We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel
Ranked #24 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

I stayed here for 1 night last month. It was just after the Hobbitt premiere so there was a shortage of reasonably priced hotel rooms & this seemed okay for location & price. I wasn't expecting much as I remember when it was a bit of a dive, more like a backpackers, but what a surprise when I got there. The receptionist was very pleasant & helpful, check in only took a few minutes. My room was a good size with a king & single bed in it, despite there only being me in there. It was clean with tea & coffee provided, large TV & enough towels.
When I checked out, the receptionist organised a shuttle to the airport for later in the day when I left, he offered to help with the cases.
A very good experience for the price & I shall use the hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKKiwiHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbelTasman169, Manager at Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback. It’s good to see that you enjoyed your time in Wellington and the Hobbit premiere.

We do take pride in our customer service and the quality of our product. It’s great to see that we have managed and exceeded in making your stay enjoyable and convenient.

We thank you for your valuable suggestions.

Kind Regards,
Asif Chowdhry
Rooms Divison Manager
Abel Tasman Hotel - Prime Hotels
email: hotelmgr@primehotels.co.nz
Tel: 04 8023152
Mobile : 021 929 124
DDI: 04 802 3152
Fax: 04 385 8416
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    172
    153
    48
    29
See reviews for
72
160
49
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

My room stunk of cigarette smoke, when having a shower I could smell smoke from other rooms coming out of the air conditioning.
All my clothes stunk after my stay, unacceptable!
Staff were friendly enough however.
Beer etc Cheap enough at the bar.
Rooms very small and run down, out of date.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onefumf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wellington hotels

Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
92 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stayed here on a business trip and it suited my needs. It wasn't the Hilton, but it was all I needed. The rooms are clean, the staff are nice and the breakfast is great. Can't ask for more really! Plenty of restaurants close by if you don't want to eat at the hotel, but the food there is pretty good.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Punkysmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbelTasman169, Manager at Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your valuable feedback on TripAdvisor.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcome you back on your next trip to Wellington.

Kind Regards,
Asif Chowdhry
Rooms Divison Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Stayed at the property on 13th Oct. We were met with polite and helpful staff, signed in and given a park in the underground area. Wellington turned on a fierce gale and rain, but we were very comfortable with the basic but effective oil radiator provided. Room was clean and had normal facilities, tea making, flat screen TV, king bed, etc.
We found all staff helpful. The bed was very comfortable, the breakfast excellent and well presented, both cooked and continental. The room had a view over roof tops, and was a bit noisy even on the fifth floor. Traffic and people contributed to this. The hotel is very central, and close to all that is going on in the city's centre.
The car park is a bit of a chore to navigate, very close and narrow parks.
Overall we had a nice stay, and if you don't want a scenic outlook, but stay close to town. This place is fine.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Trixta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbelTasman169, Manager at Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Guest

Firstly, thank you for providing us with your valuable feedback following your stay at the Abel Tasman Hotel as it gives us an opportunity to continually review and improve our room standards and overall hotel procedures.

I am pleased that on the whole you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the coolest little capital in the world.



Kind Regards,

Asif Chowdhry

Rooms Divison Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

The reception staff were curt and rude. I booked this trip 6 weeks prior from Canada and had high expectations. Upon arrival I asked if we could have a quiet room with a view and the guy haughtily told me that we were in the centre of the city and there were no views! We needs a recetionist's refresher course. His attitude made me quite angry. I would have gone elsewhere despite our reservation but we had been driving all day to get to Wellington. Our room was pretty cheap looking,pretty disappointing. Overlooked street with vagrants yelling later on when drunk. Tried to use their 'guest laundry' facilities...located IN the freezing parkade. It was in such bad shape,I wonder if this space use to be their paint room. Tiny,paint splattered,dust bunnies ontop of the broken door rail...door missing big piece of glass. One drier broken but they failed to put a notice on it...so it ate my change. When I mentioned this to different reception staff,this time a woman she said I was 'welcome' to use the other machine...which I already was. I needed 2 driers for my 2 loads of soaking wet clothing!!!!anyway I would never stay at this place again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Foodyguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbelTasman169, Manager at Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Guest ,

Thanks for providing us with your valuable feedback on TripAdvisor.

I sincerely apologise for the inconvenience caused during your stay. Staff accordingly has been notified about the issues mentioned and actions are being taken to ensure this never happens to any future guest staying at the Abel Tasman Hotel.

We would have been more than happy to room move you had a request been made during your stay. Also, we would have been glad to sort out many of these issues for you had we been notified at the time of your stay as well.

I can assure you our quality and standards are far greater than all of 3 to 4 star hotels you will find in Wellington. It is however very upsetting that your particular stay did not manage to exceed expectations to what we had to offer. We do apologize for this.

I do wish that on your next visit to the Coolest little capital, you will come back to us and let us show you our hospitality.


Kind regards,

Asif Chowdhry
Rooms Divison Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Very comfortable. Room recently updated. Not noisy on the 4th floor. Everything very clean. The biggest problem was the staff could not make a decent recommendation for restaurants. We found out later that we were within blocks of lots of options but none were recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Willis are very sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ProfCarlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbelTasman169, Manager at Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Guest ,

Thanks for providing us with your valuable feedback on TripAdvisor.

I sincerely apologise for the inconvenience caused during your stay. The staff member has been notified about the issues mentioned and we will ensure this never happens to any future guest staying at the Abel Tasman Hotel. Also the staff member was new and in training. We will ensure that the feedback does get actioned.

I do wish that on your next visit to the Coolest little capital, you will come back to us and let us show you our hospitality.


Kind regards,

Asif Chowdhry
Rooms Divison Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 23, 2012

The reception is nice and the staff are professionally helpful, but the rooms are terrible. It's like staying in a cheap student dorm that hasn't had a refurb in 20 years.

The furniture is cheap, shoddy and doesn't match. The door still uses a key. Their full room rate is hilarious and the 'bargain' rate I got wasn't a great bargain.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Mercure Wellington Central City Apartments
0.5 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,095 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#14 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
West Plaza Hotel
West Plaza Hotel
#19 of 46 in Wellington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
0.0 mi away
Trinity Hotel
Trinity Hotel
#29 of 46 in Wellington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel

Property: Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel
Address: 169 Willis Street, Wellington 6001, New Zealand (Formerly Abel Tasman Hotel Accommodation Wellington)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman is perfectly positioned in the heart of Wellingtons, cultural, business and entertainment districts. 73 spacious guest rooms. Newly refurbished conference facilities are on site and offer a balance between style and practicability. All with natural light. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abel Tasman Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing