We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Day Out”

Staglands Wildlife Reserve
Book In Advance
Buy Tickets Online
More Info
$16.43*
and up
Staglands Wildlife Reserve Entry Ticket
Ranked #7 of 238 things to do in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Staglands Wildlife Reserve & Cafe is less than an hour from Wellington and a 'must see' attraction for anyone either living in or visiting Wellington. Staglands offers a unique experience for people of all ages to feed and freely interact with a wide range of native and exotic birds and animals in an environment that has been created with nature's materials. Open daily 9:30am-5pm. Adults $22, Children $11 (3 and under no charge)
Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

Have visited Staglands 100's of times since I was a small child. Such a great place for kids, for the whole family. Many years ago goats roamed free as well.

1  Thank Tina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staglands, Manager at Staglands Wildlife Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Thanks for your great review! We are happy to hear you are a regular visitor to our Reserve. Hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (543)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

434 - 438 of 543 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2014

A must see, even if you don't have children!! We hadn't been to Staglands in almost 20 years and hugely surprised at how great it was! We'd always enjoyed it as kids but now there are proper walking tracks, with picnic areas and plenty to see. The Kune Kune pigs 'guide' you around the park as they trot along with you, expectantly waiting for any handouts. The horses give a good welcome and nose to scratch and the friendly goats and sheep energetically follow you about. Make sure that you buy a bag of food (at the entrance) for the animals. The difference between Staglands and the Zoo is that you're amongst the animals, not behind the fences. It's might be a fair drive out from Wellington, but it's a beautiful one through the bush and is definitely a 'must see'!!!

Thank KirstyR_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staglands, Manager at Staglands Wildlife Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Thanks for your fantastic review and great to hear that you've come back again and loved it so much after 20 years! The joy of Staglands is that visitors are free to roam amongst the animals (unlike many other wildlife reserves and zoos) so they can enjoy an intimate, personal experience in a beautiful natural and free environment. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

exciting opportunity for people to interact with wildlife in a natural environment. Staglands is a ‘must see’ attraction for all local families and tourists visiting the Wellington region. Akatarawa road is quite challenging, though.

Thank TeodoraMt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staglands, Owner at Staglands Wildlife Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2013

Hey Teodora, thanks for taking the time to review Staglands. We really appreciate getting your feedback. May be one the council will even listen to what everyone says about the road and get it sorted! Regards Sarah P

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Its a fair drive out of Wellington (an hour?) but is a good place to spend most of the day with the kids. Take a picnic and eat it outside. We also like to stop by the blueberry farm on the way back to Wellington to pick our own.

Thank flowergyaru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staglands, Manager at Staglands Wildlife Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

Many thanks for your lovely review - great advice re: making a day of it with a picnic -Staglands really is a rather idyllic spot to while away the hours. The PYO Blueberries are also absolutely delicious too - and make for a great add on to a day out in the Akatarawa valley!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

I hadn't been to Staglands for years, since my kids were little. This time Hubby and I really were just going to call in for the cafe... but as the layout had changed we decided to look around the parklands. It was so impressive... tracks are in great order and native plantings look good. Easy walking for the older folk. Loved the walk-through aviaries, the pioneer village and the friendly piglets. Good to see Staglands helping with endangered blue duck (whio) and native falcon.

Thank kamahi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staglands, Manager at Staglands Wildlife Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to write your very complimentary review. We are pleased to hear you chose to look around and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. We continuously strive to develop and improve the reserve and it is good to hear our visitors appreciating this. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Staglands Wildlife Reserve also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Staglands Wildlife Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing