We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not one complaint !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Ranked #3 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
New South Wales
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Not one complaint !”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Every thing about this hotel was first rate. They let us check in several hours early since we did not mind not having a view. I was quite happy with the view we did have.
We were even sent up a tray of complimentary nibbles. They responded quickly as well when we had trouble figuring out the washing machine.
I would have no problem recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: We had a 6th floor room and had no noise what so ever.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoCalexpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for your review and many favourable comments. I was delighted that you enjoyed our hotel and services.
Warwick Angus - Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    808
    421
    126
    32
    8
See reviews for
205
689
67
316
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yallingup, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We just spent two nights in a 2 bedroom apartment and I must say we were delighted with everything from the welcoming staff who assisted us with our baggage on arrival to the attentive wait staff in the restaurant. The rooms were spotless and roomy enough for the four of us. We really appreciated the use of he complimentary ipads and free WiFi. I would highly recommend the Bolton Hotel and if I come back to Wellington it will be my first choice of accommodation. Thankyou to everyone at the Bolton for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for your review and many favourable comments. I was pleased you enjoyed your room, our staff, services and facilities. We have had free Wi-Fi in our hotel for a couple of years, iPads in all rooms, with a custom app, is a recent addition and we believe a first for NZ.
Warwick Angus - Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
340 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We have just spent 8 nights at the Bolton and, weather excluded, thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We had a premier suite, which is so worth the extra cost as you are provided with a kitchenette (adequate for breakfast and coffee, but that's all we wanted), there is a lounge and dining area and views towards the park. We were on the 6th floor and barely noticed the 5.1 rated earthquake our second night - apparently it sways a little more on the top floors, but it is well built and protected in a similar way to the parliament building, so we felt very secure.
The hotel is very well positioned for the business areas and only a short walk to the shopping and tourist areas. The weather was a bit of a let down, but that was not the reason for our trip.
The staff at the hotel were welcoming, friendly and efficient, irrespective of how many times you dropped off the car in a day! I would recommend the Bolton without hesitation and will certainly return on a future visit.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank HSeeingtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for your review and favourable comments. I was pleased you enjoyed your room, facilities, and our staff and services. The Bolton Hotel is a very safe building, it has a Category A+ grade (exceeds 100%) of the New Building Standard for seismic design.
Warwick Angus - Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed here for one night, and what a wonderful hotel. Excellent staff, service, and a real pleasure to stay here. Everything was clean, good attention to detail and a real bargin. We got a deal which included a antipasti platter, late checkout and breakfast. They even had mini ipads in the rooms which was great. We had also asked for a earlier check in, which was no problem. All in all, a great place to stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for your review and favourable comments. I was pleased you enjoyed our rooms, staff and services.
Warwick Angus - Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed at the Bolton this weekend. The staff were pleasant and attentive, the hotel room clean, spacious and quiet and the restaurant food was excellent. Great location - one block over from Lambton Quay (off The Terrace). Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DailyTravelsNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for your review and favourable comments. I was delighted you enjoyed our rooms, services and friendly staff. I was pleased to note you also enjoyed our Artisan Restaurant.
Warwick Angus - Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Just writing this from the iPad mini in my classic suite room. Awesome. Have had such a lovely relaxing overnight stay. Very comfortable and has everything you need. Even a face mask and mineral salts if needed. The food in the Artisan restaurant was superb and cooked to perfection. The service in the restaurant and front desk has been fantastic too. Very friendly. Enjoyed the pool area. Very peaceful.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank D R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for your review. I was pleased you enjoyed our facilities and services, in particular our iPads. We added iPads to all our rooms in July, in addition to free internet services our iPads have a custom app for guest services. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.
Warwick Angus - Managing Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Spent 5 lovely nights at the Bolton in luxury!! Although we were out most of the daytimes it was so nice to comeback and disappear in the lovely beds and have a good nights sleep. It was also great to use their facilities like the sauna and spa!! The people behind the desks were so friendly and always greeted you with a smile even at 4.30am! :) (off to the airport) and nothing was a problem, even getting the car out of the stacker 3 times in a day!! Looking forward to going back and visiting again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Netster65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for your review and favourable comments, I was pleased you enjoyed your stay and our staff. We look forward to having you back to stay with us.
Warwick Angus - Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
1.0 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#5 of 46 in Wellington
1,620 reviews
0.9 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
1,865 reviews
1.1 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.3 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bolton Hotel Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bolton Hotel Wellington

Property: Bolton Hotel Wellington
Address: 12 Bolton Street | Lambton CBD, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bolton Hotel Wellington 5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bolton Hotel is the perfect choice whilst visiting Wellington. We’re independent, so unlike a chain we can really look after you, with personalised extras that you may not find in other hotels. We’re located in the best part of the city, close to cafes, shops and restaurants and within walking distance of Wellington’s vibrant waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bolton Hotel Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing