We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Space Place at Carter Observatory

Space Place at Carter Observatory
Ranked #16 of 229 things to do in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Space Place at Carter Observatory offers visitors a state of the art, digital planetarium with an almost limitless range of virtual space journeys, along with multi-media exhibits that tell the Maori and European story of New Zealand's southern skies and the role of the stars in navigation. Space Place re-opened in March 2010 as a world class visitor attraction after a multi-million dollar refit. Over its 70 year history it has served as New Zealand's national observatory and this legacy is reflected in a collection of New Zealand astronomical history, including the oldest telescope of its kind operating in New Zealand. Space Place offers a fun learning experience for kids and visitors of all ages - we hope you'll have a blast! Open hours: During school holidays (public): Open: 10am daily, closing at 5.30pm on Monday, Wednesday, Friday & Sunday and at 11pm on Tuesday, Thursday and Saturday. Space Place is closed on Christmas Day
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator
Nambucca Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

This was a well set up observatory and the film in the theatre was very informative & interesting. A lot to see and explore. Kids would love the hands on things to do & would learn a lot.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    127
    29
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
157 reviews
101 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“By the Star Pass”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

We bought Star Passes for our family and you 'break even' in about 2.5 visits. The kids love it, it's a great day out and you get to watch as many movies as you like. Make an evening of it and go star gazing a couple of nights a week. It's really interactive for kids and there is always someone for small people to ask burning questions of!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank kapitibeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
96 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Star Struck”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

Wonderful treat-escape from the hub-bub of the city
Highly recommend for young & old, engaging, informative & helpful staff ... patient with questions. Return trip in hand

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jaqi3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Shocking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

kind of the best $20 i ever spent.
there was a giant annimation called we are astronomers and it was narated by David Tennant and I am a huge fan.
it was very informative and fun. i had a great time.
and they have a little museum type thing you can go into too with a little piece of the moon. i thought it was really cool.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank hollieday91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Staff make up for event pitfalls”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Stumbled upon the observatory after wandering through the botanical gardens when I left the cable car. Wasn't willing to pay the entrance fee until I noted a sign that a U2 event was playing that evening to accompany wine and beer and a review of the southern hemisphere night skies. I bought a ticket ($35 if memory serves) and returned a few hours later, about 30 min before the "show." Living in LA, I am a fan of the Griffith Observatory but by no means am an astrological scholar or hard core enthusiast, I just like museums and the like. Sadly, was wildly disappointed by the U2 presentation (HUGE fan of the band) but I was under the impression it was music played along with a computerized journey through the stars in the southern hemisphere... or at least something close. Was more like slightly obscure CGI music videos far more "contemporary" than I'm intrigued by (I don't even have cable TV at home). That being said, following the 45 min U2 presentation, wandered a bit through the whole of the observatory - very cool history and details of NZ and it's role in space travel, celestial namings and beliefs of native populations... really unique compared to northern hemisphere teachings. The final saving grace was the gal in charge set up a telescope outside and literally walked us through some of the amazing things that were visible that night (planets, galaxy's, comets). With a group numbering less than 30 at that point and a fresh glass of wine, the personal tour of the night sky was a memorable and flawless part of the evening. The observatory features many kid-friendly interactions and adult friendly history details. Would easily return for the stars and the lectures, but not for CGI music videos screened on the dome unless the stars were involved.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Miss_JB_916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Space Place at Carter Observatory also viewed

 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Space Place at Carter Observatory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing