We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Quest on Johnston

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quest on Johnston
Ranked #37 of 47 Hotels in Wellington
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in February. Friendly staff, clean room with great facilities. Walked to most places within the city as it's a very central location.Car parking is a difficulty in Wellington as street parking is very restricted, but the staff may be able to sort out a space for you if you contact them in advance.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angel-la-la-la
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (169)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 169 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed in this place and we came back[for 5 nights] basically because of the very convenient location[whether or not you have a car] with train station and particularly bus stops,where you can go virtually anywhere very close at hand and also its cleanliness Rooms are cleaned daily, which is not the case in many places.

If you have a car ,as we did for 3 days , you can park free on the road immediately outside the Quest from 6pm through to 8am but make sure you put money in the meter no later than 8am otherwise the ever vigilant parking wardens will make your day!!

The one room with king sized bed was perfect for two people,good storage,quite adequate cooking facilities although the one downside would be the noise in the night from rubbish collectors and road cleaners together with some general street noise. Try and request a room non road facing-we needed ear plugs on two nights.

Despite the noise we wouldnt hesitate to stay here when next in Wellington as value for money its definitely hard to beat.

Room Tip: try to book a room away from the side facing johnstone St
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwiflyer65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We started our New Zealand holiday in Wellington and chose to stay at Quest on Johnston as it was recommended by friends with children too. A great central location with everything within walking distance, including the cable car up to the botanical gardens.

Our room was perfect for a family, with one room having two single beds and another with a queen bed. The apartments were clean and tidy, a little old and tired, but otherwise fine. The staff were friendly and helpful and I was even able to pick up the city's free public wifi if I stood near my window ;-) The apartment were serviced daily too .

If we ever visit from Perth again with our kids, we will definitely stay at Quest on Johnston again!!!

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank DaynaHoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

We chose this hotel because of its central location and weren't disappointed. We booked two rooms, both of which faced the street, but noise was not a problem despite there being a busy bar/restaurant next door (where food and cocktails were great value). The hotel is in easy walking distance of most of the city attractions. The staff were helpful and the rooms clean and comfortable, and it was exactly the type of hotel we had hoped it would be.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Grumpster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Stayed 3 nights at this apartment Hotel. We had a Studio room which, although small, had everything we needed including cooking facilities, washing machine etc. Probably the only minor complaint would be no air conditioning. As it was November, it wasn't really a problem but could be in Dec/Jan. Location is excellent, just a 5 min walk to bars, restaurants at Queens Wharf and some within 1 min walk! Would seriously consider staying here again.

Room Tip: Get a room up the top to avoid any street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frits L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Studio apartment was clean and contained well equipped kitchenette for extended stays (pots, electric frying pan, pan, hob, micro, iron, hi-fi, washer / dryer with laundry powder, coffee plunger, cooking utensils, etc). Centrally situated in the centre of town between the stadium and Te Papa, had a street facing room but because the hotel is away from the main drag the city street noise was not an issue. Windows open about 3 inches to allow some fresh air in. Apartment was the size of a normal hotel room with normal Freeview channels and 3 Sky channels.

Very limited hotel amenities are available (no room service, small gym), reception staff were friendly and housekeeping was good.

New World Metro is located 10 min’s up Willis Street for good selection of grocery supplies (70 Willis Street) or at the railway station, free wireless is available in Wellingtons CBD but does not extend to this hotel (see cbdfree.co.nz for coverage). Not much open in the immediate vicinity of the hotel after hours, except for the restaurants on the street.

Nearest parking is across the road at parking garage (not free). Within walking distance to the rail station, also the Airport Flyer Bus passes within 100m (nearest stop is No 5506, on Lambton Quay at Kirkcaldie & Stains).

Good value, no complaints, I will look to stay here again on the next visit.

Stayed: November 2012
1  Thank flyingdutchdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Excellent location! Located near the waterfront which you be able to get to places like Frank Kitts Park, Cuba Mall (Street) and Te Papa Tongarewa (Museum). Just below you have Petit Bordeaux a great place for breakfast and across the street Leuven which is a great place to have mussels.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.6 mi away
Mercure Wellington Central City Hotel and Apartments
0.9 mi away
Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel
0.1 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 47 in Wellington
2,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
CityLife Wellington
CityLife Wellington
#9 of 47 in Wellington
881 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 47 in Wellington
1,926 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Hotel Lambton Quay
Park Hotel Lambton Quay
#18 of 47 in Wellington
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest on Johnston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest on Johnston

Address: 35 Johnston Street | PO Box 10 461, Wellington 6001, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
Price Range: $92 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Quest on Johnston 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Quest on Johnston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest On Johnston Hotel Wellington
Quest On Johnston Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing