We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Nearby Hotels
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor(Wellington)(Great Value!)
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$114
$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Novotel Wellington(Wellington)(Great Value!)
$104
$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$186
$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
ibis Wellington(Wellington)(Great Value!)
$68
ibis
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
The Cambridge Hotel(Wellington)(Great Value!)
$57
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
$119
$94
Official Site
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$200
$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Travelodge Hotel Wellington(Wellington)(Great Value!)
$78
$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
At Home Wellington(Wellington)
$162
$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
Reviews (1,481)
Filter reviews
1,481 results
Traveler rating
862
444
131
32
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
862
444
131
32
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclassic suiteartisan restaurantpremier suiteone bedroom suitewasher dryerbotanical gardensfull kitchenvalet parkingnew zealandgovernment buildingsparliament buildingbusiness hotelroom servicestar hotelpillow menugood sizefree wifi
Filter
Updating list...
702 - 707 of 1,481 reviews
Reviewed April 28, 2014

When we booked our hotel for the weekend we had no idea what or where we had booked, in Wellington. As we find ourselves staying at the same places each trip to the capital. My first impression was not that of a 5star hotel, on the surface it seemed like any other hotel (for half the price). However, it didn't take long for me and my partner to see where they made up their reputation. The Staff. by the end of our stay we were very happy and left wanting to stay longer.

It was like home away from home. For a different hotel experience the Bolton is worth a try.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sailingkiwi91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2014

Thank you for you for your review, I was pleased to note your acknowledgement of our staff who work hard to anticipate and meet all our guest’s requirements and needs.
Warwick Angus – Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

In the last 10 years I have stayed at the Bolton Hotel about four times. Each time is an absolute pleasure to return to Wellington and stay here.

The property is loved and cared for by staff and owners, it is well maintained, they move forward of most hotel chains (had I-pads in rooms for a long time now) and continue to set the benchmark for a great stay. They remember your preferences when you arrive, the staff are excellently trained, and it shows. They are not a chain hotel - they are independent and have to stand on their own two feet - and they do it well.

The property is right next to NZ's parliament buildings, it is a quick walk to the main shopping street - Lambton Quay and a 5 minute walk to the Picton Ferry Terminals, so super handy.

I owned and ran a luxury lodge in NZ for 8 years and know how hard it is to keep consistent excellent service, but they always achieve this.

An exceptional item was the breakfast. All the fruits in the buffet were freshly stewed and prepared to perfection, with lots of healthy and international options. I stayed with my teenage daughter - she loved the I Pad, the swimming pool, and she enjoyed her stay as much as I did.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Waipoua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Wow what more can one say, it was such a pleasure to read your review and it was nice for our hard working front line staff to be acknowledged. Thank you so much.
Warwick Angus – Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

My family on 5 needed a place to stay in Wellington and found to our surprise that it was cheaper to have 2 rooms here than it was to get an appartment at the rather grim Quest chain. Much to our delight we had adjacent rooms each with kitchen and washing machine. The rooms are modern, very clean and trendy. Great showers. Comfy beds and pillow menus. Service was fantastic. Swimming pool a bonus for the kids. Valet parking worth it, as parking is awful in Wellington. Easy walk to everywhere, great location. Highly recommended.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
Thank Aucklander68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

It was a delight to read your review, thank you for your many favourable comments.
Warwick Angus – Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

The hotel is decent, location is very good, close the waterfront etc.

They have 2 lifts and one of them was not working when we arrived. It wasn't working by the time we left!

We stayed in the studio room with queen bed. The room was neat and tide, however the TV was on a wall not in front of the bed. Also, the bed side lamps don't have individual switches, they are connected to the main switch!!

AC cooling/warming controls are really ancient, needed to be pressed a few times to make it work!


There is a restaurant in house, which is very expensive and has very little variety in food choices.

The buffet breakfast was good though!

Pros:
Location
Free WiFi in the room
Clean and tidy room
The free buffet breakfast is good
Concierge services are good

Cons:
Not so great restaurant ( room service inclusive)
Dull ambience
There is no wardrobe / closet to hang or put your clothes in the studio room

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aseem C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Thank you for your review and comments, very much appreciated. The room you stayed in, is one of our guest studios and is designed for comfortable overnight stays. The Bolton is predominantly a One Bedroom apartment style hotel, providing a small number of Two Bedroom apartments and Studios. I was pleased you enjoyed our free Wi-Fi, buffet breakfast and concierge services.
Warwick Angus – Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

Although the rooms are nice and clean (but on the small site), we were disappointed about overall as it was overpriced. There were several additional charges adding up during our stay:
- parking for NZD 30 per night(!)
- breakfast NZD 30 pp in which the cappuccinos were not even included (extra payment without pre-warning by staff)
- credit card charges of 2%(!)
- etc.


In all over travel before we never came across which added credit card charges and the cappuccinos on top of the breakfast buffet. That's rip-off!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Bawidini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Thank you for your review and comments. I respond to your 3 points:
• The Bolton Hotel is in the heart of the government sector of Wellington’s CBD. There is no free parking in the CBD, the exception is overnight parking and weekends where some “2 hours free” parking is available. We provide a valet parking service at a rate of $30 per day. A very small percentage of our guests require parking and as such it is not appropriate to include the cost of parking in our room prices.
• The $30 breakfast per person, is the price for our full buffet breakfast. Tea and coffee is included in the buffet price, espresso coffee is a separate charge. Our breakfast menu includes a wide range of a la carte options, two examples; Avocado on toast $7.00, Manuka-smoked bacon and 2 eggs on toast $16.00.
• Many of our guests pay by direct debit card rather than a credit card. We do not charge for the use of debit cards. On the other hand, all credit card providers charge a fee and we apply a 2% surcharge to recover this cost. This charge is applied by most hotels throughout NZ.
Warwick Angus – Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews