We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a great choice”
Review of Trinity Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Trinity Hotel
Ranked #30 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
nelson
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Not a great choice”
Reviewed November 23, 2011

I had the chance to spend 3 nights in Wellington,November 2011. After looking on the web site the "Trinity Hotel" in Willis street looked ideal as it was in a good location,as I didn't have my own transport I wanted to be able to walk to many attractions.

I booked on line,was given a 3 for 2 deal,which was great

A five hour trip instead of 20minutes marked the beginning of my holiday,as the weather was bad,so was diverted from Wellington to Palmerston North,then to Wellington by bus.

The Hotel reception area was bright and clean, the staff member welcoming,helpful.

The elevator made its way to the 4th floor.

The Hall ways to the rooms were like a rabbit warren,rooms squashed closely together.

Swipe card to enter.

The rooms one window looked out at the church,the window itself was dirty the aluminium framing filthy and mouldy.

The paint was peeling off around the wooden frame.

The bathroom was small,with a corner shower. The grouting and silicone in the shower was also very mouldy.

There was an old style TV precariously hanging on a wall bracket almost overhanging the bed.

Where the smoke detector should have been, there was a lone wire hanging down, attached to nothing. Hopefully the sprinkler system would work if needed???

The room had quite a musty odour.

Very noisy from the street below.

When the guests in the room next door shut their door the wall in my room literally moved.

I ate in the restaurant for various meals,the food was always good,served hot. The staff were excellent,friendly,helpful,couldn't ask for better.

Room Tip: ask to look at the room before deciding to stay,or if booking on line ask when the room you are gett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank huffam-family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    183
    174
    63
    27
See reviews for
61
210
78
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed November 19, 2011

Stayed here on two different occasions and enjoyed both times, staff were friendly and helpful and problems solved straight away, definitely noisy but I expected that due to location, would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muzza3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2011

Very nice hotel. Clean comfortable and affordable.
Centrally located and it includes breakfast!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanusHorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2011

I stayed two nights in this hotel this week and I won't be returning.

Whilst the hotel was relatively clean and tidy there are a number of reasons why I won't be back.

Firstly, as other reviewers have noted, you might end up with a room that overlooks the intersection (rooms ending in 1, 2, or 3 on any floor). If this happens to you then go out and buy some ear plugs. The windows and blinds do little to dampen the noise. Pretty much from 10pm onwards you are treated to non stop noise from revellers, drunk locals, to the constant beeping of the walk/don't walk signs.

Secondly, the room I was in had an iron that leaked water - this made ironing my shirts an exercise in futility

I noted in the elevator a proud sign proclaiming the fitness centre was now open on level 1. Given it was cool outside I took this option. Calling this a fitness room is misleading. It's a room that has an assortment of second hand fitness machines, no water fountain, and a couple of towels. Seriously, if the hotel doesn't have a budget to do a fitness room well - don't do it.

I guess if a good nights rest isn't really that important then this would be an option - but in reality it's a hotel that is showing signs of being run down and really doesn't represent good value for money

Room Tip: I doubt there are good rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wellington hotels

Essex, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
334 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2011

Trinity Hotel offers reasonable facilities for a business night without frills. Priced keenly, the accommodation is small and basic, but mostly clean; exception - shower tray in 502 discolored with ingrained grime. Extractor fan in lavatory/shower room did not function. TV is old fashioned model with limited range of channels. Street corner location is noisy, both from cars and revellers. My company would be happy with the price, but I'd be happier if my company valued me more.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy and Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 24, 2011

Only few minutes walk from Cuba street, business district and waterfront. The room is tidy, clean, and quiet. Easy walk to many great restaurants. Free newspaper daily. GYM room is very basic. Definitely happy to stay again!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank designercottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2011

This hotel is centrally located and convenient for a lot of central govt meetings. Ask for rooms high up and on Dixon Street rather than windows on Willis....try and keep away from
Willis Dixon corner as traffic light pedestrian alert is really annoying through the night. 9012 was good. basic good accom, helpful check in and exit desk staff. good basic reliable hotel.

Room Tip: rooms high up and away from Willis St and if poss avoid the corner of willis and Dixon st...rooms hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank totarapom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.6 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
669 reviews
0.4 mi away
Willis Wellington Hotel
Willis Wellington Hotel
#44 of 46 in Wellington
351 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#15 of 46 in Wellington
2,595 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Thorndon Hotel Wellington by Rydges
0.5 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trinity Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trinity Hotel

Property: Trinity Hotel
Address: 166 Willis Street, Wellington 6001, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Trinity Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Accommodation, affordable price, central location. A popular CBD hotel in Wellington ideally suited for the Business or Leisure traveler and only 10mins from the Airport. Perfectly situated for your convenience in the heart of Wellington’s entertainment, shopping, arts and business districts and only a short stroll to the Harbour and TePapa. Each of our 60 guest rooms having recently undergone a stylish, soft refurbishment, offer all you would expect and more including; modern tiled bathrooms, wireless high speed broadband (free of charge & unlimited), coffee/tea making facilities. SKY TV, radio/alarm clock. same day laundry and dry cleaning, telephone, hair dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Trinity Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trinity Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing