We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You'd have to be mad to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“You'd have to be mad to stay!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

The front of staff at Nomads are lovely, really helpful and professional. The cleaners are great and they do a
Cracking job. My
Main complaint with Nomads was the general atmosphere and click going on. I often felt, and this was shared amongst many others that I spoke to, that I was an intruder in the home of the long stayers. Those that are living there commender the common areas and are both noisy and hostile to anyone else attempting to watch a film, cook, even get involved. I have recently moved to YHA and am so much happier. I wish I hadn't spent my first week in Wellington at Nomads as I started my adventure in Wellington on the wrong foot.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laker89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Hi There,

Thank you so much for taking the time to rate Nomads Capital.

I am sorry that this is the vibe you got from the hostel. However, I am pleased to say that we now have a second common room upstairs.
This also has beanbags, sofas and bucket chairs to relax in. There is Sky TV, a DVD player, and X box facilities. Downstairs is being used more as a quiet room, with people reading, or playing on laptops...

By the summer, I also plan to have re invented the courtyard area with decking, a BBQ area and shelter to protect from the.... sun!!! There will also be access to Blend bar, so this will be the perfect beer garden too :)

Cat Ritchie, General Manager, Nomads Capital
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    108
    71
    42
    26
See reviews for
17
62
110
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012

Stayed here over Christmas a few years ago and my friend and I had booked a twin room several months in advance through hostel world. When we arrived the person working at reception said they only had a double available because they were so busy even though they were aware of our reservation. We were furious as we had booked so far in advance and arrived on time. She said it was because we had booked through the hostelworld website rather than directly through the hostel which I found very strange as we had paid a deposit and had not had any problems during the month we were in NZ and had booked all accommodation through hostelworld. I refused to stay in the double and she eventually agreed to upgrade us to a deluxe twin but for 1 night only which was a huge hassle because we had to check out early in the morning and then check back in again in the afternoon, when I pointed this out she said they were only under obligation to provide a bed for the night rather than a room during the day!
I have stayed in a lot of hostels and never come across this before or such a rude member of staff. Would not stay again although the rooms themselves were quite good.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Hi There,

Thank you so much for taking the time to rate Nomads Capital.

Although mistakes do happen, it is up to the provider to sort them out, with as little stress for the guest as possible. I am sorry that you had such a frustrating arrival here with us, there really is no excuse for bad service!

I would like to reassure you that we have a whole new team working here, who all know how important being polite and helpful are, whatever the situation.

Cat Ritchie, General Manager, Nomads Capital
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wellington hotels

Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012

This is a very good hostel if you're staying as a couple or group.

I stayed with a girl-friend in a private room with ensuite. The room first appears to be Spacious but when you unload your bags the space dwindles quite quickly. Although the room was a 'Double' it also included a single bed. the ensuite was large but found the size of the shower was needlessly small due to the location of the shower curtain. The room was somewhat basic but clean and fitted with a flat screen TV. Not much more you could ask for.

The floor was quiet and had a hotel vibe. The door and elevator was operated by key card for that extra security.

The reception had ample computer terminals with wifi available that uses the 'Global Gossip' system, so the speed and price is good and always a bonus if you have a global gossip account.

A bar is adjacent to the hostel offering the usual food and drink affair. Prices are average but servings are generous. If you feel like 'staying in' for a meal the kitchen looked to be fully equipped but fridge space was very scarce. The hostel also offers a free dinner which is quite generous I thought, unfortunately I did not take advantage of the offer.

The location is great with Cuba street just around the corner; a strip of cafes, diners, restaurants, bars, vintage and record stores.

This is where I come back to my first gripe; This is a very good hostel if you're staying as a couple or group but the atmosphere was somewhat lacking. The awkward place of the common room (out of the way of any real thoroughfare) and the very underutilized and uninviting courtyard made it seem like it it would be harder to meet people if you are a solo traveler.

This was a good hostel and would be perfect you're not too keen on the party scene hostels around the place, clean and modern, but somewhat lifeless for a hostel and more hotel like than anything. Some see that as a plus, I'm a very social person so it wasn't to my taste but at the end of the day you couldn't fault this hostel.

I was happy with my stay and would recommend this hostel to friends and family.

Room Tip: Room labeled as a 'Double' had an additional single bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anaru R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Hi There,

Thank you so much for taking the time to rate Nomads Capital.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us, although I am sorry that you didn't manage to take advantage to that changes that have been made or are being made in the coming months...

We now have a full time activities manager, who makes sure all guests have an opportunity to mix, play games and enjoy themselves, if they should so wish...
There has been an additional common room added upstairs in the hostel, with Sky TV, X box facilities, and a DVD player. Downstairs is being used more as a quiet room now.
In the coming months... (ready for summer), we are re inventing our courtyard area so that it will be a nice place to take advantage of in the sun! Decking, BBQ's and a cheeky beer $5 from the bar next door... not a bad way to spend the afternoon!

I hope that you will come back to visit one day to see these changes :)

Cat Ritchie, General Manager, Nomads Captial
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chandigarh
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2012

Just hopped on a plane from auckland to wellington and was pointed towards wakesfield street for rented stay found this amazing place called nomads, loved the person behind the desk they way she handled my query and put me in a nice dorm, cost effective, good facilities and the best thing they had a bar down in basement -- loved it :)
Would love to stay again when i visit.

Room Tip: 6 bed sharing room have a en-suite my personal preference
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robincingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Hi There,

Thank you so much for taking the time to rate Nomads Capital.

I am so glad you were taken care by the reception team, and you had a good time on your weekend away in Windy Welli :)

Cat Ritchie, General Manager, Nomads Capital
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2012

Very generic. Large dorms, tall squeeky bunk beds. Noise from the bar below. But.... good wifi connection in rooms, although you did have to pay and centrally located.

Room Tip: Higher up the building the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bxrry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Hi There,

Thank you for taking the time to rate Nomads Capital.

We have a range of dorm style rooms that have from 5 bunk beds (10 bed dorm), to only 2 (4bed), so there is a mixture to suite everyones budget and preference for large or small rooms.

I am sorry that the noise from Blend bar disturbed your sleep. I hope that you spoke to one of my reception team about it, as they will always try to move guests to the other side of the hostel if there is space.

I hope you enjoyed your time in Wellington,

Cat Ritchie, General Manager, Nomads Capital
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
184 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2012

This hostel was decent. I stayed in a 4 bed dorm which was en suite.

The room was spotless as was the bathroom. There were drinks and meal specials in the bar next door which weren't great.

The kitchen was a bit cramped for the size of the hostel and Internet wasn't free.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rovingrebel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Hi There,

Thank you so much for taking the time to rate Nomads Capital.

I am sorry to hear that you didn't think the deals we have in Blend bar were that good.

Everyone who stays in the hostel gets a free snack size meal each night they stay, which might be pasta bake, stir fry, nachos, pizza or a salad to name a few, and they can all be upgraded to a full size portion for only $2.
House wines and Beers are only $5, and using your room key, to show you are an in house guest, you get 20% of the main menu (steak chips and salad for $16, not too bad?!)

We are also now doing 2 4 1 main meals on a Monday, and other specials during the week.

I do hope that you enjoyed your time in Wellington,

Cat Ritchie, General Manager, Nomads Capital
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2012

This hostel was clean, safe, clean sheets, towels. Nice roomy bathroom/shower. Laundry facilities were fine, but busy. Didn't use the kitchen but seemed ok. Breakfast was a bit disappointing, no cutlery, seemed disorganised, ran out of bread, then milk, etc.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mumble41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.2 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
0.3 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#8 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Amora Hotel Wellington
Amora Hotel Wellington
#6 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,178 reviews
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.0 mi away
West Plaza Hotel
West Plaza Hotel
#19 of 46 in Wellington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington

Property: Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington
Address: 118-120 Wakefield Street | PO Box 11-247, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nomads Capital is a 5 star flashpacker hostel right in the heart of Wellington. Five minutes walk from the vibrant Cuba Street, bustling Courtenay Place, beautiful waterfront and award winning Te Papa Museum. With a range of rooms to suit every traveller and budget, and our own on-site bar and Travel Desk, we can take care of your every need while you are in town. This really is the perfect place to stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing