We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Compact and clean but charmless”
Review of Quest on Johnston

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quest on Johnston
Ranked #35 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We stayed 3 nights in a compact, clean but charmless room, sixth floor front. Had to duck under the television to open the window a crack. Small bathroom with little room for toiletries. Functional kitchenette. One sachet of ground plunger coffee supplied per day. Fridge not cold, melted ice in freezer section. Not good value, not first choice, but accommodation in Wellington at a premium.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SeriousFrolic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (162)
There are newer reviews for Quest on Johnston
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 162 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2014

We stayed 3 nights in a studio apartment and found it compact, but comfortable and clean. The room was very quiet, no noise from other guests at all, and this was during rugby 7s weekend.
Bathroom was small with little room to put toiletries out, took some juggling.
Coffee was terrible, I drank hot chocolate instead (supplied)
The only issue was discovering we had no toaster when this is a self catering apartment!
When I rang reception to ask where the toaster was I was told they have been removed due to guests burning their toast and setting off alarm. I was offered a toaster if I agreed to pay fine if alarm goes off. I accepted toaster and had no problems.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beachcomergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Great location in central Wellington easy walking distance to most attractions and restuarants. The rooms are a bit small and we found them a little stuffy. The staff we very good and helpful. Try the coffee shop next door does great coffee!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine1709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Good value, all we needed was a place to sleep, friendly staff, Didn't find it to noisy with the windows shut. Instant coffee was terrible! Bed was a bit hard. Close to everything. Gave us a couple of small bottles of wine when they learnt it was our honeymoon.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marie231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

This review is not because we stayed there but because of the Earthquake in Wellington at the time we chose not to check in. My booking was non refundable etc,etc, however Neesha the manager was very helpful & obliging in refunding the money already had paid for the room when booking. I know there is legislation that covers this type of scenario however there was no need to "go there" as this was handled well.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank KevinXuBarclay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Narrow rooms, however there is enough space (7A) to do everything I needed to do. Good facilities available, including Gym. Close to everything! Overlooking Johhnston Street, so not a great view. I would happily stay in this establishment again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thelaw14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Close to City, Rooms are a lttle dated biy clean and tidy. Staff 100% Unfortunately the Hotel is situated opposite a festering source of Noise - the Wilson Car parking building. Fire alrmas, Kanga Hammers and constriction ongoing. Before booking ask if construction is finished at present it is very unpleasant with the invasive noise. You can do better in Wellington at present or ask for a room AWAY from Johnston Street and the noisy neighbours.

Room Tip: Get away from Johnston street
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.1 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,174 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Hotel Lambton Quay
Park Hotel Lambton Quay
#20 of 46 in Wellington
136 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
1,887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
CityLife Wellington
CityLife Wellington
#8 of 46 in Wellington
859 reviews
0.9 mi away
Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#15 of 46 in Wellington
2,712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest on Johnston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest on Johnston

Address: 35 Johnston Street | PO Box 10 461, Wellington 6001, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
Price Range: $86 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Quest on Johnston 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Quest on Johnston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest On Johnston Hotel Wellington
Quest On Johnston Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing