We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Travel space - in Wellington”

Space Place at Carter Observatory
Ranked #20 of 235 things to do in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Space Place at Carter Observatory offers visitors a state of the art, digital planetarium with an almost limitless range of virtual space journeys, along with multi-media exhibits that tell the Maori and European story of New Zealand's southern skies and the role of the stars in navigation. Space Place re-opened in March 2010 as a world class visitor attraction after a multi-million dollar refit. Over its 70 year history it has served as New Zealand's national observatory and this legacy is reflected in a collection of New Zealand astronomical history, including the oldest telescope of its kind operating in New Zealand. Space Place offers a fun learning experience for kids and visitors of all ages - we hope you'll have a blast! Open hours: During school holidays (public): Open: 10am daily, closing at 5.30pm on Monday, Wednesday, Friday & Sunday and at 11pm on Tuesday, Thursday and Saturday. Space Place is closed on Christmas Day
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children
Falun, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Travel space - in Wellington”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We weren't sure how much time we should allow for our visit to Carter observatory and had no plans for the rest of the afternoon when we got there, which was great because we ended up spending hours reading, watching short films and one longer film in the dome theatre. The staff were very friendly and I felt inspired to learn more about astronomy after our visit. There's also plenty of information on the maori people and their perceptions of space, interpretations and myths.

A visit to Carter observatory is good value for the money and I'm happy we did it off season as staff really took their time talking with us, answering any questions we might have. Definitely one of the best things we've done in Wellington. Depending on how much information you'd like to digest, there's plenty of reading to be done and lots of short educational films to be seen, so please allow for 2-3 hours if you want to get the most out of your visit, whereas 1-2 hours would suffice if you're happy with just looking at some of the installations, doing only bits of reading and seeing a few short films.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 496timd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    134
    34
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Worthwhile way of spending a rainy afternoon”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

To be honest, we would probably have not gone here had it not been for the dire weather. But we thoroughly enjoyed the couple of hours we spent here. The show was very good - we had to adjust to seeing the world from the other way up! The exhibits told you about the maori interpretations of the night sky. Quite expensive, but worthwhile

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“total eclipse of your heart!”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

spent the morning of the eclipse here with all the excited staff! they taught everyone a lot and took the time to make sure everyone got a look! inside the observatory looks amazing and teamed with a trip in the cable car it works out to be an enjoyable day out in Wellington city!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank coffeefoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The night sky”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

I love the way that Carter Observatory has been improving its programmes to make them more interesting for the general public with a basic astronomy knowledge. I am goin again in three weeks.

Helpful?
Thank Jenny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“:(”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We paid ten dollares each and there is not any kind of show and we could not have a look in the telescope.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank DGG1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carter41, Public Relations Manager at Space Place at Carter Observatory, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear DGG1982

Thank you for your feedback. We do offer an "exhibition only" ticket for those visiting Carter with limited time. We do run at least 3 planetarium shows everyday but accept that a showtime may not have coincided with your visit.

We open our telescope on two late nights each week and staff these evenings with astronomers would help you to interpret the sky above. We do this on Tuesday and Saturday nights where we stay open until 9.30pm, and of course as weather permits.

Our website keeps you updated regarding our daily timetable and we encourage folks to check that out prior to their visit. We truly hope that you get the chance to come back and visit at a time when you can see a show and view through the telescope. Nga mihi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Space Place at Carter Observatory also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Space Place at Carter Observatory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing