We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient location.”
Review of Trinity Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Trinity Hotel
Ranked #30 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Palmerston North
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very convenient location.”
Reviewed February 25, 2012

The rooms and bathroom were quite small but clean and comfortable. I requested for a room away from the street as I can't stand traffic noise and I got it. However, as my room was on the third floor, we could hear noises and shouting coming from the bar downstairs. I don't know if it's just this occasion or if it's a regular thing, there was a lot of doors slamming too which makes it a little noisy. Good thing that stopped at bedtime. Car park spaces are available at NZ$15, I didn't take that up. I should have. It would have taken away the stress of looking for overnight parking. Luckily there was Wilson 24 hr parking just across from the hotel and it cost me only NZ$16!!! It was a weekend.
Trinity hotel is located at the corner of Willis Street and Dixon Street, extremely convenient! 5 mins from Cuba Mall, starbucks, and 10 mins from Ustay apartment and New World supermarket. We went to a Vietnamese restaurant 5 mins from the hotel, it was good and inexpensive.
All in all, I would recommend this hotel for a short stay, 2-3 days and no more.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nyonya28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    183
    174
    63
    27
See reviews for
61
210
78
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2012

My partner and I decided to stay one night in Wellington before our flight in the morning, at the last minute.
With no booking, we went to reception and she gladly booked us in, informed us of the deals in the bar and their taxi service, which we used. The barman was great, giving us the two for one happy hour deal even though we were 5 mins late. Our taxi driver was so welcoming even though it was a cold and wet early morning.

Room was good, mattress was a bit hard but bathroom was great! Nice place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmaJSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

This hotel has three things that would bring us back again - excellent location, car parking available and friendly, efficient staff.

The room was nicely decorated and although the furniture was a bit dated, it didn't worry us at all as the most important things were there - a comfortable bed with good pillows, coffee table and chairs (which we used a lot), wardrobe, fridge and tea and coffee-making facilities. The bathroom was compact but user friendly and the soaps/shampoos were replenished daily.

The only downside to this lovely hotel was the fact that the rooms weren't air conditioned and it was necessary to have the windows open to get fresh air. Willis St is very busy (and noisy) so at night we closed the windows and put on the pedestal fan which helped keep the room cool. There were two sets of roller blinds (one for shade and one for privacy) at each window and we found these useful.

There is a bar and restaurant at the hotel, along with a small room service menu. On our arrival we were given a voucher for $10 to have a drink in the bar/restaurant, which was a nice touch. We had a continental breakfast at the hotel on the first morning, which was very nice and on the second morning we walked down the road to a nearby cafe for breakfast with friends. The hotel is right in the centre of the city so is within walking distance of many excellent restaurants and cafes, as well as the sights of Wellington.



Although the hotel was fully booked we didn't hear any noise from adjacent rooms. We were very happy with our stay and although there was no air conditioning, would readily stay at the Trinity Hotel again, especially for the location but also for the quaint feel of the hotel and the excellent staff.

Room Tip: A room facing away from busy Willis Street would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jencia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2012

Started out on the wrong foot with this hotel. Upon check-in we experienced horrible service from reception. However after consulting with hotel manager she was more than gracious and responded as quickly as she could. She was prompt in letting us know that operation policies and communication among staff would be reinforced. Not to dwell on that, the hotel was located in a central part of town and was very convenient to get to when walking around all day. The room was small but we got room 403 which made it feel more spacious with the lovely church view. (Don't settle for a room (410) that had a view of a grey wall of the adjacent building- we had a momentary stay there and it honestly felt prison-like). Depending on time of year, it could get hot in that room. So either keep the fan on, or leave the window open. But beware of garbage trucks rumbling past in the wee hours. Hot breakfast at the Eclipse restaurant was lovely and staffed by a friendly hostess.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glendale L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 16, 2012

The night we stayed the bar was closed to the hotel guest because the was a private function on in the bar. There was no where to have a drink but in your room. This is not good enough..if you are a guest in a hotel you should be able to have a drink in a bar at that hotel you are staying at.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharn-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed December 30, 2011

I needed a place to stay in a hurry. This place looked fine, had reasonable rates, and an available room.

The decor was tired, the room was noisy, including shuddering every time a neighbouring door was slammed (which the cleaners did lots in the morning). The worse thing was that is was very grubby. Dust on and around the skirting boards, someone elses wrappers and detrirus by the beside cabinet.

The staff however, were wonderful. Seemingly over-pushed, but polite, professional and kind.
From personal experience that shows me a failure in management. If your staff are running around trying their best but the place doesn't shape up - it's your fault. The staff are trying very hard, but not being given the tools and the support they need to do their jobs.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wellington hotels

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2011

I had a very good experience at the Trinity. The staff were absolutely fabulous right from reception to the chef who poaches eggs to perfection. The deals in the bar/cafe for inhouse guests is super good. The room was very clean and well appointed, if smallish. The location was central for the sights and concert arenas. Would certainly stay here again.
If you want a good shower and comfy bed as a base to explore the beautiful city, this is for you. If you want peace and quiet, and an enormous room, move to the country.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cruzjunky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.6 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
669 reviews
0.4 mi away
Willis Wellington Hotel
Willis Wellington Hotel
#44 of 46 in Wellington
351 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#15 of 46 in Wellington
2,595 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Thorndon Hotel Wellington by Rydges
0.5 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trinity Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trinity Hotel

Property: Trinity Hotel
Address: 166 Willis Street, Wellington 6001, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Trinity Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Accommodation, affordable price, central location. A popular CBD hotel in Wellington ideally suited for the Business or Leisure traveler and only 10mins from the Airport. Perfectly situated for your convenience in the heart of Wellington’s entertainment, shopping, arts and business districts and only a short stroll to the Harbour and TePapa. Each of our 60 guest rooms having recently undergone a stylish, soft refurbishment, offer all you would expect and more including; modern tiled bathrooms, wireless high speed broadband (free of charge & unlimited), coffee/tea making facilities. SKY TV, radio/alarm clock. same day laundry and dry cleaning, telephone, hair dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Trinity Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trinity Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing