We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tucked away in a back street but handy to everything”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gilmer Apartment Hotel
Ranked #4 of 45 Wellington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We were impressed with our de luxe apartment, on the third floor so very quiet. Reasonably spacious with a king sized bed, small kitchenette, a flat screen tv and a couch as well as a table and chairs. Lambton Quay was only a few minutes away, with a choice of lifts in several different neighbouring buildings. One of the better accommodation options we have tried in Wellington.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main entry corridor on the ground floor. Car parking next to building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank earthsinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NatashaPennellGM, General Manager at Gilmer Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review.

I'm very happy to hear that you were impressed by our studio deluxe apartment, we have completely refurbished these rooms now so I'd love to have you back to see what you think.

We are looking forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards,

Natasha Pennell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (364)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

338 - 344 of 364 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2012

The Gilmer is a nice little boutique hotel. It has a good central location near to all needed amenities and with full in-room kitchen and laundry facilities for the same and better prices than smaller rooms in other hotels that don't provde those facilities inside or outside their rooms.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graeme L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NatashaPennellGM, General Manager at Gilmer Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel,

I'm pleased you found us value for money and that you enjoyed your experience here.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.;

Kind regards,

Natasha Pennell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Reception keeps limited hours, but we (my 12-year-old daughter and I) managed to arrive right on 8pm, which is reception closing time. Was given instructions on how to access the hotel and our room via email beforehand, which seemed easily doable, but we just caught the receptionist closing up and putting our keys in the safe outside the building. Upon walking to our 3rd-floor room the hallway smelt. Not a bad smell, but a washing powder kind of smell. The room iself (a deluxe studio) was very small. Two single beds put just far enough apart. The room has no air con so in summer it might be a bit stuffy,although Welly doesn't get stinking hot, it still might be stuffy. It was winter when we were there and the heating worked very well, almost too well. It was diffifult to get it to be a comfortable temperature. Room had an old TV, a small fridge, a kitchenette and a washing machine (very handy!). The bathroom was absolutely miniscule. Really small and annoying. Shower pressure was ordinaring, but hot water was reliable. Internet worked well. I paid $30 for 1.2GB for our four night stay and didn't use all of it. Easy to use so no complaints and reasonable cost. During our stay, painters were busy repainting the interior, which no doubt made the place look a lot better. DVD player did not work and we were told none of the rooms had working DVD players, but on the 3rd day of our four-night stay, the TVs were replaced from old box-types to flat-screen ones, which were much, much better. It seems the place is doing some much needed rennovations (good to see!). The room itself was basic, but clean and in a superb location in the middle of town. Just a quick walk down Boulcott St or Plimmer Steps into the main streets of Willis or Lambton Quay. Really convenient and a plus of staying here. Reception staff were functional without being overly friendly or welcoming. We asked if we could check out at noon instead of 10am but were told this would cost an extra $30. This is totally fair enough as they need to clean the room for the next guests and it was worth a try. They let us store our luggage for no extra cost while we wandered around for a couple of hours before heading out to the airport. Make sure you get the recommended taxi company back out to the airport (flat $20 cash rate no matter how many occupants). This place is a three-star establishment, no more, no less. It was clean and the location was terrific. Would I stay here again? Yes. For NZ$99 a night, it was great value. It's no frills, but it did the job for our stay and the area surrounding it is safe to walk around. Street noise might disturb very light sleepers. All in all, I found it a good place to stay and would come back again providing the price is kept competitive.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank puntrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NatashaPennellGM, General Manager at Gilmer Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

Thank you for taking considerable time to put your thoughts in writing.

Rata Road Holdings Ltd. Purchased this hotel on the 2nd of July 2012 - a few days prior to your arrival.

The hotel has been re branded to Gilmer Apartment Hotel.

I'm pleased you enjoyed aspects of your stay and your feedback has given us valuable knowledge of what guests should expect when staying here.

Since your stay we have completely refurbished our studio deluxe apartments and are working towards completing our one bedroom apartments and studio apartments.

We now have LCD TV's in every room, onsite laundry facility for guests staying in Studio and One bedroom apartments.

We have also just finished a guest cooking room located on the ground floor so guests can make use of a full oven and rice cookers.

We would love to have you back to see the improvements we have made since your stay, I'm sure you will be impressed with the added services.

Kind regards,

Natasha Pennell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Marco Antonio B... S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MOA154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GilmerGM, General Manager at Gilmer Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Manuel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aimee J, General Manager at Gilmer Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.2 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,198 reviews
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.0 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#14 of 46 in Wellington
2,752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
CityLife Wellington
CityLife Wellington
#8 of 46 in Wellington
875 reviews
0.5 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
775 reviews
0.1 mi away
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gilmer Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gilmer Apartment Hotel

Address: 10 Gilmer Terrace | Te Aro, Wellington 6011, New Zealand (Formerly Gilmer Serviced Apartments)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Wellington
Price Range: $76 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gilmer Apartment Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Wellington's vibrant CBD, Gilmer Apartment Hotel is the perfect place to stay a night, a month or even a year! Gilmer offers guests who book direct access to the exclusive Habit Health and Fitness club which boasts a spa, sauna, steam room, salt water pool and excellent gym facilities(located a short walk away) . All guests have access to UNLIMITED FREE WIFI. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gilmer Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gilmer Serviced Apartments Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing