We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great quality and fantastic value for money”
Review of Aitken on Mulgrave

Aitken on Mulgrave
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aitken on Mulgrave
Ranked #40 of 47 Hotels in Wellington
Reviewed October 20, 2007

Excellent value for money with very good quality rooms. TV, DVD Player, Stereo etc. Also, Washer/Dryer, Oven/Hob, Microwave, Fridge & Dishwaher. Plus FREE WIRELESS BROADBAND (very fast connection with no probkems). Rooms serviced daily. Friendly and helpful reception staff who assisted with scanning, printing and faxing documents. Great location in Thorndon near Backbenchers & Thistle Inn (good for food). Also, Stanley Cafe next door which does great lunches. 5 minute walk to Lamdon Quay for shopping etc. Overall, can't find any fault and highly recommend for tourist and business traveller alike.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (37)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 37 of 37 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2007

This is just incredible value for money- a studio serviced suite with dishwasher, washing machine, kitchenette, DVD player, TV, stereo and free WIFI broadband slap bang in the middle of the CBD. Booked through Wotif for a week at $90 a night, would certainly recommend to anyone travelling either for business or pleasure. So far staff have also beenvery friendly and helpful.

Stayed: September 2007
3  Thank hettiella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2007

Nice apartment style motel/hotel. Is near the railway and bus station, so very handy to connections on public transport to all over the city. Very reasonably priced through the www.wotif.com website.

Bus transport within the inner city seemed to be only $1 a trip, so you can just catch the bus nearby at the bus station and head down Lambton Quay/Courtney Place to save your feet in order to find the shopping and restaurants.

There was a dishwasher, front loading washing machine and cooking facilities within the room! Also had Sky and free internet access.

There was not much noise from the street at night (we were on Level 5). The hotel is not located in the midst of the nightclubs so that is good for sleeping!

Bathroom was modern, clean and well appointed.

The only SMALL suggestions I would make to the hotel would be to include airconditioning (it was hot weather during our stay), and to get some drapes for the windows which were only covered by venetian blinds (the light came in the window very early in the morning).

Otherwise a great stay and we would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank blankney94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2006

We stayed in this hotel during the Wellington Sevens tournament...lucky to get a hotel at all!

We werent expecting much for the money we were paying, as we were lucky enough to check --- for last minute deals..expecting to find nothing...but got a great deal!

We were surprised to find a virtually brand new building with great facilities in the room. A short stroll to the Westpac Stadium, bus and trains, a supermarket a block or so away, good coffee next door! And really the walk to Courteney Place isnt that far at all... Would certainly recommend staying there to anyone...as we have already booked in for next years 7's tournament.

Stayed: February 2006
13  Thank Kiwi Helene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2005

Stayed here for one night in March 2005. Nice location, near the Parliament buildings, but a bit of a walk into the city centre where most of the restaurants are located. The rooms are marvellous, very new decor and excellent facilities, including kichenette with all the mod-cons (i.e. washer/dryer), a TV, CD player stereo etc. The hotel has more of a serviced appartment feel to it, the reception closes at 10pm for example, but this was perfect for us and the rate was great for what we got. Definitely recommend staying here, especially if you're on a long trip (as we were) and need to get some cheap laundry done in the privacy ofyour own room.

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank Philip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.5 mi away
Shepherds Arms Hotel
Shepherds Arms Hotel
#32 of 47 in Wellington
148 reviews
0.5 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 47 in Wellington
2,222 reviews
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 47 in Wellington
683 reviews
1.0 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#5 of 47 in Wellington
1,690 reviews
1.1 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aitken on Mulgrave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aitken on Mulgrave

Address: 7 Aitken Street | Thordon, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 47 Hotels in Wellington
Hotel Class:3 star — Aitken on Mulgrave 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Aitken on Mulgrave reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aitken On Mulgrave Wellington
Aitken On Mulgrave Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing