We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lots of coffee shops and buskers” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cuba Street District

Cuba Street District
Book In Advance
More Info
$17.98*
and up
Wellington Central City Walking Tour
Ranked #14 of 229 things to do in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Levin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“lots of coffee shops and buskers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

I liked all the coffee bars, we were caught in a heavy downpour and ran into a little coffee shop, dont know the name , was humming with lots of student age people, lovely food, loud music and good coffee, just relaxed and looked at all the people running from the rain and going about thier daily lives, we were in no hurry, always things to look at, good shops and buskers

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Levinites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,510 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    602
    596
    245
    61
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tawdry and crowded”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

This pedestrian street of stores did not impress me. It seemed a bit dirty with not very impressive stores. Some people might like the ambiance bit it wasn't great for me.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank cameraguy54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savigny, Switzerland
Level Contributor
93 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Worth a walk through, but don't be sorry if you don' t find the time”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

It is a vintage road. Don't forget to look up tat the 1890- ish facades of the buildings. Unfortunately, lots of graffiti. A few restaurants that paid attention to their interior decoration, but most of them are snacks, take-aways, not very inviting.
It is fun to look at the vintage boutiques. There is an effort to attract people to this area, but it missing cleanness and talent in display.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Isis1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“nice vibe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

A nice vibe, and felt quite safe walking around on my own while checking out bookshops and places to eat. Could imagine living around heer if i was ever posted to live in NZ

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank craig944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level Contributor
76 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Colourful characters on Cuba St”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

I used to work on Cuba St and there was always something interesting to see whenever I wandered along the street. Quirky shops, good cafes, colourful arty farty people! The bucket fountain is entertaining for children and adults alike. Hopefully Wellington City Council will revive the annual Cuba St Carnival which is sadly missed by many locals and visitors.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank wilde0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cuba Street District also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Cuba Street District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing