We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location in cbd”
Review of Quest on Johnston

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quest on Johnston
Ranked #34 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Mildura, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great location in cbd”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

My husband and I had an overnight stay at Quest on Johnstone. We came to Wellington by train and found it was an easy walk to this hotel, even pulling luggage and in steady rain. The receptionist was extremely helpful and booked us a taxi for early next morning. The accommodation was of unusual design as it was long and skinny but it was very comfortable, clean and totally satisfactory to our needs. We went out for dinner and found a nice Malaysian restaurant called Long Bar, not too far away. Wish we could have stayed longer in Wellington.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    72
    37
    13
    9
See reviews for
27
55
13
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Cannot fault the location, very central and the rooms were clean and tidy but on the small side as is the bathroom.

The staff member who checked us in was very helpful and went the extra mile finding us champagne glasses which was much appreciated.

Not sure we would stay again if we had other options but a good clean spot with a great location.

Room Tip: Studio is very small
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donnafurst18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We stayed 3 nights in a compact, clean but charmless room, sixth floor front. Had to duck under the television to open the window a crack. Small bathroom with little room for toiletries. Functional kitchenette. One sachet of ground plunger coffee supplied per day. Fridge not cold, melted ice in freezer section. Not good value, not first choice, but accommodation in Wellington at a premium.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeriousFrolic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We stayed 3 nights in a studio apartment and found it compact, but comfortable and clean. The room was very quiet, no noise from other guests at all, and this was during rugby 7s weekend.
Bathroom was small with little room to put toiletries out, took some juggling.
Coffee was terrible, I drank hot chocolate instead (supplied)
The only issue was discovering we had no toaster when this is a self catering apartment!
When I rang reception to ask where the toaster was I was told they have been removed due to guests burning their toast and setting off alarm. I was offered a toaster if I agreed to pay fine if alarm goes off. I accepted toaster and had no problems.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachcomergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Great location in central Wellington easy walking distance to most attractions and restuarants. The rooms are a bit small and we found them a little stuffy. The staff we very good and helpful. Try the coffee shop next door does great coffee!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine1709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hector, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Good value, all we needed was a place to sleep, friendly staff, Didn't find it to noisy with the windows shut. Instant coffee was terrible! Bed was a bit hard. Close to everything. Gave us a couple of small bottles of wine when they learnt it was our honeymoon.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marie231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

This review is not because we stayed there but because of the Earthquake in Wellington at the time we chose not to check in. My booking was non refundable etc,etc, however Neesha the manager was very helpful & obliging in refunding the money already had paid for the room when booking. I know there is legislation that covers this type of scenario however there was no need to "go there" as this was handled well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KevinXuBarclay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.1 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,129 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#15 of 46 in Wellington
2,599 reviews
0.8 mi away
Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Park Hotel Lambton Quay
Park Hotel Lambton Quay
#19 of 46 in Wellington
129 reviews
0.2 mi away
CityLife Wellington
CityLife Wellington
#8 of 46 in Wellington
844 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mercure Wellington Central City Hotel and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest on Johnston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest on Johnston

Property: Quest on Johnston
Address: 35 Johnston Street | PO Box 10 461, Wellington 6001, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Quest on Johnston 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Quest on Johnston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest On Johnston Hotel Wellington
Quest On Johnston Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing