We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It could have been cleaner...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Base Wellington Backpackers
Helsingborg
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“It could have been cleaner...”
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

The rooms were quite small, but it worked. It was worse with the cleaning-part. We could see lists in the bathrooms saying that it had not been cleaned for almost a week. That is a long time if you think about all the people staying there and using the facilities.
The kitchen was also dirty and messy.
During our second visit in Wellington we stayed at the Nomads. It was much nicer and they even provide a free meal every evening,

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TwoFromSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timo H, General Manager at Base Wellington Backpackers, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review for us. We do really appreciate all the feedback we receive, be assured we are taking your feedback serious and do our upmost to improve the services provided.

Thanks for staying with us,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    79
    78
    54
    65
See reviews for
5
61
119
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

Like just about any base hostel, this is the most basic of basic, though you'll still pay as much as other much nicer hostels.The rooms were ridiculously stuffy because all the windows were sealed shut. Lockers under the beds were handy, but the dirty toilets and bed bugs mean we wouldn't ever go back.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank JBRedCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timo H, Manager at Base Wellington Backpackers, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review for us. We do really appreciate all the feedback we receive, be assured we are taking your feedback serious and do our upmost to improve the services provided. We are running a pest control scheme which also includes approved anti bed bug mattresses We would appreciate to have this reported immediately as someone or yourself may have brought the bed bugs into our hostel although through the pest control we have in place Bed bugs are not able to breed or survive in our rooms.

Thanks again for staying with us,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wellington hotels

Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

The lobby appeared decent, and the kitchen was bigger than most other base locations; thay being said the room and bathroom itself were deplorable. You were lucky if you had fresh sheets and comforter. Blood looking stains allover the carpet, and the bathroom not cleaned. There were marks stating it was serviced, but how can you "service" a bathroom and not put more soap or toilet paper? Soaking wet floors with hair clumps everywhere. You may be able to get a cheap room, but is it worth it?

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Briana N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timo H, General Manager at Base Wellington Backpackers, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear Briana,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review for us. We do really appreciate all the feedback we receive. I hope even though you had a bad experience staying with us you enjoyed the Homegrown weekend in Wellington, be assured we are taking your feedback serious and we will make sure to improve the services offered for next years event.

Thanks again for staying with us,

Regards,

Timo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here at the start of October and found it to be a little rough around the edges to say the least. And then at the start of November on our trip north we found ourselves having to stay here due to many other hostels being booked up. It's fair to say that it was just as bad as our first visit if not worse. The room was unbelievably cramped! ( which I guess is to be expected in a city hostel but this one was just ridiculous!). I could get over the space thing but our stay was made worse by the fact that the bedroom window frame was not even fully attached to the wall meaning the room was windy, cold and as a result our beds and bags got drenched with the rain that was pouring in.

Try to avoid this hostel even if you are traveling on the kiwi bus, the drivers will drop you off at other hostels if you ask.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Philippa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timo H, General Manager at Base Wellington Backpackers, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Phillipa,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review for us. We do really appreciate all the feedback we receive. We will work through your comments and action some improvements to our facility. Thanks again, Timo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this base for about 1 week during December 2013. I was put in a mixed 6 bed dorm corner room located on the 6th floor. The cost was approximately $24 NZD. The nice thing about this room was the massively tall windows on two adjacent corner walls overlooking Lambton Harbour and Oriental Bay. It was quite pleasant staying inside this room since there was plenty of natural light. There were very nice day and night views from here. I met a local Kiwi and travelers from Germany and Finland. Laundry and kitchen were on floor 1 and were always clean and tidy. This was the cleanest base I have ever been to. Again, one week unlimited internet use was at a cost of $12 NZD. There were separate men's and women's bathroom in the hallway with nice showers with glass doors. The are plenty of bars and restaurants on Courtenay Place to keep you satisfied. I watched the Hobbit 2 at the Reading cinemas located on Courtenay Place during opening weekend to get ready for the south island adventure. I thought Chicago was the windiest city until I came to Wellington. The windows rattled quite a bit due to the tremendous gusts of wind which seemed to be at least 20 hours of the day. If you're a windsurfer and/or like to quickly dry clothes by clothesline, your gonna love this place. While here you should check out the Wellington Cable car, Te Papa museum at the waterfront, and a hike up to Mount Victoria (or Mount Vic as the locals refer to it) for a great city/sky sunset view. If you are headed to the south island, there are two ferry companies running at this time: Interisland and Bluebridge. Apparently one of these boats lost it's propeller so booking a ferry was quite hard to do due to one ship down. I finally found an opening on the Interisland and it was a pleasant sail to Picton. I had a great time here and I would stay again. "Sweeeeeet aaaaaaas"

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank aislesacross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Nice staff- tom and dan. Great location.good sky movies.
But the cleanliness is debatable- especially in the kitchen and toilets/bathrooms (in fact the bath rooms were very dirty). Not all the stove tops in the kitchen worked either. Our room window didn't open.
Overall I feel a bit dirty... Compared to Taupo it's very tired and run down.
Could do with better couch/lounge area
Don't think I will stay again sorry.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rfw27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

If you are driving this may not be the place.... there is no where to even stop in front of the hotel. We stopped in bus lane/red zone to drop bags off then found some expensive parking in the next block over.

We were put on the 8th floor... and their very old/doesn't sound like they've been maintained in decades (really not kidding - they creak and shake) elevators only go to the 7th floor, so we had to drag our suitcases up two narrow flights of stairs. Front desk staff rude, if you try to ask a question, they act like you are bothering them. Mattresses need replacing... sunk down to the box springs when we sat down. You can walk to the harbor front/CBD but it's quite a distance. Wanted $5 for breakfast which was just yogurt and toast. Expensive for what you get.

Room Tip: Don't stay on 8th floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.0 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
669 reviews
0.3 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.2 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#5 of 46 in Wellington
1,603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
747 reviews
0.1 mi away
YHA Wellington
YHA Wellington
#2 of 53 in Wellington
580 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Setup on Dixon
The Setup on Dixon
#10 of 53 in Wellington
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Base Wellington Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Base Wellington Backpackers

Property: Base Wellington Backpackers
Address: 21-23 Cambridge Terrace, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Base Wellington Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 285
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Base Wellington Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Base Wellington Backpackers Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing