We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid at all costs!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Base Wellington Backpackers
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Terrible hostel, genuinely the worst place I've stayed in a year of backpacking New Zealand.

Myself and my boyfriend paid for a 6 bed dorm and upon getting to our room 5 of the 6 beds were already occupied and there was vomit on the floor!

Changed rooms only to find that everyone else we were with had been charged less for the same size dorm, so asked the rather sullen receptionist for the difference which we begrudgingly got back.

Get back to our new dorm to find our key cards don't work anymore because the receptionist had deactivated then whilst checking someone else in!

The beds are terrible but no worse than some other hostels I've been in except for the highly suspicious white stains on 4 of the 6 duvets in the room.

Only one out of three lights in the male toilets actually works.

Kitchen is terrible and too small for the size of the hostel, cleanliness just doesn't seem to be a priority.

Would recommend anyone to stay away from base hostels, the only decent one to stay in is Queenstown but even then that's only if you're travelling with Stray as you have a dedicated floor.

Stay Away!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KimWil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (365)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

240 - 246 of 365 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2013

Shocked by the other reviews on this site, because I had such an awesome time at this hostel! Made some really great friends! Danced the night away in their bar. This is a pure backpackers, the reception staff are really chilled out and cool! Yeah I dont know what more to say as everything in my opinion was great! Definatly competitive in prices with other hostels!
Look forward to staying there again :)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank No_l_v188590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I arrived in Wellington late at night. I was supposed to stay in a dorm room, but the staff of the hostel was so kind and friendly to upgrade me in a better room with a great view on Wellington harbour. The staff provided me with useful indications about things to see and do in Wellington. There is a travel agency desk that organizes daily tours to the Lord of the Rings locations. Breakfast can be purchased in advance at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LNC74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Booked this place (6 bed room) before reading the reviews below. Pretty apprehensive before arriving. I rang to book a carpark and was told of $15 fee. Didn't charge me so that was a win. Rooms were tidy and clean. Showers were exceptional. Great pressure and heat. Played a couple of games of pool down in the basement bar. All up a pretty good stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dazshells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

I've been looking forward to writing this review!!

This is without a doubt the worst place I stayed in during my four months of travelling.

Why?
- The staff are unforgivably slow at doing everything
- The hostel is spread over seven floors, with only one working lift (the other was busted), oh, and the light was broken in the lift! Hope you're not afraid of the dark.
- Oh yeah, and with seven floors of people, they have one small kitchen with half the stuff broken and unusuable.
- The lights in the toilets are very dark, you can barely see your own face to brush your teeth
- Broken fittings in the showers, bathrooms, rooms, everywhere. General state of disrepair.
- Useless placement of power sockets in the rooms, hidden behind the lockers.
- And after all this, they have the arrogance to charge NZ$7 for breakfast, which includes such culinary delights as dry toast and stale coffee. Walk two minutes down the street and you can get twice the food for half the money.

This place doesn't deserve to do business. Every single customer should go somewhere else. The YHA is just down the road, and there are plenty of other places in Wellington to stay. Don't subject yourself to it.

Room Tip: Down the road at the YHA!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miles D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

I stayed in the hostel in the off season and the kitchen was still filthy. I chose to eat out both nights I was in Wellington because I didn't even want to make a sandwich in such a dirty kitchen. I stayed on the ladies only floor and the shower/toilet room was far from clean. The bar in the basement had good drink specials, but was really dumpy. I would never stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brookus22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Stayed here on my first night in Wellington. Staff were so slow when checking-in, was painful! Had a 6 bed dorm, small, and bunks very old. I know they say that it's a windy city, but fix the windows - constant whistles, and quite cold. Bathrooms were rubbish - 2 toilets and 2 showers for a whole floor, and the shower lights didn't work in one, so it was unusable - I did report this, but who knows if it was fixed! The whole hostel had a prison feel to it - just old and yuck. Kitchen tiny and fridges disgusting! The basement bar was alright, much too loud though. The YHA up the road so much better!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah14387
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.0 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#15 of 46 in Wellington
682 reviews
0.2 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#5 of 46 in Wellington
1,665 reviews
0.3 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
YHA Wellington
YHA Wellington
#4 of 53 in Wellington
597 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nomads Capital Hostel Wellington
0.6 mi away
Trek Global
Trek Global
#10 of 53 in Wellington
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Base Wellington Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Base Wellington Backpackers

Address: 21-23 Cambridge Terrace, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Wellington
Price Range: $20 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Base Wellington Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 285
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Base Wellington Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Base Wellington Backpackers Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing