We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky shops for something a little different”

Cuba Street District
Book In Advance
More Info
$18.69*
and up
Wellington Central City Walking Tour
More Info
$560.71*
and up
Wellington City Scenic Private Tour
Ranked #15 of 236 things to do in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Quirky shops for something a little different”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We were visiting Wellington for a long girlie weekend for fun and shopping. Visiting Cuba Street was interesting, and on the Sunday we went there was a fun market day with street performers and stalls out in the pedestrian area, so that made things interesting. Shopping wise, we found the shops to be 'different' and as such we enjoyed browsing, but none of us actually bought anything from this area, which we were quite surprised at.

Interesting for a wander, and glad we did.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank sneezydownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,641 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    667
    636
    262
    67
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Cuba street more interesting than the mall”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

I found the quirky little cafes and shops on Cuba Street to be interesting and a great place to spend some time, rather than further down towards the mall area.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 6 Contributor
54 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“High interest shopping and strolling area”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We only had a few days here and did self guided walking tours - this was one of our favorite areas - also had the vibrant energy of student life nearby - quirky stores and nice and affordable places to eat and hang out.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank jhofsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A lot of character.”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

That said, having had Wellington touted as the coolest little capital in the world, this is just another street full of cafes and bars and 'thingy' shops. If that is your definition of 'cool' then this was good - and we did eat well. But we did better elsewhere in New Zealand.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Richard O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great restaurants, cafes and unique shops”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed nearby and walked along Cuba Street every day. Lots of excellent restaurants and cafes. Our favourites included Marthas pantry for lovely home baked treats, Scopa for hot chocolate, Heaven for pizza, and Phoenician for delicious Middle Eastern fare.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank LisKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cuba Street District also viewed

 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Cuba Street District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing