We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“like my old school reports said, "Could do better" - lol”

Staglands Wildlife Reserve
Book In Advance
More Info
$15.46*
and up
Staglands Wildlife Reserve Entry Ticket
Ranked #6 of 231 things to do in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Staglands Wildlife Reserve & Cafe is less than an hour from Wellington and a 'must see' attraction for anyone either living in or visiting Wellington. Staglands offers a unique experience for people of all ages to feed and freely interact with a wide range of native and exotic birds and animals in an environment that has been created with nature's materials. Open daily 9:30am-5pm. Adults $22, Children $11 (3 and under no charge)
new zeland
Level Contributor
300 reviews
188 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“like my old school reports said, "Could do better" - lol”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

if you have kids then this will be a must do, if you haven't then this will be a must miss! There's nothing outstanding here, except the terrible drive to get to it (and that's not stag lands fault - except for building it where it is). Be warned unless you are used to country roads then this road WILL scare the pants off you.
The place is ok with ok facilities and heaps of kids running around with their parents absenting themselves from any responsibility. And if you are a parent who thinks it's fine for your child to run around manically then you'll love the relaxed approach from the staff. On the other hand if you've come for a peaceful time then you've lucked out.
Would I go again - no!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank majnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staglands W, Manager at Staglands Wildlife Reserve, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write your review. We are pleased to hear you think Staglands is a must-visit destination for people with kids. Staglands offers its visitors the unique and exciting opportunity to feed and freely interact with wildlife in a beautiful, natural environment, which both children and adults usually enjoy immensely.

We are disappointed to hear you did not particularly enjoy your visit or find Staglands to be a peaceful place - which, we must reassure you is simply not the case, the majority of time. We see that you visited in January which is our busiest time of year. Perhaps you chose to come on an exceptionally busy day? If you are after peace and tranquility we would urge you to consider visiting again, perhaps on a weekday, to allow you the opportunity to see Staglands in a new light.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    318
    138
    14
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Feilding, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great day out!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

a bit of a scary drive out there on a one lane road but is well worth the trip. a lovely licensed café with plenty of great food options. Dress warm if going in the cooler mnths, even if it is a nice sunny day because once the sun goes behind the hill it is cold!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Karla N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staglands W, Manager at Staglands Wildlife Reserve, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. We hope to see you here again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
52 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“More than a walk in the park...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

Staglands is one of our "local" places that we take friends and family to. You can enjoy a leisurely stroll thru the wildlife areas, then come back to the café for a bite to eat.
In my view, if you've got kids, take them to Staglands as opposed to the Zoo...

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank robvp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staglands W, Manager at Staglands Wildlife Reserve, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. We agree - children (and adults!) just love the interactive nature of Staglands Wildlife Reserve, so it is a perfect destination for a family day out...guess we are a little biased though!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A good way to see New Zealand wildlife”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

Unfortunately when we arrived it ended up being a damp and slightly windy afternoon. Although we were visitors to NZ we went with family who live here who were aware that it was $2 each for that day only, which was a bargain on usual admission costs. Despite the weather it was really enjoyed by the whole family, the cafe although we didn't eat there offered a varied menu, service for hot drinks was slow but that was mainly due to the fact that it was so busy due to the admission offer so understandable. For a small charge fish and wildlife feed can be purchased for the kids ( big and small). Overall a good day out!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank wildt38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staglands W, Manager at Staglands Wildlife Reserve, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thankyou for taking the time to write your lovely review. You visited Staglands on Wellington Open Day when we charged just $2 per person entry. As you saw, many visitors took advantage of this great offer and we were exceptionally busy. We are pleased to hear that you still had an enjoyable visit, despite the weather and volume of people!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worth the trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

I had some friends come to town and they were interested in going here. I had never been and thought it was worth checking out. I actually enjoyed the surroundings the most from the trees to the creek. The animals are a bonus.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Travelgal05_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staglands W, Manager at Staglands Wildlife Reserve, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the natural enviroment of Staglands. Our team work hard to maintain The Reserve and will appreciate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Staglands Wildlife Reserve also viewed

 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Staglands Wildlife Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing