We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice serviced apt”
Review of Aitken on Mulgrave

Aitken on Mulgrave
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aitken on Mulgrave
Ranked #40 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Stayed for one night between arriving on the Overlander from Auckland and taking the next morning's Interislander. Arrived on a Sunday and the reception is closed, so they leave you keys and instructions in a lockbox (they even send you a reminder for the procedure the day before). Once I actually saw the lockbox it was rather straightforward. Room is decent sized, with kitchen, all very clean and quiet. Didn't hear any other guests and no noise from the street, so very restful sleep. There is also a cafe and Subway right next door. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bebbi71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (37)
There are newer reviews for Aitken on Mulgrave
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 37 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2011

This is the third time I have stayed at the Aitken and every time has been a good stay. Well located - not far from the railway station and buses, a short walk to the Wellington shops (evening meals can be a little more challenging if you are on foot). The room was well equipped for a short stay with a kitchenette. OK, it wasn't a spacious room but it was big enough. Anyway, who plans to spend their holiday inside their room?

I had a room facing Aitken Street but there was little in the way of street noise to trouble me (The first time I stayed there about 5 years ago, I had a room on the other side looking out over vacant land that now has a big building on it - hence some of the recent bad reviews). Altogether, a great place to stay in Wellington for the price - my preferred choice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing Aitken or Mulgrave Street to avoid a "room without a view"
  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJS-from-Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2011

Stayed one night between catching the ferry and a flight. Only 3- 5 minutes walk from railway station, bus station, walkways to Westpac Stadium, Parliament and the start of the shopping in Lampton Quay.
Two New World supermarkets within 10 minutes walk, next door to a 'Subway', with a good pub on the next corner and MacDonalds just down the road opposite the Railway Stn. All in all, a great location for exploring Wellington.

I was in the apartment side - arrived late so had to buzz the intercom to get the instructions to get in - all very easy though.

My studio room was a good size - 2 single beds zipped together to make a king, a small flat screen tv, table and chairs, kitchenette and separate bathroom. All spotlessly clean.
The view of the wall of the next building only about 2 metres away wasn't inspiring but as they say, you're only there to sleep. A fan would be a great addition for when it's hot, as you don't get much breeze with the next building so close. Had a good nights sleep - seemed to be in a quiet

I'd stay again - especially if I was heading to the 'Cake-tin' (Westpac Stadium).

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Jeggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2010

Very compact room. Felt like we were squished in a box. Almost changed our minds and wanted to go somewhere else when we saw this, especially looking out the window to a wall. No fans or ac and it was hot up there. It did have a washing machine which took forever to do a wash but still. Had a kitchenette, bathroom - all very clean. They offered parking at $15 but it was in another building round the corner - worked out ok once we figured out how to get out of the building. Had free internet too so we were very happy with that. It worked for us in the end and provided what we needed - we were out all day anyway and just there to sleep.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Treenzs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2010

Stayed here the weekend of 27th Feb 2010. We had a triple and my parents a double. The rooms were exactly as had been described on here - well presented, clean, with a small kitchen area and clean bathroom and shower.
The rooms are fairly small but if you are only looking for somewhere to lay your head at night / weekend then these are perfect. The price we got was also pretty fantastic.
The apartments are ideally located for the Westpac stadium (we went to see the cricket) and parliament, and about a 15 minute walk to everywhere else. There is a subway on the corner, a newsagent and a special word for the Thistle pub which does great beer and food! Also - the bus station and train station are just 5 minutes away and from here you can get everywhere - it was ideal for us catching the airport bus. All in all a good place.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petersommers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2009

Just got back from Wellington last night and stayed in this 'hotel'. We missed checked in but they were very orgainsed and had left the key in a lock box at the front of the entrance doorway, you buzz and someone gives you directions to open and then you are good to go!

The room was a king and single, although the king was 2 singles pushed together, you couldn't feel the join.

It was also 3 blocks from Cafe 93 - very good food and quick service. Go out hotel, turn left for one block and then right for 2 blocks. It's on the left hand side.

The shower pressure was good. You have to take a hair dryer with you, but all else is there as they are serviced apartments for the most part...so you can cook and clean washing etc.

Great place that's clean and just what you need mid meetings.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DamosasAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2009

The first two nights we were given a tiny room where my wife and I could hardly move around in, much less open our suitcases. Then they moved us to a reasonably sized room. We loved the compact kitchen appliances and washer and dryer etc. even though we really didn't have time to use them. The room cleaning and restocking of supplies were poor but response to our requests were excellent. The location is great.

Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
2  Thank sabbaticalvj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.2 mi away
The Thorndon Hotel Wellington by Rydges
0.4 mi away
Park Hotel Lambton Quay
Park Hotel Lambton Quay
#20 of 46 in Wellington
137 reviews
0.5 mi away
Shepherds Arms Hotel
Shepherds Arms Hotel
#32 of 46 in Wellington
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
1,399 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
1,888 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quest on Thorndon
Quest on Thorndon
#7 of 52 in Wellington
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aitken on Mulgrave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aitken on Mulgrave

Address: 7 Aitken Street | Thordon, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Hotel Class:3 star — Aitken on Mulgrave 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Aitken on Mulgrave reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aitken On Mulgrave Wellington
Aitken On Mulgrave Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing