We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good mid range accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel
Ranked #26 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
214 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Good mid range accommodation”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2011

Generally good hotel but showing its age a bit. Efficient reception staff and friendly too. Rooms basic but comfortable.

Good value for the money

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveCardiff_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prime169, General Manager at Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2011
Thankyou for your feedback on your recent stay with us at the Abel Tasman Hotel. I am pleased that you found the staff friendly and that you thought we were "Good Value". We look forward to accommodating you when you are next in Wellington.

Best Regards

Jill Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    168
    151
    48
    29
See reviews for
72
157
48
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch ,New Zealand
Level Contributor
91 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2011

I had walked passed this hotel many times and never thought it would be quite my type of hotel. Due to hotels booked out for the rugby world cup, i was required to stay here. Overall it was a very bright light and airy hotel. Very pleasant staff.

Bed and bedding - All very clean and comfortable. Had a good sized king bed.
Bathroom - Shower with good pressure and nice clean towels.
The room- Had been modernised and nicely painted with lots of natural light. One downside which is so common with many hotels was that it had white curtains which meant at soon as the run rose the room was full of daylight through the curtains. A good number of power plugs with some handy by the bed to plug in iphones.

The hotel still operates with room keys, and the key wasn't part of a 'do not key' key security system. It just means someone could cut a key and keep it for later access to the room if they were so inclined.

One downside was the baggage storage. There was no bag storage room and guests bags were just kept behind the reception counter with no bag tag system for retrieving bags. I didn't feel very comfortable leaving my bags with no proof of receipt, and no system for returning bags to guests.

Other than that, the hotel served its purpose well.

Room Tip: If you want a sleep in, best to ask for a room on the west side of the hotel to avoid morning sun sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PlatinumNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prime169, Manager at Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2011
Thankyou very much for your feedback after your recent stay with us. I am pleased that you were pleasantly surprised, and that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Regarding the current key system we are looking at upgrading that system next year, as well as the luggage storage, so your comments are valued.
Hopefully we will see you back here again.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2011

We stayed in this hotel during the RWC 2011 and therefore had not had a huge amount of choice as to where to stay. This hotel is central so the location is definitely a plus. The staff were friendly enough but generally quite indifferent. The room itself was spacious and clean, although the interior of the hotel was getting quite tired and could do with being renovated. Overall it was ok, but I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prime169, Manager at Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2011
Hello, Thankyou for your feedback on your recent stay with us at the Abel Tasman Hotel. I am sorry that we never quite met the standards that you would have liked. I am pleased that the location worked for you.
thankyou & Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paso Robles, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2011

The hotel has seen better days, but it was perfectly fine for a one night visit for a RWC match. Centrally located, helpful staff. given that we were essentially looking for a place to crashnafter the match it was a good value.

Room Tip: Center city so higher floor is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dsbrown93446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prime169, Manager at Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2011
Thankyou for your feedback on your recent stay with us. Pleased you found the Abel Tasman OK for your stay in Wellington, and trust you enjoyed the festivities of the Rugby World Cup, and of course the end result.
Thanks & Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Bay, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2011

We enjoyed a nine night stay at the Abel Tasman during the Rugby World Cup, and from the moment of our arrival we felt welcome and relaxed. Our room was small but spotless, with a bed so comfortable that it made us sigh. The staff was friendly and eager to help with our every need. The restaurant is absolutely top notch--every dish we tried was terrific. Special kudos to the restaurant and housekeeping staff! All I can say is, coming back to the Abel Tasman after each jam-packed, exhausting day was really like coming home. Thanks to everyone there.

Room Tip: We were on the 7th floor and the street noise was not a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VictoriaSmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prime169, Manager at Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2011
Thankyou so much for your positive comments on your recent stay with us at the Abel Tasman Hotel. I will pass your feedback onto all the staff.
Hope to see you next time you are in Wellington.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2011

We only stayed one night at this hotel and given its cheap internet room rate it was okay value for money. Had I paid more I might have been disappointed. On the plus side the staff were friendly, the location was convenient, the room was clean and the basics were provided. Had I paid more I would have been disappointed to find no mini bar, peeling paint around the edges and funny little issues like the toilet seat not staying up.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SaraNz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prime169, Manager at Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2011
Good morning, and thankyou for your feedback on your recent stay with us. I have addressed the maintenance issues you experienced, and hopefully the positive experience you had with us will encourage you to try us again when you are next in Wellington.
Your feedback is much appreciated.

Kind Regards
Jill Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
111 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2011

Hotel restaurants don't always have good food, but the dinner I had here was one of the best dining experiences I have had. An unusual medley of ingredients was combined in the main dish to produce a wonderful meal, complemented by an excellent dessert. The Abel Tasman is centrally located, reasonably priced and has all the amenities a business traveller needs.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sparky81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prime169, General Manager at Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2011
Dear valued guest, Thankyou so much for your positive feedback from your recent stay with us.
We are pleased you enjoyed your meal. We have recently introduced a new chef and a new menu, and the combination seems to be working really well.
Hope to see you when next in Wellington,.

Kind Regards
Jill Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Mercure Wellington Central City Apartments
0.5 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,071 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#15 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
West Plaza Hotel
West Plaza Hotel
#19 of 46 in Wellington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
0.0 mi away
Trinity Hotel
Trinity Hotel
#28 of 46 in Wellington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel

Property: Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel
Address: 169 Willis Street, Wellington 6001, New Zealand (Formerly Abel Tasman Hotel Accommodation Wellington)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman is perfectly positioned in the heart of Wellingtons, cultural, business and entertainment districts. 73 spacious guest rooms. Newly refurbished conference facilities are on site and offer a balance between style and practicability. All with natural light. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abel Tasman Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing