We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just misses the mark somehow...”
Review of Trinity Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Trinity Hotel
Ranked #31 of 47 Hotels in Wellington
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We stayed at the Trinity last year and thought we'd give it another try with a Grab One deal. Check in was friendly, some confusion over the promised bottle of bubbly on check in, but we were happy to wait until it was chilled. Our room was on the side near the back, a small room with a comfortable bed and a very compact bathroom. The shower head seemed too big for the size of the shower box and water sprayed all over the floor when the door was opened. It seemed like all the air conditioning units for the entire hotel were crowded outside our window and these were very noisy with the window open, fortunately not a problem with the window closed at night, but then no way of relieving the humidity in the room.

We had complimentary cooked breakfast both mornings, but the Sunday breakfast was not available at its advertised start time of 8am, as the chef hadn't turned up for work. He arrived about 8.15 and cooked an okay breakfast of two eggs on toast, one small rasher of bacon and half a tomato. No cereals, juice or fruit, just urn coffee and teabags.

The staff are pleasant enough, but seem a bit lacking in focus, either they are all new employees or they need to do KiwiHost courses - none of them appeared to be very happy in their work. Cleaning was somewhat slapdash, eg new towels provided but old ones left, shampoo not replaced.

The Trinity is quite well placed for getting around Wellington on foot, parking in the small garage, at $15 a day, is about average.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank earthsinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (545)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

414 - 420 of 545 reviews

Reviewed December 16, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights. the room was comfotable if not large but this Hotel is in a good location for exploring Wellington. There is a resturant and bar in the hotel which I wasn;t able to uses as the Hotel had Xmas functions but there are plenty of options close by. Nice touch was the $10 bar voucher by the bed as a welcome and while I did not eat in the restuarant the menu look good.
Room was surprisingly quiet so easy to sleep.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

This hotel was everything we expected it to be: good value and a decent place to sleep before an early morning departure. The service from the front desk was helpful in arranging food and taxi accommodations. The room service menu is very short, but the items we ordered were tasty and well-prepared.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

What an awesome time we had staying at this hotel. It was absolute value for money, and the service we received from the time I booked till we left was out standing. I emailed my request @17 15.pm and at 17.25pm received a call from a very helpful employee called Lu, who was more than happy to help answer all my questions. Later in the same week, whilst showing my staff where we were going to stay, I saw a special"popping" up which was a great deal:$125 a night,including breakfast,with a bottle of bubbly on arrival,plus a $20 bar tab and one hr free WiFi.I immediatley emailed to ask if we were aloud that special,even though we had already booked at a good price. The Manager Faiz, was more than happy to change our already special rate, to that good deal. Now that was great service, even tho we did not get our bubbles on arrival, we did not mind, as we don't drink, and being Muslim, found heaps of Halaal eating places all over. Yes, as some of the reviews mentioned, it can become quite noisy in the evenings, but hey, you are in the mids of all the excitement, minutes walk away from all the popular places to visit, and heaps of good feeding places, so all that out weigh the noise, and if you walked as much as we did, then you bound to sleep well on the comfortable beds once your head hit that great pillows. So Trinity Hotel, thank you for making our 22nd anniversary a memorable stay. We will definitely recommend, and be back some time again. Nash and Hishaam Rhoda(Auckland)P.S., would be great if you get free view, aslso, please check out channels in rooms, as was unable to get channel 3

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NashAuckalnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

An excellent 3 days and 2 night stay here. Central to CBD. Service from desk to cleaning staff second to none and I loved the free range eggs & boutique bread served at breakfast. Thanks for making our stay so easy and oh the taxi back to airport worked a treat.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

We chose this hotel because it was within our budget. On the good side, the staff were all lovely and the bed was really comfy with good reading lights and the en suite had a good shower. However, the room was like a box and there was nowhere to unpack. They must have put shake and vac or some such on the carpet because the room stank and the first thing we did was to open the window. The cleaning was very poor, the skirting hadn't been touched in a long time and the shelf under my bedside table was think with dust. There was an iron and board but the board needed to be thrown out and was only suitable for a midget. The airport bus stopped just down the road. The room was noisy as it was roadside.

Room Tip: Ask for an inside one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellerWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

I got a good night's sleep and the location was very convenient for the central Wellington event I was attending. The room was on the small side - it would have been cosy for two people or with more than an overnight bag.

The room was let down by little details - loose electrical sockets, a non-matching patch of paint on the wall where a hole had been filled, wardrobe unit a bit dilapidated, sticky bathroom door. The bathroom had been recently refurbished, but the room itself hadn't.

All in all it's OK for a budget room, but don't expect splendour at the price.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Ross Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.6 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 47 in Wellington
694 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Wellington
Quality Hotel Wellington
#17 of 47 in Wellington
538 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#13 of 47 in Wellington
2,935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#14 of 47 in Wellington
2,276 reviews
0.4 mi away
Willis Wellington Hotel
Willis Wellington Hotel
#44 of 47 in Wellington
379 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Thorndon Hotel Wellington by Rydges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trinity Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trinity Hotel

Address: 166 Willis Street, Wellington 6001, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Wellington
Price Range: $73 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Trinity Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Accommodation, affordable price, central location. A popular CBD hotel in Wellington ideally suited for the Business or Leisure traveler and only 10mins from the Airport. Perfectly situated for your convenience in the heart of Wellington’s entertainment, shopping, arts and business districts and only a short stroll to the Harbour and TePapa. Each of our 60 guest rooms having recently undergone a stylish, soft refurbishment, offer all you would expect and more including; modern tiled bathrooms, wireless high speed broadband (free of charge & unlimited), coffee/tea making facilities. SKY TV, radio/alarm clock. same day laundry and dry cleaning, telephone, hair dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Trinity Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trinity Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing