We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“pretty good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bolton Hotel Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Ranked #3 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“pretty good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Just finished staying two nights here with my seven year old daughter. It is a good hotel, well positioned, nice views....but in the end nothing to write home about. Just a little tired: scuff marks in the rooms, the staff a little withdrawn, breakfast service a trifle lacksadaisical, clumsy efforts to get you to use their service to the airport rather than the much cheaper taxi waiting outside and so on.....

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank StretherMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Thank you for your review and favourable comments, very much appreciated.
Warwick Angus - Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    776
    403
    124
    30
    7
See reviews for
195
664
63
305
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
162 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

This hotel has very nice rooms. I had a bedroom with separate living room and a fully equipped kitchen allowing to make my own evening meal.
the hotel is situated very close to the Parliament building and the main train station. it is a short walk to the shopping streets.

Room Tip: Nice hotel for business stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterW37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Thank you for your review and favourable comments, very much appreciated.
Warwick Angus - Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed a couple of nights at Bolton on a business trip. On check-in they suggested an upgrade (I wanted a bath!) which was a nice touch. We had dinner at the hotel which was excellent! The rooms were lovely - tidy, clean and included a kitchenette - nice for travelers. They also had free wi-fi which was very reliable - something rare amongst hotels in our experience! Our only gripe would be the inflexible nature of the Hotel operations. We wanted to add an extra night, just for one person, and to save moving to another hotel we asked for a cheaper room for the night. The cheapest was $199 (although this became $189 when we asked someone else!) and we wanted them to do it for $150 (yes, central accommodation is expensive!) because we could get multiple rooms at alternative places for less. They refused, in fact, there was really no question, they didn't even put on a fake empathetic attitude, just a head down, "who do you think you are" persona - which frankly I'd expect at other Hotels (especially in Aus!), but thought the Bolton, and NZ, was better than this! We were left feeling that they could have at least met us halfway - they have plenty of empty rooms so why not accommodate us, given we had spent a lot of money with them over the previous two nights! We booked at another hotel as a result, and while the place was nice, we won't be going back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank helenwattie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you for your review and favourable comments, very much appreciated. In respect to your request for a discount rate for an extra night. Mid week is our busiest period and on the night of your request we achieved a full house.
Warwick Angus – Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

My wife and I had the experience of staying at this amazing accomodation. We were booked into a room on floor 15. The room and dining experience was of a high level we were provided with free WIFI access and enjoyed the opportunity to carry out our individual set tasks with the organisations we are involved with. The breakfast experience on 4/6/13 was our highlight because of the manner and behaviour of the waiter, he provided excellent service and was very helpful with information regarding our activities for the day. During our discussions we realised he has family(whanau) connections to both of us and we had the added comfort of that knowledge.
The room and facilities are 10+. we enjoyed our stay and thank the early morning (5/6/13) reception desk for arranging our taxi and luggage.

Room Tip: Ask to be up graded to floor 15
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eruini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you for your review and favourable comments, very much appreciated. I have recognised the person who served breakfast by your descriotion and I agree he is amazing, a great asset to our hotel.
Warwick Angus - Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

We spent five nights here while visiting our daughter who is studying in Wellington this term. Our suite was great: super comfortable king bed, separate sitting/kitchenette area, large modern bath. Convenient to everything we wanted to visit. When we discovered the washer/dryer we were in heaven. Most of the staff were very friendly and eager to help. The valet parking turned out to be a godsend in Wellington and well worth the cost.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb0730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
I really enjoyed reading your review and comments. Thank you it is nice to know our rooms and services are appreciated.
Warwick Angus - Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has a great location. Room very spacious. Had an apartment style room with full
Kitchen and washer/dryer, which was very convenient. Bed was comfortable. Only complaint was that WIFI did not reach into my room and needed to use in the lobby.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank czbrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Thank you for your review and favourable comments, very much appreciated. I note your comments on Wifi reception. We have been having some issues with Wifi recently and our provider is currently replacing a number of our routers to address this.
Warwick Angus - Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

We were in a 1 bedroom suite, had a galley kitchen, with a large bathroom. Couldn't ask for a better room. The resturant had good food, but one night our waiter was great, made this dinner even better. Close to the train station, and Government Buildings. Easy to walk around. Not sure were the car went, as it was parked by them, but I think that tiny car elevator took it away. ;-). Would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajbcalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Thank you for your review, which I really enjoyed reading, I appreciated your comments on our restaurant and service. Thanks, and yes our car stacker would have taken your car up and away.
Warwick Angus - Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.9 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#6 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#9 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,515 reviews
1.1 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.3 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bolton Hotel Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bolton Hotel Wellington

Property: Bolton Hotel Wellington
Address: 12 Bolton Street | Lambton CBD, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bolton Hotel Wellington 5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bolton Hotel is the only Qualmark five star rated luxury boutique hotel in Wellington, New Zealand. With contemporary-styled guest rooms and suites, a fully equipped gym, heated swimming pool, spa pool, sauna and in-house restaurant, the award winning Bolton Hotel experience is like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bolton Hotel Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing