We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy!”
Review of The Setup on Dixon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Setup on Dixon
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Noisy!”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Interesting hostel for short and long term stay located on the third floor of a building. Great price compared to other accommodation around. I booked a double ensuite room, the room was a great size with nice modern bathroom, fridge, kettle with tea and coffee making facilities, tv, table and chair. Staff were friendly. On the downside was the noise! The elevator was broken for the first couple of days so had to use the shabby stair case. When the elevator got going again it made a horrible high pitched noise, which was disturbing as my room was located near it! The rooms are not sound proof. Luckily I had quiet neighbours but I could hear them put in a plug, watch tv, snore, talk, and even brush their teeth. The noise from the street though was really awful. It started about 10pm and went on all night. It kept me awake for hours, then woke me up during the night several times. One night, music and banging was going on directly above me too. Because of the noise, I could not recommend or stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwi-takes-flight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thesetup, Guest Relations Manager at The Setup on Dixon, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I am disappointed that you did not find your stay enjoyable because of the noise. The elevators are now functioning well and we apologize for the inconvenience we have caused.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    195
    105
    55
    38
See reviews for
54
133
132
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birsfelden, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

Nice hostel with new facilities.
Pro
Nice middel sized rooms
Coffee and tea maker in the room
Good for laundry
Many new bathrooms available
Friendly stuff
Good location

Negative
Hard bed
Little sound isolation

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sabineoesterle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thesetup, Guest Relations Manager at The Setup on Dixon, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you for your review and favourable comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

The building in which this place is situated has been completely revamped over the last year so the rooms are brand new. I booked here at an amazing 50 NZD a night for a single room which shared bathroom, new TV, and free tea and coffee. Given that many hostels in the area will charge you nearly 40NZD for a 4 bed dorm room this place represents great value.

Dixon Street is effectively on the main road so you are close to all the action including Te Papa museum, bars and restaurants and 2 supermarkets within walking distance as well as a couple of cinemas. You are also close enough to the Mount Victoria lookout - which takes about an hour to walk up and Lambton Quay is also walkable for the cable car and botanical gardens access.

Very hard to fault this place for such a cheap rate.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 981Jason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thesetup, Guest Relations Manager at The Setup on Dixon, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thanks for so much for your review! We are delighted that you found our location to be so convenient and our price to be so reasonable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
266 reviews
206 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 320 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

I'm guessing this place is quite new as it doesn't appear on any review site so we took a leap of faith staying here but initial impressions were good as it was super clean. Location is good for bars, restaurants and the Te Papa museum though it is quite a long walk from the train station (which is also where the buses arrive, the Interislander Ferry shuttle bus goes from, and the Bluebridge terminal is next to). That said my impression of Wellington was that there was more going on away from the station anyway so I'm not sure you'd want to stay out there. Outside can get a little boisterous on a weekend as you are one block away from Courtenay Place which is really lively but not a lot of noise gets in the room.
We had a double room with ensuite and it was easily the cheapest we've found for this type of room anywhere in New Zealand so far. It also had a fridge and cable TV.
There is a launderette on site and reception will sell you powder, though if reception is open it will be a miracle as there is only someone there a few hours a day Mon to Fri. This was the only problem we had - our WiFi access stopped working on the second day but as it was a Saturday it meant we couldn't do anything about it. There are details of someone you can contact for an emergency but WiFi is an annoyance rather than emergency so we just left it but it was a hassle.
There is a kitchen on site but note - cooking utensils are not provided so unless you are a long term traveller who is carrying their own saucepans you won't be able to use it. There is a kettle in your room so you can always make noodles...!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Grant_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thesetup, Guest Relations Manager at The Setup on Dixon, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. Cleanliness is very important for people who is look for in accommodation so we are delighted that we achieved this. As to the service time of our reception, our manager is still working on that. Hopefully, we will have someone in the reception in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.3 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
672 reviews
0.2 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#5 of 46 in Wellington
1,620 reviews
0.2 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.3 mi away
YHA Wellington
YHA Wellington
#2 of 52 in Wellington
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Setup on Dixon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Setup on Dixon

Property: The Setup on Dixon
Address: Level 3 15 Dixon Street | Te Aro, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Setup on Dixon 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in central Wellington, The Setup Accommodation offers guests free Wi-Fi. It is less than 5 minutes' walk from a variety of restaurants, cafes and shops. All heated rooms include comfortable linen, an electric kettle and a private or shared bathroom. Some rooms have a radio, a refrigerator and a desk. Most have a flat-screen TV and lovely city views. The Setup Accommodation Wellington is a 5-minute walk from Te Papa Museum and a 5-minute drive from Massey University. Wellington International Airport is a 15-minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Setup on Dixon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing