We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit disappointing”
Review of Trinity Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Trinity Hotel
Ranked #30 of 47 Hotels in Wellington
Reviewed March 9, 2012

We stayed at Trinity Hotel for two nights in a superior room. I was disappointed with the size and layout of the room. It was difficult to move past the bed due to it being crammed in. Bed was large and comfortable.
The shower was strange, more water was outside of the shower than inside it, leaving a soaked bathmat and a bit of a hazard.
The included breakfast was okay. First day we had it in the restaurant. One girl was serving a full house, no coffee, no sugar for the tea, and a lot of unhappy people! I did feel very sorry for the girl though. She was doing her best trying to serve everyone individually made coffee as well as take orders and serve the food. A lot of orders were mixed up.
Second morning we had our breakfast in our room and it was delivered very promptly.
At the last minute we asked if we could extend our check out time slightly, and they were happy to help. They also allowed us in our room early and cleaned our room as we waited which was a huge help.
The room was clean, tidy and comfortable, just a little squished. We had a view of a beautiful church. The location is fabulous, walking distance every where. Taxi was about $40 from the airport.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missmcleay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trinity166, General Manager at Trinity Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2012

Thank you for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us. With regard to the leaking showers we have had new plastic seals installed to the specific rooms with corner units that have a potential to leak. On the first morning of your stay we unfortunately had a short-staffed situation in the Restaurant due to an illness. I'm pleased your service the next day was to your satisfaction. We hope to see you again at Trinity Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (537)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

440 - 446 of 537 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2012

Room luckily facing a church and a busy street but not with pedestrians or over the bar and far enough up to be away from the garage door. Parking initially was a pain to try and get check in, then parked the car and just left it there until we check out. Room was small, well enough decorated with the washable sheet as the bed cover...small TV, but hey, its Wellington...you are doing to be out and about. The bartender was very friendly, too bad most of the alcohol on display were empty show bottles...no decent single malt...narry a one. The cocktails were...scary, flouro and tragic, but that seemed to be every where we went in Wellington. The shower was too small, the toilet seemed not to know what it was designed for...and the shelf that had the towels and was above the toilet, fell on me...twice. Luckily while I was reaching for a towel and not...'busy' shall we say. Bed was comfortable... furniture was way over sized though...huge bulky wardrobe and cabinet that couldn't even be used to brew a "cuppa" on. We got a deal and it made the whole thing very adequate and walkable to the good stuff...Cuba, Te Papa, the waterfront etc.

Room Tip: Don't face Willis St...and be well over the garage on the other side. We were also in a corner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lokabrenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

Honestly amazed. The room looked OK but during the night we started to become unwell. I sneezed until I was exhausted and my son woke with swollen eyes. When I took a shower I rapidly found the shower base is installed incorrectly so that water flows out under the shower door flooding the bathroom and soaking the carpet. Black toxic mould must be there to make us so ill. Three days later and I am sill sick. Even worse we took the stairs (as the elevator doors snap shut like the jaws of an alligator) and found cartons and milk crates stacked across the fire exit. NOT a good place to stay! Amazed that these serious problems have never been fixed.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roblinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trinity166, General Manager at Trinity Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2012

Thank you for your review. It is unfortunate to hear you were unwell during your visit but rest assured there is no toxic mould in our showers or anywhere else in the hotel. Our property was thoroughly assessed by industry standards with in April, just after your stay in March, and we achieved, with a strong weighting of 12% on cleanliness, a rating of 4 out of 5 with very positive comments by the assessor in this area. It is a shame you didn't mention your dissatisfaction to the front desk or myself immediately or even after your first night, as according to hotel policy there would have been no charge to cancel the rest of your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

I really wanted to like this hotel. First impressions were good and even though their carpark was full we got good directions to local free parking options for the night.

Room itself was attractive and clean. Tea and coffee making facilities plus a fridge. There was a heater for winter and a fan for summer. Bathroom was a good size and it looked some tiling had been recently redone. Shower not as clean as I would like but not grotty enough to put me off. Bed was older and of the ‘roll together’ variety so not ideal for 2 people (minus 1 point). And then there was the noise.

We were on the 4th floor on the side street side but it sounded as if people were standing right beside our bed chatting until 3.30am. Would benefit from retro fitted double glazing – we would go back if this was done but not before. Got a great deal (for Wellington) at NZD$107 during Arts Festival week so a good option if you can sleep with ear plugs.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Possum-Jen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trinity166, General Manager at Trinity Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2012

Thank you for your review. I would like to confirmthat we have double glazed all our front room windows last month. There is a noticable improvement to the street noise. All our beds were replaced with Sleepyhead Hotel beds at the end of 2009 so they are only a couple of years old. We have put in place a diary to turn the matresses on a regular basis. We hope to see you again at Trinity Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

The rooms and bathroom were quite small but clean and comfortable. I requested for a room away from the street as I can't stand traffic noise and I got it. However, as my room was on the third floor, we could hear noises and shouting coming from the bar downstairs. I don't know if it's just this occasion or if it's a regular thing, there was a lot of doors slamming too which makes it a little noisy. Good thing that stopped at bedtime. Car park spaces are available at NZ$15, I didn't take that up. I should have. It would have taken away the stress of looking for overnight parking. Luckily there was Wilson 24 hr parking just across from the hotel and it cost me only NZ$16!!! It was a weekend.
Trinity hotel is located at the corner of Willis Street and Dixon Street, extremely convenient! 5 mins from Cuba Mall, starbucks, and 10 mins from Ustay apartment and New World supermarket. We went to a Vietnamese restaurant 5 mins from the hotel, it was good and inexpensive.
All in all, I would recommend this hotel for a short stay, 2-3 days and no more.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nyonya28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

My partner and I decided to stay one night in Wellington before our flight in the morning, at the last minute.
With no booking, we went to reception and she gladly booked us in, informed us of the deals in the bar and their taxi service, which we used. The barman was great, giving us the two for one happy hour deal even though we were 5 mins late. Our taxi driver was so welcoming even though it was a cold and wet early morning.

Room was good, mattress was a bit hard but bathroom was great! Nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmmaJSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

This hotel has three things that would bring us back again - excellent location, car parking available and friendly, efficient staff.

The room was nicely decorated and although the furniture was a bit dated, it didn't worry us at all as the most important things were there - a comfortable bed with good pillows, coffee table and chairs (which we used a lot), wardrobe, fridge and tea and coffee-making facilities. The bathroom was compact but user friendly and the soaps/shampoos were replenished daily.

The only downside to this lovely hotel was the fact that the rooms weren't air conditioned and it was necessary to have the windows open to get fresh air. Willis St is very busy (and noisy) so at night we closed the windows and put on the pedestal fan which helped keep the room cool. There were two sets of roller blinds (one for shade and one for privacy) at each window and we found these useful.

There is a bar and restaurant at the hotel, along with a small room service menu. On our arrival we were given a voucher for $10 to have a drink in the bar/restaurant, which was a nice touch. We had a continental breakfast at the hotel on the first morning, which was very nice and on the second morning we walked down the road to a nearby cafe for breakfast with friends. The hotel is right in the centre of the city so is within walking distance of many excellent restaurants and cafes, as well as the sights of Wellington.



Although the hotel was fully booked we didn't hear any noise from adjacent rooms. We were very happy with our stay and although there was no air conditioning, would readily stay at the Trinity Hotel again, especially for the location but also for the quaint feel of the hotel and the excellent staff.

Room Tip: A room facing away from busy Willis Street would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jencia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.6 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 47 in Wellington
686 reviews
0.4 mi away
Willis Wellington Hotel
Willis Wellington Hotel
#43 of 47 in Wellington
374 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Wellington
Quality Hotel Wellington
#13 of 47 in Wellington
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 47 in Wellington
2,234 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Hotel Wellington
Comfort Hotel Wellington
#23 of 47 in Wellington
647 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Thorndon Hotel Wellington by Rydges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trinity Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trinity Hotel

Address: 166 Willis Street, Wellington 6001, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 47 Hotels in Wellington
Price Range: $70 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Trinity Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Accommodation, affordable price, central location. A popular CBD hotel in Wellington ideally suited for the Business or Leisure traveler and only 10mins from the Airport. Perfectly situated for your convenience in the heart of Wellington’s entertainment, shopping, arts and business districts and only a short stroll to the Harbour and TePapa. Each of our 60 guest rooms having recently undergone a stylish, soft refurbishment, offer all you would expect and more including; modern tiled bathrooms, wireless high speed broadband (free of charge & unlimited), coffee/tea making facilities. SKY TV, radio/alarm clock. same day laundry and dry cleaning, telephone, hair dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Trinity Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trinity Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing