We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just one night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel
Ranked #26 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Just one night”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

I found a good deal for this hotel and took it. Arriving very late in the evening in Wellington needed a bed for a night. When one walks into the lobby it looks good. However our room was towards the back of the hotel over looking a car park. Shock horror no airconditioning luckily a window to open. Only one lift was working. The television was old and reception was really bad. I wouldn't recommend for more than one night. Position is good close to Cuba Mall nice eateries and shops.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelfurtherafield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    168
    151
    48
    29
See reviews for
72
157
48
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
473 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Travel company booked this accomodation for us 4 months ago - should have been a twin room for 2 nights. Frustrating before we even checked in - car parking is a joke, spaces are tiny with lift broken to add to the stress. When checking in, the receptionist said he had only a double room for us - we looked at it and it was the smallest double i've ever seen! We decided there and then to forgo the following night (we'd already paid for it) and got an upgrade to a bigger room. All looked promising - room was nicely presented BUT the window had only single glazing and the traffic was noisy all through the night with the garbage truck collecting rubbish + bottles at 6am (don't they make a din!). Happy to check out and we won't return here.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jinny232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbelTasman169, Manager at Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is very unfortunate that you had a forgettable stay here in the coolest capital of the world. I Do apologize for the issues that you had.

We do appreciate your feedback and we can assure you that we will be looking into these to sort them out. The noise issues on the street is being looked at with sincere intentions for it to be fixed. Being the best 3.5 star hotel here in Wellington, we do strive to ensure that all aspects of the guests stay are flawless every time.

However, our sincere expression of regret that your stay was not memorable, as we do endeavour to ensure all of our guests are looked after and experience the fantastic service this hotel gives to all of its patrons.

Regards,
Asif Chowdhry
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

We booked via Expedia.com so had no contact with the hotel prior to arriving. At check in the receptionist told the customer before us that they didn't put him around the back as it was noisy due to construction. Well that's where our room was! No sleep ins possible due to saws, hammers and builders yelling to each other.
We stayed for two nights and room service had not been during the day to service room, instead they arrived at 4.50pm when we were getting ready to go out for evening. This was unacceptable.

Pluses
Good location
Clean and good linen
Bed large and comfy

Minuses
Aging interior
Room service slack
Maintenance required ( no soap holder in shower, toilet seat would not stay up, cupboard had no shelves in kitchenette) average tv reception, no heater in bathroom

Our room was not nice like the one photographed on website.

Don't think I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbelTasman169, Manager at Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Steve,

It is very unfortunate that you had a forgettable stay here in the coolest capital of the world. I Do apologize for the issues that you had.

We do appreciate your feedback and we can assure you that we will be looking into these to sort them out. It is our priority to assure that all pictures on our websites represent different room types which we have and have descriptions clearly explaining them. Also, the noise issue on the street is being looked at with sincere intentions for it to be fixed . Being the best 3.5 star hotel here in Wellington, we do strive to ensure that all aspects of the guests stay are flawless every time.

However, our sincere expression of regret that your stay was not memorable, as we do endeavour to ensure all of our guests are looked after and experience the fantastic service this hotel gives to all of its patrons.

Regards,
Asif Chowdhry
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Old, broken down, uncomfortable, noisy, overpriced, hard to park to check in, limited parking. They never asked how was my room when I checked out--I expect that they knew. I've stayed in Wellington a lot and this was clearly the worst I've been in--they worst I've stayed at for years

Room Tip: make sure it's on on Dixon street side
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aldo m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbelTasman169, Manager at Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is very unfortunate that you had a forgettable stay here in the coolest capital of the world. I Do apologize for the issues that you had.

We do appreciate your feedback and we can assure you that we will be looking into these to sort them out. However it is also advised that guests do tell us if they are having any issues so that they can be rectified. We are the best 3.5 star hotel in Wellington, and our service range is representative of that even though we do strive to meet 5 star standards for most of our services.

However, our sincere expression of regret that your stay was not memorable, as we do endeavour to ensure all of our guests are looked after and experience the fantastic service this hotel gives to all of its patrons.

Regards,
Asif Chowdhry
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wellington hotels

Melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

I have to point out the staff here are fantastic. They were very helpful at getting me around Wellington while staying on a business trip. They even offerred to let me go back to my room after checkout when I discovered the Airport would not be open for another hour.
Everything is pretty close by, in a nice area.
The room is what you would expect from most hotel rooms: Comfortable, clean and a good night sleep.
Wifi was solid, which is a rare thing for hotels. Even though I hate paying extra for internet, their plans were reasonable, and free if you were eating in the restaurant.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank humanagent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbelTasman169, Manager at Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is so good to see that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and our services. Being the best 3.5 star hotel here in Wellington we do strive for guests having a memorable stay at the hotel every time.

Wish that you have a wonderful day.


Regards,
Asif Chowdhry
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada, Colorado
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

This place is an old--dumpy hotel. Parking is a nightmare and spaces so small it should be for bicycles! elevator was out so we had to lug our suitcases through the below ground parking -up a steep grade to the street then around the corner to lobby. everybody checking in was angry after this fiasco. Mgr said he'd take parking off our bill ha ha it was pre paid. no air conditioning..street noise kept us up most of the night. wallpaper was peeling...couldn't wait to get out of this place. the only good thing i can say is front desk staff was very nice..and it was a good location.. I would never stay here again..or recommend this hotel to anyone. Certainly cant judge Wellington by this place. Thank Goodness we were there only one night. Old Dumpy Hotel.....

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gypsy-by-trade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbelTasman169, Manager at Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is very unfortunate that you had a forgettable stay here in the coolest capitol of the world. We are aware of the lifts maintenance issue and are doing everything possible to ensure that this is sorted ASAP.

We do appreciate your feedback about our amazing staff and that will be passed onto them. Being the best 3.5 star hotel here in Wellington, we do clearly state in all of our information sourced to guests the facilities which are available at the hotel. I do apologize if certain facilities which we don’t have at the hotel may have affected the overall quality of your stay.

However, our sincere expression of regret that your stay was not memorable, as we do strive to ensure all of our guests are looked after and experience the fantastic service this hotel gives to all of its patrons.

Regards,
Asif Chowdhry
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at the Abel for 1 week and it was great! Very comfortable rooms, close to everything and very welcoming staff! I especially loved the restaurant and gaming room on the main floor , the staff were very nice and made us feel very welcome! I would definitely come back to stay when I'm back in Welly's!! Thanks again guys for all your Hospitality!!

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank T M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbelTasman169, Manager at Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is so good to see that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and our services. Being the best 3.5 star hotel here in Wellington we do strive for guests having a memorable stay at the hotel every time.
Wish that you have a wonderful day.


Regards,
Asif Chowdhry
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Mercure Wellington Central City Apartments
0.5 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,069 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#14 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
West Plaza Hotel
West Plaza Hotel
#19 of 46 in Wellington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.0 mi away
Trinity Hotel
Trinity Hotel
#28 of 46 in Wellington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel

Property: Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel
Address: 169 Willis Street, Wellington 6001, New Zealand (Formerly Abel Tasman Hotel Accommodation Wellington)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman is perfectly positioned in the heart of Wellingtons, cultural, business and entertainment districts. 73 spacious guest rooms. Newly refurbished conference facilities are on site and offer a balance between style and practicability. All with natural light. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abel Tasman Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing