We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Fantastic.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Ranked #2 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fantastic.”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Bolton for 10 days in one of their Suites. Tidy, modern and clean rooms, fresh towels daily with complimentary milk for your morning coffee. But most importantly? It's quiet. Delightfully so. You can't hear through the walls or the windows. It's wonderful.

The rooms are well equipped: There were two television in our room, one in the lounge and one in the bedroom. The kitchen has all that you'd need and a decent fridge if you're cooking your own meals. There is a pillow menu which allows you to select the style pillow of your choice. The location is just steps from Parliament, and while there are plenty of lunch places nearby, most aren't open for dinner. Worth researching nearby options. Artisan restaurant is pretty good, with mains running around $35-40. And finally, the hotel staff was absolutely phenomenal - I can't stress that enough. They were polite, courteous and professional.

Only suggestion? A larger selection of television channels would be nice, that's it! Nothing else!

I'd highly recommend the Bolton for anyone staying in Wellington.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PinkLobsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Thank you for your review and your many favourable comments and I was particularly pleased to read your comments on our staff. I agree they are fantastic.
Warwick Angus - Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    785
    411
    125
    31
    7
See reviews for
199
673
64
308
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed 2 nights in one of the 'Bolton Suites' and it was great. Reception staff are very friendly and professional. Room was a fantastic size and very clean with modern appliances. The kitchen was fantastic; very clean and looked like it was very new. Very comfortable beds, they also have a pillow menu but although we didn't make use of this service it is still great to have. The food at the Bolton is amazing and reasonably priced. Room service was always on time and easy. The only thing I would mark the Bolton down on would be the little things like our milk and dishwashing liquids were not replaced after Housekeeping had serviced room. However reception bought replacements in a few minutes. Overall a fantastic experience and would definitely be using the Bolton for my next visit to Wellington.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRD09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Thank you for your review, I really appreciated your comments on our two bedroom suite and our service.
Warwick Angus - Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Just finished staying two nights here with my seven year old daughter. It is a good hotel, well positioned, nice views....but in the end nothing to write home about. Just a little tired: scuff marks in the rooms, the staff a little withdrawn, breakfast service a trifle lacksadaisical, clumsy efforts to get you to use their service to the airport rather than the much cheaper taxi waiting outside and so on.....

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank StretherMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Thank you for your review and favourable comments, very much appreciated.
Warwick Angus - Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
163 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

This hotel has very nice rooms. I had a bedroom with separate living room and a fully equipped kitchen allowing to make my own evening meal.
the hotel is situated very close to the Parliament building and the main train station. it is a short walk to the shopping streets.

Room Tip: Nice hotel for business stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterW37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Thank you for your review and favourable comments, very much appreciated.
Warwick Angus - Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed a couple of nights at Bolton on a business trip. On check-in they suggested an upgrade (I wanted a bath!) which was a nice touch. We had dinner at the hotel which was excellent! The rooms were lovely - tidy, clean and included a kitchenette - nice for travelers. They also had free wi-fi which was very reliable - something rare amongst hotels in our experience! Our only gripe would be the inflexible nature of the Hotel operations. We wanted to add an extra night, just for one person, and to save moving to another hotel we asked for a cheaper room for the night. The cheapest was $199 (although this became $189 when we asked someone else!) and we wanted them to do it for $150 (yes, central accommodation is expensive!) because we could get multiple rooms at alternative places for less. They refused, in fact, there was really no question, they didn't even put on a fake empathetic attitude, just a head down, "who do you think you are" persona - which frankly I'd expect at other Hotels (especially in Aus!), but thought the Bolton, and NZ, was better than this! We were left feeling that they could have at least met us halfway - they have plenty of empty rooms so why not accommodate us, given we had spent a lot of money with them over the previous two nights! We booked at another hotel as a result, and while the place was nice, we won't be going back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helenwattie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you for your review and favourable comments, very much appreciated. In respect to your request for a discount rate for an extra night. Mid week is our busiest period and on the night of your request we achieved a full house.
Warwick Angus – Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed June 15, 2013

My wife and I had the experience of staying at this amazing accomodation. We were booked into a room on floor 15. The room and dining experience was of a high level we were provided with free WIFI access and enjoyed the opportunity to carry out our individual set tasks with the organisations we are involved with. The breakfast experience on 4/6/13 was our highlight because of the manner and behaviour of the waiter, he provided excellent service and was very helpful with information regarding our activities for the day. During our discussions we realised he has family(whanau) connections to both of us and we had the added comfort of that knowledge.
The room and facilities are 10+. we enjoyed our stay and thank the early morning (5/6/13) reception desk for arranging our taxi and luggage.

Room Tip: Ask to be up graded to floor 15
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eruini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you for your review and favourable comments, very much appreciated. I have recognised the person who served breakfast by your descriotion and I agree he is amazing, a great asset to our hotel.
Warwick Angus - Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We spent five nights here while visiting our daughter who is studying in Wellington this term. Our suite was great: super comfortable king bed, separate sitting/kitchenette area, large modern bath. Convenient to everything we wanted to visit. When we discovered the washer/dryer we were in heaven. Most of the staff were very friendly and eager to help. The valet parking turned out to be a godsend in Wellington and well worth the cost.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb0730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
I really enjoyed reading your review and comments. Thank you it is nice to know our rooms and services are appreciated.
Warwick Angus - Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.9 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
717 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
1,785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#8 of 46 in Wellington
1,536 reviews
1.1 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.3 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bolton Hotel Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bolton Hotel Wellington

Property: Bolton Hotel Wellington
Address: 12 Bolton Street | Lambton CBD, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bolton Hotel Wellington 5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bolton Hotel is the only Qualmark five star rated luxury boutique hotel in Wellington, New Zealand. With contemporary-styled guest rooms and suites, a fully equipped gym, heated swimming pool, spa pool, sauna and in-house restaurant, the award winning Bolton Hotel experience is like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bolton Hotel Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing