We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Space Place at Carter Observatory

Space Place at Carter Observatory
Ranked #16 of 229 things to do in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Space Place at Carter Observatory offers visitors a state of the art, digital planetarium with an almost limitless range of virtual space journeys, along with multi-media exhibits that tell the Maori and European story of New Zealand's southern skies and the role of the stars in navigation. Space Place re-opened in March 2010 as a world class visitor attraction after a multi-million dollar refit. Over its 70 year history it has served as New Zealand's national observatory and this legacy is reflected in a collection of New Zealand astronomical history, including the oldest telescope of its kind operating in New Zealand. Space Place offers a fun learning experience for kids and visitors of all ages - we hope you'll have a blast! Open hours: During school holidays (public): Open: 10am daily, closing at 5.30pm on Monday, Wednesday, Friday & Sunday and at 11pm on Tuesday, Thursday and Saturday. Space Place is closed on Christmas Day
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access
Wellington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2011

I can recommend going to the Carter Observatory at night as you see amazing things like Saturn! Really enjoyed looking up @ the night sky. Great presentation in the dome + interesting & informative displays.
Really close to the beautiful Botanical Gardens & just a hop on the Cable Car to get there!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank ninja07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    127
    29
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Motueka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Wellington attraction to visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2011

Easy access up the Wellington cablecar and short walk. Lots of interesting displays to look at before - and after - going into the planetarium. Good presentation and explanation of the night sky - kept an 8 year boy engaged. Don't go to sleep in the comfortable chairs in the dark!! Lots of associated items in the shop. Well worth a visit.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank buzz005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
“Hidden gem - well worth a trip to!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

We went to the Carter Observatory on a wet, windy Wellington afternoon (I can say this, we live there!). It was well worth going out in the rain. We were welcomed by the friendly staff as soon as we got through the door, the children were given an activity to do with the promise of lollies when they finished it (as any parent knows, this goes a long way...), guided towards the exhibits, and advised when the planetarium show started. The observatory had enough buttons and lights to keep the children happy, and plenty of in-depth information for the adults. The planetarium show was spectacular, with an animated feature before the stars came out over Wellington. The presenter was friendly and extremely knowledgeable, and everyone in the theatre was mesmerised for about 45 minutes, not a peep out of the children! Well worth a visit, we got in for half price on an internet voucher, but even at full price it's great value for a couple of hours. It's a bonus that the observatory is located in the beautiful Botanical Gardens, with the Cable Car and Cable Car Museum close by, and also stunning views over the harbour. This Wellingtonian is proud to give this attraction a 5-star rating.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank Amanda-Kate_72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommsMgr, Public Relations Manager at Space Place at Carter Observatory, responded to this review, September 5, 2011
We're so pleased that you're so proud of this Wellington attraction - we are too! We look forward to seeing you back at Carter soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
258 reviews
135 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“Stellar!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2011

I discovered the Carter Observatory is a busy place on a Saturday night, when they have the dome open for telescope viewing. On my visit, it was pointed at Saturn, and the staff were very helpful in making sure we could spot this.

The exhibition was very informative too, with audiovisual and interactive displays. I liked the part of the planetarium show where they described the night sky as it currently was, and explained the difference between the northern hemisphere and southern hemisphere skies. I learnt that Scorpio is also the fish hook of Maui! The documentary on the space race was less interesting, and I would have preferred to hear more about the stars and planets.

Overall it was a very interesting experience, and I particularly appreciated the opportunity to look through a large telescope.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank Selsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Educational and Entertaining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2011

Make sure you leave yourself enough time to really have a good look at all the displays as well as catch one of the great planetarium shows. Chock full of information about the universe and presented in a manner that's entertaining as well as educational. Don't miss the shows, the massive domed ceiling combined with the state of the art digital theater equipment makes you feeling like you are surfing the solar system.. The kids will love the astronaut show and all the interactive displays. A must see for adults and kids!

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
Thank elisemaree26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carter41, Public Relations Manager at Space Place at Carter Observatory, responded to this review, April 20, 2011
Thank you for your wonderful review. We agree with you! Carter is a great place to visit for kids of all ages ... hope to see you back some time soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Space Place at Carter Observatory also viewed

 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Space Place at Carter Observatory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing