We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hostel in Wellington!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington
Reviewed July 30, 2012

I stayed here for 2months in June and July while I looked for a place to live more permanently.

I ended up meeting other longtermers, and was upgraded to a longtermers room, with an ensuite.
They offer Work for Accomodation, but that is pot luck, if your around when people leave, which happens often.
Admittedly the kitchen is not great- but realisitically, due to the logistics of the building it cannot be changed, so they have more than compensated for this by offering everyone a free meal at dinner time and free tea and coffee all day, which is a hell of alot more than some of the other hostels offer.
The location is great, just at the bottom of Cuba Street, there is a bar on-site that do $5 drinks and favourite... 241 meals on Mondays- so 2 Steak and Chips for only 20bucks!!!!
Theres alway things going on in the evening, such as Blend Bingo, KillerPool, Quiz Night and they had just started day trips as I was leaving too. I think they were doing a Zealandia day for $10- when its usually $28!

The staff are awesome and you cant really get much better than Steve on reception.... he does loves a hug!

Would definitely reccomend it for Backpackers :)

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (408)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

324 - 330 of 408 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2012

Have stayed in many hostel's throughout New Zealand and Australia. We had deluxe ensuite room which was brilliant with flat screen tv and huge bathroom. Friendly staff and clean rooms. Kitchen however was disgusting. No room for more than 4 people to cook and very unclean, limited utensils. On the flip side they do offer a free snack size meal (can be upgraded for $2 to a larger portion) in the onsight bar. This arrangement obviously encourages people not to use the kitchen which is not a bad thing!

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cat R, General Manager at Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2012

Hi there,

Thank you for taking the time to review Nomads Capital.

I am pleased that you liked our rooms and the staff looked after you well. But yes, you are right, the kitchen is quite a limited size. Unfortunately we are a heritage listed building, and because of that, there is nothing I can do to improve the lay out of the guest kitchen. However, we do have a great courtyard with BBQ facilities for the summer months, and we offer the free meals in the evening to try and compensate for the size. As for the cleanliness: we have people cleaning the kitchen 3 times a day, after every meal time. We can only hope that guests clean up after themselves when they are finished to help keep it clean in between times.

Cat Ritchie, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

This is a young person's hostel. The bed was crazy squeaky, and nothing fun was even going on... The kids smoking and shrieking on the back patio at 2am were not awesome and our room must have been over a generator or fan (maybe the kitchen) because the floor was vibrating like in a machine shop.

Vee, at reception was fantastic. She made the whole place worthwhile.

Maybe I'm old, but i HATED the stupid picture of of the torso of a man having sex with a sheep and the $5 Wet P***y shots advert right in the elevator. Subtlety can be cool people!!!!

The room was really clean and the shower great, also the fish and chips at BLEND next door was smashing...but the music was so crazy loud i knew i was too old to be there. :)

Room Tip: If you are on the first floor, make sure you're not right above the kitchen. I would try to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chinagirl15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cat R, General Manager at Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2012

Hi there,

Thank you for taking the time to review Nomads Capital.

I am sorry that you feel this is a young person's hostel as we really try to accommodate everyone, and not focus on one target market. I have spoken to our Night Audit staff and discussed the repercussions of people being in the courtyard at that time of night.... Checks are now being done more frequently, and rules enforced, NO exceptions!

I am so pleased that the staff looked after you well. We like to think that our customer service is one of our best features, so it is great to hear positive reviews, even better when it is a personal one.

Thank you,
Cat Ritchie, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

The front of staff at Nomads are lovely, really helpful and professional. The cleaners are great and they do a
Cracking job. My
Main complaint with Nomads was the general atmosphere and click going on. I often felt, and this was shared amongst many others that I spoke to, that I was an intruder in the home of the long stayers. Those that are living there commender the common areas and are both noisy and hostile to anyone else attempting to watch a film, cook, even get involved. I have recently moved to YHA and am so much happier. I wish I hadn't spent my first week in Wellington at Nomads as I started my adventure in Wellington on the wrong foot.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank laker89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 25, 2012

Hi There,

Thank you so much for taking the time to rate Nomads Capital.

I am sorry that this is the vibe you got from the hostel. However, I am pleased to say that we now have a second common room upstairs.
This also has beanbags, sofas and bucket chairs to relax in. There is Sky TV, a DVD player, and X box facilities. Downstairs is being used more as a quiet room, with people reading, or playing on laptops...

By the summer, I also plan to have re invented the courtyard area with decking, a BBQ area and shelter to protect from the.... sun!!! There will also be access to Blend bar, so this will be the perfect beer garden too :)

Cat Ritchie, General Manager, Nomads Capital

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2012

Stayed here over Christmas a few years ago and my friend and I had booked a twin room several months in advance through hostel world. When we arrived the person working at reception said they only had a double available because they were so busy even though they were aware of our reservation. We were furious as we had booked so far in advance and arrived on time. She said it was because we had booked through the hostelworld website rather than directly through the hostel which I found very strange as we had paid a deposit and had not had any problems during the month we were in NZ and had booked all accommodation through hostelworld. I refused to stay in the double and she eventually agreed to upgrade us to a deluxe twin but for 1 night only which was a huge hassle because we had to check out early in the morning and then check back in again in the afternoon, when I pointed this out she said they were only under obligation to provide a bed for the night rather than a room during the day!
I have stayed in a lot of hostels and never come across this before or such a rude member of staff. Would not stay again although the rooms themselves were quite good.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 25, 2012

Hi There,

Thank you so much for taking the time to rate Nomads Capital.

Although mistakes do happen, it is up to the provider to sort them out, with as little stress for the guest as possible. I am sorry that you had such a frustrating arrival here with us, there really is no excuse for bad service!

I would like to reassure you that we have a whole new team working here, who all know how important being polite and helpful are, whatever the situation.

Cat Ritchie, General Manager, Nomads Capital

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

This is a very good hostel if you're staying as a couple or group.

I stayed with a girl-friend in a private room with ensuite. The room first appears to be Spacious but when you unload your bags the space dwindles quite quickly. Although the room was a 'Double' it also included a single bed. the ensuite was large but found the size of the shower was needlessly small due to the location of the shower curtain. The room was somewhat basic but clean and fitted with a flat screen TV. Not much more you could ask for.

The floor was quiet and had a hotel vibe. The door and elevator was operated by key card for that extra security.

The reception had ample computer terminals with wifi available that uses the 'Global Gossip' system, so the speed and price is good and always a bonus if you have a global gossip account.

A bar is adjacent to the hostel offering the usual food and drink affair. Prices are average but servings are generous. If you feel like 'staying in' for a meal the kitchen looked to be fully equipped but fridge space was very scarce. The hostel also offers a free dinner which is quite generous I thought, unfortunately I did not take advantage of the offer.

The location is great with Cuba street just around the corner; a strip of cafes, diners, restaurants, bars, vintage and record stores.

This is where I come back to my first gripe; This is a very good hostel if you're staying as a couple or group but the atmosphere was somewhat lacking. The awkward place of the common room (out of the way of any real thoroughfare) and the very underutilized and uninviting courtyard made it seem like it it would be harder to meet people if you are a solo traveler.

This was a good hostel and would be perfect you're not too keen on the party scene hostels around the place, clean and modern, but somewhat lifeless for a hostel and more hotel like than anything. Some see that as a plus, I'm a very social person so it wasn't to my taste but at the end of the day you couldn't fault this hostel.

I was happy with my stay and would recommend this hostel to friends and family.

Room Tip: Room labeled as a 'Double' had an additional single bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anaru R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 25, 2012

Hi There,

Thank you so much for taking the time to rate Nomads Capital.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us, although I am sorry that you didn't manage to take advantage to that changes that have been made or are being made in the coming months...

We now have a full time activities manager, who makes sure all guests have an opportunity to mix, play games and enjoy themselves, if they should so wish...
There has been an additional common room added upstairs in the hostel, with Sky TV, X box facilities, and a DVD player. Downstairs is being used more as a quiet room now.
In the coming months... (ready for summer), we are re inventing our courtyard area so that it will be a nice place to take advantage of in the sun! Decking, BBQ's and a cheeky beer $5 from the bar next door... not a bad way to spend the afternoon!

I hope that you will come back to visit one day to see these changes :)

Cat Ritchie, General Manager, Nomads Captial

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012

Just hopped on a plane from auckland to wellington and was pointed towards wakesfield street for rented stay found this amazing place called nomads, loved the person behind the desk they way she handled my query and put me in a nice dorm, cost effective, good facilities and the best thing they had a bar down in basement -- loved it :)
Would love to stay again when i visit.

Room Tip: 6 bed sharing room have a en-suite my personal preference
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Indian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 25, 2012

Hi There,

Thank you so much for taking the time to rate Nomads Capital.

I am so glad you were taken care by the reception team, and you had a good time on your weekend away in Windy Welli :)

Cat Ritchie, General Manager, Nomads Capital

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.5 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 47 in Wellington
694 reviews
0.2 mi away
Trinity Hotel
Trinity Hotel
#31 of 47 in Wellington
545 reviews
0.6 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#13 of 47 in Wellington
2,934 reviews
0.4 mi away
YHA Wellington
YHA Wellington
#3 of 54 in Wellington
621 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Dwellington
The Dwellington
#1 of 54 in Wellington
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington

Address: 118-120 Wakefield Street | PO Box 11-247, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Wellington
Price Range: $26 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nomads Capital is a 5 star flashpacker hostel right in the heart of Wellington. Five minutes walk from the vibrant Cuba Street, bustling Courtenay Place, beautiful waterfront and award winning Te Papa Museum. With a range of rooms to suit every traveller and budget, and our own on-site bar and Travel Desk, we can take care of your every need while you are in town. This really is the perfect place to stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing