We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Ranked #3 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Havant
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Bolton. Our apartment was gorgeous and although we didn't have brilliant views, we weren't in the room enough time to be bothered by it. We found the staff very helpful and friendly and thoroughly enjoyed our time in Wellington.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hmpullen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Thank you for your review and favourable comments, very much appreciated.
Warwick Angus – Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    801
    417
    126
    31
    7
See reviews for
203
684
67
312
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for one night on Saturday 22 February 2014. We picked this particular hotel due to a late flight arriving into Wellington and wanting a nice hotel, fairly close to the airport and town but mainly for their earth quake proofing.

We booked the hotel through a third party web site so I emailed the hotel to check they received the booking and payment, despite time differences the duty manager emailed back within a couple of hours confirming our booking.

Every staff member we meet was very friendly and helpful. We arrived about 11pm at night and a porter came straight out to get our bags. There were two staff at reception who were delightful. They were really friendly and helpful.

We loved the free unlimited wifi and ipad in the room. Only slight niggle is the ipad needed some program to be loaded to view a video. I am sure we could have asked reception, who would have sorted but it really wasn’t that important to worth worrying about.

Not sure of the type of room we had it was just a standard queen room. It was a little small but didn’t lack anything. Bed was comfortable. Great little nightlight/torch thing in the bathroom, it let off just enough light so you didn't bump into anything in the night if you left your bathroom door open.

Breakfast was included in our room rate and was a great selection of hot/cold, pastries, yogurt, fruit and jucies etc. Breakfast finished at 11am, we didn’t get down there till 10.30 the staff were very busy and still topping the food up. Again staff were friendly kept coming round offering coffee/tea etc. Newspapers and ipads in the restaurant too as well.

Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cassie2014474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
I enjoyed reading your comprehensive review and many favourable comments. I was pleased you enjoyed your room and our breakfast service. Thank you.
Warwick Angus – Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Stayed in the Bolton Hotel for 2 nights. I would not recommend staying here, it is over priced and overrated. We have stayed in a few 5 star hotels and this is definitely not in the same league.
The staff at reception were cold and not at all welcoming. No one bothered to help us with our bags and we received no information about the hotel or city when we were checking in.
Our room was cramped, dark and not what we had booked.

There are plenty other nicer hotels in Wellington and I will definitely not be coming back to the Bolton- my advice save your money and stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jessieeIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Thank you for your review, our management team will address this, as it is well out of character with the many favourable reviews we receive.
Warwick Angus – Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
372 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

We had a very comfortable stay at the Bolton, in a 1-bedroom suite. We chose that for the washer/dryer in the kitchenette, which was very convenient – although it is one of those small combo units that can take quite a while to dry the clothes. The hotel is modern and clean, has a good gym, lap pool and Jacuzzi. Breakfast was good. Staff were helpful and friendly; they even printed up a couple of maps with alternate routes to our next destination. Free wi-fi is included in your room, and the bedside clock is actually an iPad, which is kind of cool but with limited functionality, not like you can use it for surfing the net. The bathroom had nice amenities, but limited counter space. Also, due to the odd shape of our room, the closet was a bit cramped and awkward to get into, and there was not much drawer space. The location is good, although a few blocks further from the center than might be ideal. If you take the tram up to the botanic gardens, don’t bother buying a return ticket – the walk down will bring you within a couple blocks of the hotel.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Seattle98101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
I enjoyed reading your comprehensive review and comments, very much appreciated. Thank you.
Warwick Angus – Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
220 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

I stayed 5 nights at the Bolton. I had booked a Premier Studio to have access to a kitchen, but was upgraded to a 1-Bedroom suite. My view, unfortunately, was of a nearby building undergoing renovations. The rooms with the best views overlook Bolton Street Memorial Park.

The suite was generously sized, with a full kitchen, fridge, microwave, stove, oven, and even a dishwasher and clothes washer! Whenever I used some kitchen utensils, they magically reappeared sparkling clean in the drawers thanks to the housekeeping folks. I obtained my food supplies from New World, which was a 10-minute walk past The Beehive.

The kitchen was on one wall of the lounge room, which also had a couch and a small 2-seater table (which I used as a work desk).

The bathroom had a lovely "real" shower and a large bath. It took a while to get the hot water, but otherwise it was a great shower. The towels in the bathroom are soft and delightfully large.

Internet access was of good quality and included in the room rate. I connected multiple devices without difficulty (although it was slightly annoying have to re-enter a code each day).

I made use of the gym, which has a treadmill, bike, rowing machine and weights. There is also a lap pool that was mostly empty when I visited.

The staff are friendly and definitely wanting to help with advice or assistance. Even the housekeepers were friendly when I passed them in the halls. While the hotel is reasonably large, it felt like a smaller, friendlier hotel.

The location is close to the government Beehive building, and an easy walk to most parts of town. The airport bus conveniently stops a couple of blocks downhill, and the adjoining park winds through lovely greenery up to the Botanic Gardens and Cable Car stop.

Room Tip: The best views face the Bolton Street Memorial Park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fermax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
I enjoyed reading your comprehensive review and comments, very much appreciated. Thank you.
Warwick Angus – Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

This was our final stop in New Zealand before heading off to Australia. I loved this place and the night manager (I think his name was Dave). We pulled up in our car and he greeted us at the front driveway thinking we were lost tourists and ready to lend a hand directing us around town. We asked him where we should park if we are staying at the hotel. He was super honest and helpful. Told us valet can park our car for about $40 but since it is the weekend we can park in the garage across the street for $3. He even walked into the garage with us to make sure we parked in the right place and not a reserved spot.

After we parked he told us we reserved the studio apartment and there is a special that night to upgrade to a one bedroom suite for an extra charge. I told him we were fine with the studio but when he found out it was our honeymoon he upgraded us for free and even offered to accommodate us above and beyond what was expected. He gave us great tips for places to eat and made our stay so comfortable and special. The rooms were spacious and perfect!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mankoosha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
I was delighted that you enjoyed your honeymoon stay with us and I appreciated your comments regarding Dave our night manager.
Thank you
Warwick Angus – Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

This hotel was recommended and didn't disappoint. We had a two bedroom suite, which was spacious and well appointed. Convenient location to city centre. Staff were helpful and offered good ideas for restaurants. The pool and health centre were great. Enjoyed breakfast on the first day, which was nice, typical buffet style hotel fare. Made use of the well equipped kitchenette.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsManning585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Thank you for your review, I was pleased you enjoyed your stay. In particular I enjoyed reading your comments regarding our facilities and I was pleased you enjoyed our restaurant.
Warwick Angus – Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
1.0 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#6 of 46 in Wellington
1,580 reviews
0.9 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.2 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
1,834 reviews
0.3 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bolton Hotel Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bolton Hotel Wellington

Property: Bolton Hotel Wellington
Address: 12 Bolton Street | Lambton CBD, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bolton Hotel Wellington 5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bolton Hotel is the only Qualmark five star rated luxury boutique hotel in Wellington, New Zealand. With contemporary-styled guest rooms and suites, a fully equipped gym, heated swimming pool, spa pool, sauna and in-house restaurant, the award winning Bolton Hotel experience is like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Bolton Hotel Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing