilities.

I would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NatashaPennellGM, General Manager at Gilmer Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with such a positive review.

I'm pleased to hear our staff were friendly and helpful and that they provided easy instructions to get down to Lambton Quay. To add to this service we now provide all guests who check in during reception hours a map and a print out with step by step instructions on how to get to the lift access. (it even has photos!) We hope this added service makes it even easier for guests to make the most of our central location.

We look forward to your return to our hotel when you are next in Wellington.

Kind regards

Natasha Pennell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Booked into Gilmer Service Apartments and were really pleased with the central location. It is so handy to the CBD. A 2minute walk and an elevator and we were on Lambton Quay. Fantastic location.
The reception is welcoming and the staff were really helpful, even after we caused them some grief with our later than usual check in. Nothing seemed to faze them.

The room was a great size with all the facilities we need to cook and eat a meal, and then sit back and relax while watching TV.

Laundry facilities meant all our clothes could be cleaned up before we moved on.

Overall this place was fantastic value for money at what we considered a cheap rate for central city.

Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oditty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NatashaPennellGM, General Manager at Gilmer Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel.

I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay and found our laundry facilities convenient. Our reception were happy to assist you on arrival and you were by no means causing any grief! We are here to help in any way we can. Glad we made the check in process easy and welcoming for you.

Our in room cooking facilities are perfect for preparing light meals, we've now added to this service by providing an onsite cooking room for guests wanting the use of an oven. This facility is located on the ground floor and also has rice cookers and a large table so groups staying in separate rooms can dine together. We hope this will become an added benefit for your next stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Natasha Pennell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.5 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
740 reviews
0.2 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
1,381 reviews
0.0 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#15 of 46 in Wellington
2,567 reviews
0.1 mi away
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gilmer Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gilmer Apartment Hotel

Property: Gilmer Apartment Hotel
Address: 10 Gilmer Terrace | Te Aro, Wellington 6011, New Zealand (Formerly Gilmer Serviced Apartments)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gilmer Apartment Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Wellington's vibrant CBD, Gilmer Apartment Hotel is the perfect place to stay a night, a month or even a year! Gilmer offers guests who book direct access to the exclusive Habit Health and Fitness club which boasts a spa, sauna, steam room, salt water pool and excellent gym facilities(located a short walk away) . All guests have access to UNLIMITED FREE WIFI. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Gilmer Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gilmer Serviced Apartments Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing