We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will come again”
Review of Trinity Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Trinity Hotel
Ranked #31 of 47 Hotels in Wellington
Reviewed November 28, 2012

An excellent 3 days and 2 night stay here. Central to CBD. Service from desk to cleaning staff second to none and I loved the free range eggs & boutique bread served at breakfast. Thanks for making our stay so easy and oh the taxi back to airport worked a treat.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (545)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

418 - 424 of 545 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2012

We chose this hotel because it was within our budget. On the good side, the staff were all lovely and the bed was really comfy with good reading lights and the en suite had a good shower. However, the room was like a box and there was nowhere to unpack. They must have put shake and vac or some such on the carpet because the room stank and the first thing we did was to open the window. The cleaning was very poor, the skirting hadn't been touched in a long time and the shelf under my bedside table was think with dust. There was an iron and board but the board needed to be thrown out and was only suitable for a midget. The airport bus stopped just down the road. The room was noisy as it was roadside.

Room Tip: Ask for an inside one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellerWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

I got a good night's sleep and the location was very convenient for the central Wellington event I was attending. The room was on the small side - it would have been cosy for two people or with more than an overnight bag.

The room was let down by little details - loose electrical sockets, a non-matching patch of paint on the wall where a hole had been filled, wardrobe unit a bit dilapidated, sticky bathroom door. The bathroom had been recently refurbished, but the room itself hadn't.

All in all it's OK for a budget room, but don't expect splendour at the price.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Ross Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed here before and also just for one night - mainly due to the price. This time around we where given a "deluxe room" - which was located opposite the elevator.. not so good. It seems that was also the room for disabled access since the shower was fitted with hand rails but only curtains (no need to explain how the whole bathroom looked after a shower...)

To put it simply - they need better cleaners - and big time. I actually went back down to reception to tell them that in our bathroom around the sink on the walls where something that resembled either blood or vomit splatter... the girl was very apologetic but I had to ask to actually get a cloth myself to clean it..

Then there where the broken things in the room - the door in front of the fridge (cupboard) was no longer there (the hinges where), the built in hair dryer was no longer there (though they did put a normal one in where that one used to sit) and the mirror had a piece missing and the sink had a big crack.

The bes was ok but the pillows where very flat - lucky I had my own on this trip.

Car parking - $15 for a night is very cheap for innercity Wellington and we booked that ahead so no problem there.
Breakfast - hm... okish but good coffee

Staff - apart from the cleaners that need a bit of a kick in the proverbial - very friendly.

Overall - I don't think I stay here again - but hey the price was ok and the location as well - and in a big city that is sometimes all that matters.

Room Tip: Really - check they are clean before you unpack
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R_G_Baker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

The staff is really nice! The price is good. The matress was good, but pillows wasn't softs. In general everything was good. The problem is about the cleaning. My room was durty: I found a sock under my bed, probably from the last guest. The room had too much dusty, what is bad for my partner, he has highfever. The fan in the bathroom was really durty. Anyway, I can understand how hard must be to the cleaners to do a really good job if they just have few minutes to clean.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DGG1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Stayed for two nights on a road-trip, when checking in was told there were no parking spaces available due to limited parking, but the staff at reception offered no practical alternatives besides to try the garage opposite (not manned, expensive daily rate and no overnight rate posted), or park on street and move my car every two hours. No problem on the limited parking - but the hotel staff should offer simple information on alternatives instead of me spending time trying to figure that out after a long drive to a new city. In the end, I parked at the Civic Center for reasonable rate after a conversation with the attendant, but a bit of a walk.

The room I was in had a couple of issues - walls are really thin (first time in two months travel around Oz/NZ that I have heard the room next door), and windows don't shield very well from street noise (and hotel is on a noisy corner in the evenings). The TV was old (heavy old tube style), small, and not all channels had usable reception.

On the plus side the room was clean overall (though the sheet didn't fit the bed properly), location for the city attractions is good, and the bar downstairs had some life, drink specials, and a good lamb burger.

If a cheap rate this place is okay as a place to crash for a night hence overall average rating, but I would look elsewhere if staying in Wellington again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ringspa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

The room we were allocated was small, no chairs to sit on but clean. Although the room was non smoking it was apparent that someone had been smoking, the smoke detector had been covered up by a shower cap. The covered smoke detector was mentioned to the staff but no remedy was undertaken. Cannot comment on the resturant quality or service as the morning we went it was apparent from the manner of the staff that they had had a late night before hand. Was left sitting at a table for 20 minutes and as no service forthcoming left. Carparking is an issue, cramped and we were blocked in. A Hotel in a good location but staff issues ruined the stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.6 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 47 in Wellington
694 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Wellington
Quality Hotel Wellington
#17 of 47 in Wellington
538 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#13 of 47 in Wellington
2,935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#14 of 47 in Wellington
2,276 reviews
0.4 mi away
Willis Wellington Hotel
Willis Wellington Hotel
#44 of 47 in Wellington
379 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Thorndon Hotel Wellington by Rydges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trinity Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trinity Hotel

Address: 166 Willis Street, Wellington 6001, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Wellington
Price Range: $73 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Trinity Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Accommodation, affordable price, central location. A popular CBD hotel in Wellington ideally suited for the Business or Leisure traveler and only 10mins from the Airport. Perfectly situated for your convenience in the heart of Wellington’s entertainment, shopping, arts and business districts and only a short stroll to the Harbour and TePapa. Each of our 60 guest rooms having recently undergone a stylish, soft refurbishment, offer all you would expect and more including; modern tiled bathrooms, wireless high speed broadband (free of charge & unlimited), coffee/tea making facilities. SKY TV, radio/alarm clock. same day laundry and dry cleaning, telephone, hair dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Trinity Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trinity Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing