We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“JUST ok, just”
Review of Trinity Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Trinity Hotel
Ranked #29 of 47 Hotels in Wellington
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Stayed one night and on arrival NO hot water to take a shower. They were repairing the hot water heater thingy. Could have told me when I checked in however....thanks. Room 511 had a "musty" smell about it and was fairly small. Bed ok. Everything just OK. Location better than ok. Would I stay again...hmmm no

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dreamonixx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Owner at Trinity Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2014

Thank you for your feedback. I do apologize for the hot water situation, we had a fault that caused a hot water problem for a few hours. We are looking at a back system to prevent this happening in the future. We are in the progress of changing some of our housekeeping and management team, to make sure our rooms are kept at a very high standard. Regarding the rooms, we are a very friendly, well run 3.5 star city hotel, whilst some of our rooms are compact, we hope our room rate offers good value for money in a great city location. I do hope you change your mind and give Trinity Hotel another opportunity to impress you. Regards Jeremy Smith Trinity Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (540)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

341 - 347 of 540 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2014

We stayed in room 208 and were extremely disappointed. The room was nothing like in the pics when we booked. Perhaps we were given the worst room in the place. When we arrived we had to wait for about 15 mins whilst the room was 'cleaned'. People also checking in were told they would have a longer wait - and this was after 2pm!! The room was terrible. Very small, dark and dirty with a tiny window. The window frames and wall around window was filthy. The walls had bits were the wall paper had been pulled off and not fixed. The bed and sheets were old looking and the bottom sheet was the wrong size for the bed. The bathroom was also very dirty (mould in shower on tiles etc..). To top it all off there was no hot water the morning we checked out and the first we were told about it was when we checked out and were offered a 'free coffee" !!! The room wasn't that expensive but was still very poor. I stay in about 6 different hotels a year and this was the worst I have ever stayed in (and complained about). It doesn't rate much more above a backpackers (in fact most back packers I have stayed in have been better). Dont like complaining but this was a very dirty hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Owner at Trinity Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2014

Thank you for your feedback. I am appalled that we offered you a room that was not clean and up to both your standard and my standard. We are in the process of changing our management team and working with our housekeeping team to improve their standards, we have an ongoing maintenance programme, but we will look at getting more staff on to address the issues you have identified. I will also look at a back up system for our hot water, it was unfortunate that we had a system fault early in the morning. At the Trinity Hotel, we focus our energy on providing friendly service and fantastic value for money as a 3.5 star central city hotel. I do hope you will give our Hotel another opportunity to impress you. Regards Jeremy Smith Trinity Group Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We were lucky to have a room on level six which meant no noise. The room and ensuite were fine, but the hotel is run down. Sticky tape holding the lift buttons in place on our floor, dirty corners in corricors, etc. The parking is not good. You pay $15 extra to find only half a dozen bays. It means you have to ask reception to move a car when you want to leave, you need to phone to have them open teh gate every time you return, etc. Continental breakfast was reasonable. Free newspaper is nice.

Room Tip: Make sure fo the fine print. Two couples travelling together booked on two booking sites. One had br...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelbarista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Owner at Trinity Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2014

Thank you for your feedback. It is important to me that our customers share both positive and negative reports. We are currently going through a change in management and staff, I am confident our new housekeeping team are well trained and they have addressed the issues you have raised with us along with a few other issues we want to address. Regarding the parking, as a small central city hotel, we only have 15 parking bays and some days we have both arriving and departing guests wanting to use the parking, which does cause a few issues. Our staff are always happy to move cars when required. I do hope you will come back to the Trinity Hotel on your next visit to Wellington. Regards Jeremy Smith, Trinity Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. The first night we had a room right on the main road (401) and couldn't sleep a wink. There was no attempt to try and soften the noise of a busy junction e.g. double glazing or even thick curtains and linings. The lift was also opposite this room, so we had groups of people chatting outside the door at 2am. However, when we asked for a different room on the second night we were given a nice quiet room at the back of the hotel, which was fine.

Nice rooms, the noisy room was bigger than the quieter room at the back, but both were comfortably furnished and nicely decorated.

Room Tip: Try to avoid a room with 01 on the end if you are a light sleeper as they are by the road junction a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J0ncas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Owner at Trinity Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2014

Thank you for your feedback, as a city Hotel, we do have a few city noise challenges. We do want to offer a good balance in great service, a good environment and value for money, we are investing in upgrading the double glazing and room facilities. I do hope we will see you back in our Hotel. Regards Jeremy Smith Trinity Group Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

we came with a car, and I send an email the day before asking for the parking, that they have. They did not mentioned that the hotel is in the middle of a one-way street and the parking is in a lateral street!! So we had to pay for one hour the park in a street nearby, then go to check in and ask WHERE the park was and how to come.. .. Later we went out by car and we came back around 11.30 pm. we push the call-button to the park gate to be opened, but no one opened! So I had to go in to the hotel and wait more than 5 minutes because nobody was at the front desk. .. ..
Morover is not that clean.. It is cheap but I would not reccomend it. Plus: it is on a crowded road, so the sleep quality is poor.

Room Tip: very loud if the room is on willis or the lateral street..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank octopus81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Owner at Trinity Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2014

Thank you very much for the feedback. It is a good idea for our staff to give instruction on how to find the parking access. With most city hotels it is a bit tricky to navigate your way around when you first arrive. Regarding the cleaning, we have introduced more training for our cleaners and we are in the process of changing some of our housekeeping team. We do have an investment programme in place so we will continue to find noise suppressant solutions for the rooms that do face the busy road. As with all central city hotels, we want to offer a perfect balance of, location, great service, quality room and good value for money, at the Trinity Hotel we will continue to invest in the infrastructure and work with our staff to offer you a great experience. I do hope you will come and revisit us again and we surpass your expectation. Regards Jeremy Smith Trinity Group Managing Director.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

The best thing about this hotel is its location in the central city - very convenient. However if you are a light sleeper, make sure that you request a room away from the road as I found it extremely noisy - I had to put the TV on static to drown out all the road noise on the first night (which was a weekday). I think the hotel needs to invest in some double glazing. Having said that, I changed to a quieter room for next two nights and it was absolutely fine. The staff were all nice and friendly, room was clean, breakfasts were fine.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahJR2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

If you get a deal on one of the websites, then it might be worth it.

We had a room that had something that looked like airconditioning units on the ground floor, so the bedroom window had to be shut to get some silence. It was a little warm :-( of course - pay cheap - get a room with no view! When we left we saw the same room but with a lovely view, they could have given us false pretences at least!
BOTH of us couldn't connect to the internet - we told reception - he could...... Wonder if he went to the third floor to try it. We were VERY dissapointed. I wouldn't waste my money on the wifi here for this reason.
The staff were moderately friendly. I was overwhelmed ever.
The flies in the bar near the entrance have always been there, circling the airvent. I would have thought they might have tried to eliminate it by now!
They serve very weak coffee in the hope you will buy a real one.

If you are after a cheap, no frills stay close to the city - then it could be ideal. But don't pay too much more than $100 unless there are added bonuses like a cooked breakfast!

Room Tip: The showers fit two people :p There is a great coffee shop over the road We stayed on a Friday nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew B, Owner at Trinity Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2014

Thank you for your feedback. You have identified a number of items for us to address. We are in the process of changing a number of our Managers and housekeeping team and as part of our ongoing maintenance programme, we will look at the WIFI issues you have identified. At Trinity Hotel we pride ourselves in offering a central city location, great service, good quality rooms and value for money at our 3.5 star hotel. It appears we have let ourselves and you down. We are making changes and we hope you will give us another opportunity to impress you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.6 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#15 of 47 in Wellington
690 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Wellington
Quality Hotel Wellington
#17 of 47 in Wellington
534 reviews
0.5 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#14 of 47 in Wellington
2,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Hotel Wellington
Comfort Hotel Wellington
#23 of 47 in Wellington
653 reviews
0.4 mi away
Willis Wellington Hotel
Willis Wellington Hotel
#44 of 47 in Wellington
378 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#13 of 47 in Wellington
2,884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trinity Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trinity Hotel

Address: 166 Willis Street, Wellington 6001, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Wellington
Price Range: $61 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Trinity Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Accommodation, affordable price, central location. A popular CBD hotel in Wellington ideally suited for the Business or Leisure traveler and only 10mins from the Airport. Perfectly situated for your convenience in the heart of Wellington’s entertainment, shopping, arts and business districts and only a short stroll to the Harbour and TePapa. Each of our 60 guest rooms having recently undergone a stylish, soft refurbishment, offer all you would expect and more including; modern tiled bathrooms, wireless high speed broadband (free of charge & unlimited), coffee/tea making facilities. SKY TV, radio/alarm clock. same day laundry and dry cleaning, telephone, hair dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Trinity Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trinity Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing