We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the finest waterfronts in my opinion” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oriental Bay

Oriental Bay
Book In Advance
More Info
$34.52*
and up
Wellington City Scenic Tour
Ranked #8 of 229 things to do in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“One of the finest waterfronts in my opinion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

Oriental Bay on a pleasant day is a fantastic place to spend an afternoon. There are a selection of cafes (Beach Babylon being the best in my opinion), ice-creams, coffees, stunning views and as an added bonus, a city beach!! As you can imagine on a hot, sunny day Oriental Bay is heaving and the place to be seen. On a cold, windy day it's empty but equally as beautiful, so long as you can find a sheltered location. Take a vist, you won't regret it.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Travelinspired1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    439
    240
    36
    8
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sky and sea view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Great place for a picnic (in summer). Great place to view the vast and wonderful sky and sea. Great to see bins out there and no litter.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank TumuaKenP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pretty Beach Right in The City”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

Wellingtonians are so lucky to have a clean, beautiful beach with stunning views right in the city. We had a quick toe dip and lovely walk along Oriental Parade enjoying the view and ate at a great little cafe right across to road, Beach Babylon. We highly recommend it in winter, I am sure it is even better in summer.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank YankieDownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Short and Sweet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

So we walked from the TSB Center to Te Papa, the walk was short and sweet. We had went pass the park took in the wonderful scenery of the harbor, we had a little stop by the cafe in the water front. The surrounding area near Te Papa was nice, good opportunists for taking photos. The foot traffic was very busy at 1pm in the afternoon, mostly locals going for a jog. If you staying in the city I would definitely recommend walking along Oriental Bay. Plenty of restaurants to choose from and Te Papa is just a couple on mins away. However the beach is a while away, so don't be too hyped to expect one in a walking distance.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rose H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Olympic Park, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent run”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Runners bring your shoes. The round the foreshore run - either as an out and back or round trip through the tunnel (9ks) is excellent.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank zlejins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oriental Bay also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Oriental Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing