We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, brilliant staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Ranked #3 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We spent 3 nights here. It was an excellent base for seeing Wellington, within walking distance of shops, restaurants, the harbour, the botanical gardens and other interesting sites. Excellent breakfast, lovely spacious room, really helpful and 'entertaining' staff.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2014

Thank you for your review and favourable comments, very much appreciated. In particular I was pleased to read your comments regarding our staff which are certainly our best asset.
Warwick Angus – Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,399)
There are newer reviews for Bolton Hotel Wellington
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

653 - 659 of 1,399 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2014

We recently stayed in a premium studio for the weekend. The room was spacious and well appointed with views to the memorial park which were very pleasant. An IPad for guests to use in the room was a novel addition and much appreciated. Staff were very courteous and in the Artisan restaurant at breakfast and dinner, they were exceptionally kind and friendly and especially Maitre d' Alan. The breakfast choice was extremely good and tasted just as good. On our second evening, we dined in the hotel restaurant and enjoyed a really delicious meal. There were some good vegetarian choices which suited me.
The only blip during our stay was that the sound and picture on the television was really bad and there weren't many choices of programmes. However, when we let management know about the TV problem, a replacement TV was put in place while we were out. We don't have time to watch much television at home so it was nice to watch some programmes after two long days walking around Wellington.
There are many hotels to choose from in the city centre - The Bolton has to be one of the best we have discovered.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heloise12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2014

Thank you for your review and favourable comments, very much appreciated. In particular I was pleased to read your comments regarding our breakfast and dinner service.
Warwick Angus – Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We stayed 3 nights here while travelling round New Zealand with friends. The location is good but we were not impressed with the room standard. We had a basic suite with a small bedroom and small double bed plus a sitting area. The furniture was also basic, a bit like Ikea. As with all modern city hotels we could not open the window which is annoying. One good useful feature was the clothes washer. Breakfast was fine. The swimming pool was a bonus.
Would I recommend it? Yes, for it's location, convenience and pool, only, do not expect 5 star cosseted luxiary.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank HasHout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2014

Thank you for your review and favourable comments, very much appreciated.
Warwick Angus – Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Staff were all lovely and very professional. We had two 2 bedroom apartments. Lounge/kitchen area was quite tight but master bedrooms and bathrooms were great! As someone else said before it isn't exactly luxurious and the decor is a little bland but was really nice regardless. Only annoying thing was one of the rooms didn't have the extra bath products like the mud mask and bath salts, which was somewhat disappointing (but nit picky on my behalf).

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sylvia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2014

Thank you for your review and favourable comments, very much appreciated. I have noted your comments regarding bath products.
Warwick Angus – Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

I found a deal online that included breaky this made the stay very good value for money. There are nice little surprises like an ipad for your use that includes the hotel compendium or you can use the convention internet for free. The breakfast selection was broad and catered for a range of tastes. I have stayed here before but this time I felt the service was much more relaxed in a good way, made you feel welcome.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank T3urumana0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2014

Thank you for your review and favourable comments, very much appreciated.
Warwick Angus – Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

I wouldn't say The Bolton is luxurious, but we did think it provided exceptional value. Our 2BR suite was on the small side, with the exception of the master bath which was quite spacious - would be very tight for two couples. The décor was bland but fine. The wide selection of complimentary spa products (mud mask etc) was a nice surprise. And we loved the washer/dryer combo, greatly appreciated it after weeks on the road. The AC was a little hard to control, and it took quite awhile to cool things down on a sunny day, but fortunately it kicked in before bed time.
Beds were fine - nothing special but nothing wrong either (like almost everything at this hotel).
Breakfast provided more great value, and the service in the restaurant was fantastic.
For the price, I'd highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eh555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2014

Thank you for your review, I was pleased you enjoyed your stay. We receive many favourable comments regarding our facilities in particular the in-room washing machines which are available in our one and two bedroom suites.
Warwick Angus – Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

My husband treated me to another stay at the Bolton Hotel for my birthday - we were last here 4 years ago. I really enjoyed both stays. Our room was upgraded (thanks heaps!) and also included in the price was an antipasto platter, buffet breakfast and a late check out time of midday!! I find this hotel to be very luxurious and modern. It is situated right in the city so you can walk to shops, cafes and restaurants. The staff were extremely polite and friendly and I hope to be treated to another weekend here in the not so distant future!!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2014

I was delighted that you enjoyed your birthday stay with us and I enjoyed reading your comments.
Thank you
Warwick Angus – Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
1.0 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#5 of 46 in Wellington
1,641 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
1,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.9 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
768 reviews
0.3 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bolton Hotel Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bolton Hotel Wellington

Address: 12 Bolton Street | Lambton CBD, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Price Range: $136 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Bolton Hotel Wellington 5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bolton Hotel is the perfect choice whilst visiting Wellington. We’re independent, so unlike a chain we can really look after you, with personalised extras that you may not find in other hotels. We’re located in the best part of the city, close to cafes, shops and restaurants and within walking distance of Wellington’s vibrant waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bolton Hotel Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing