We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stepping in another world”

Staglands Wildlife Reserve
Book In Advance
More Info
$16.45*
and up
Staglands Wildlife Reserve Entry Ticket
Ranked #8 of 236 things to do in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Staglands Wildlife Reserve & Cafe is less than an hour from Wellington and a 'must see' attraction for anyone either living in or visiting Wellington. Staglands offers a unique experience for people of all ages to feed and freely interact with a wide range of native and exotic birds and animals in an environment that has been created with nature's materials. Open daily 9:30am-5pm. Adults $22, Children $11 (3 and under no charge)
Larnaca, Larnaca, Cyprus
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Stepping in another world”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

I was amazed when from 26 Deg C, in Wellington, we stepped into the forest of Staglands and there were 12 Deg Celsius! A multitude of beautiful birds in a magnific environment!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Geani C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staglands, Manager at Staglands Wildlife Reserve, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write your review. Staglands is often described as an 'other worldlly, magical place'. We are happy you agree and that you enjoyed your visit so thoroughly despite the drop in temperature - we can re-assure you too that the weather is often much better here than Wellington!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    331
    141
    14
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Love the secret garden!”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I was almost put off going to Staglands by a family member who said the road out there was very windy and the entry fee was expensive, however, I'm glad we went! My three year old daughter LOVED it - well worth a visit! It was fantastic getting close to all the animals (even the cheeky goat who took off with our food bag - and got it stuck on his nose!!!). Our daughter loved learning how to hand feed the goats and feeding the fish. She even got brave and decided to try to hand feed the ducks (and learnt ducks mistake fingers with food!). Her absolute favorite was the secret garden where she had one of the rabbits come over and sit next to her for a pat. It really made her day!

Stopped at the Cafe for lunch and glad we did. The food is reasonably priced and very tasty. We will visit again in the future.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tania S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staglands, Manager at Staglands Wildlife Reserve, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write your lovely (and very informative) review. We are so pleased you didn't take the advise of your family member re: the windy road and entry fee and were duly rewarded! If driven sensibly the Akatarawa road is very manageable and extremely scenic. Our entry prices are lower than both Wellington Zoo and Zealandia and we hope that, given that visitors can easily spend the day here, represent good value for money. Staglands is unique in that offers visitors the exciting opportunity to hand feed wildlife in a natural environment, which they love, despite the odd cheeky goat!!! We are very happy to hear that your 3 year old has such a fantastic time meeting our friendly residents. We look forward to seeing you again soon:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lots of fun to be had”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Staglands is a great family day trip. Horse rides available. Our children love it. Take sunblock, and warm clothes. Nice cafe. You can take your own food & they have BBQs available to use.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank AnnaWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staglands, Manager at Staglands Wildlife Reserve, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write your review. We are pleased to hear your family have lots of fun at Staglands. Weather permitting our cart rides are very popular with both adults and children and available at weekends and during public / school holidays. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“staglands animal reserve”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is an older reserve but has stood the test of time ,for years children have loved going and still do to this day,it has a cafe and toilets and the kids can run and enjoy

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank robo?sho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staglands, Manager at Staglands Wildlife Reserve, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review of Staglands Wildlife Reserve. Staglands was developed from scratch over 40 years ago by John Simister whose philosphy can be summarized in his own words below:

"It is my belief that an enormously rewarding and lifelong appreciation of wildlife can be kindled by a brief, intense encounter with an animal or a bird. Staglands is my attempt to provide that encounter in an environment that is as good as I can possibly make it. Native animals, birds and plants need our help. That willingness to provide help, I believe, is more likely if an interest has been kindled by an enjoyable, first-hand experience, as can be obtained here'' (John Simister).

It isgood to hear that in your view Staglands has stood the test of time and is still as enjoyable for children to visit today as it was when it first opened its doors in 1972.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porirua, Wellington, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hands down the best place to go as a family”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

My family loves Staglands, we have been coming out to visit since I was little and now I have kids I regulary bring them out too...Everything is hands on set in the beautiful wilderness of Akatawera, we love petting the animals, hand feeding them, walking through their enclosures and being so close with nature so close to the city. It is a beautiful place to spend the day, you can go swimming in the river, have a camp fire, and the kids can have a donkey cart ride, its a great day out for everyone, I like going out there to arrive on opening, as the sun rises over the valley. Cant recommend it highly enough to others to check out. There is a lot of passion and thought gone into creating the most beautiful saurroundings as what there is now, The only thing I don't like there is the goats - I hate goats...lol

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nic M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staglands, Manager at Staglands Wildlife Reserve, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thanks for your fab review! It's lovely to hear that you are bringing your own children here after coming as a child yourself. Shame you are not partial to our resident goats - have you met our new Arapawa goat twin kids yet. They are simply adorable and impossible to dislike! We hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Staglands Wildlife Reserve also viewed

 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Staglands Wildlife Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing