We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Ranked #3 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We were booked into the hotel for a conference and I had never heard of it, but was pleasantly surprised when I arrived and the staff fell all over themselves to help us. We had a suite which we had our meetings in it was on the 18th floor and suited our group down to the last detail. One of our trustees had been in an accident and the hotel arranged a bed on a trundler so he could lie down in the middle of the room with his broken arm to rest during the meetings. Every meal we had was incredible, the chef looked after all my gluten and grain free requests, adjusting meals if required. Coffee was hot every time it arrived and the rooms were incredible from the suite bathrooms and all the ambiance and design features. Five star but so relaxed and friendly. The toiletries were delightful and I was given a complimentary set of shampoo and conditioner as I left when I tried to buy a spare one.
Can't say enough, value for money for what we would have paid for a conference centre, this was incredible and we were just treated with so much respect and so professionally. I am really proud as a kiwi to have a hotel like this in my capital city. it is really worth booking ahead as I imagine it is really popular as it was pretty full. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: I was on 16th floor at the back overlooking the motorway and hills it was very private and quiet. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvonne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2013

Thank you for your review, for me it was a delight to read your many favourable comments and I was pleased your group enjoyed your experiences at the Bolton. The room you used for your conference was our Residential Suite and this is becoming very popular for small functions and conferences. Thank you again.
Warwick Angus - Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,407)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

786 - 792 of 1,407 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2013

Travelling with husband and 3 and 5 year old, we stayed in the 2 bedroom apartment. The rooms were a good size, main bathroom very large. Room had two bathrooms and great blackout curtains in bedrooms. Room was impeccably clean, staff very very courteous and welcoming throughout the stay. Modern fit out and decor with daily update on what's on in Wellington at lift. Close to top end of Lambton Quay, about 15 min walk to Cuba and 10 to wharf area.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stephsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

Thank you for your review and many favourable comments, very much appreciated. I was pleased you enjoyed one of our two bedroom suites, these suites are ideal for families.
Warwick Angus - Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights with my partner and friend in a 2 bed suite - on the plus side we were upgraded to a Presidential suite which was clean, spacious and had a balcony overlooking the main road. The welcome at reception was warm and although technically everything was in place for 5 stars something seemed to be missing. The bar area, for example, was very small and contiguous with the mezzanine restaurant - which was empty on the first night of our stay and booked out for a private event on the second. Our gin & tonics were served with lemon (as opposed to the more usual lime), the pool and spa seemed hard to locate and very small and the service at times seemed a little patchy compared to other 5 star hotels I've stayed at. All small niggles but they add up to the conclusion that I'd save the money and stay somewhere a bit cheaper next time.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Love_flying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

Thank you for your review and comments, very much appreciated.
Warwick Angus - Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

I love this hotel. I travel a lot and would regard it as one of my top two experiences because everything down to the little details is covered - from the really useful mini bar that includes toothpaste right through to the extra fluffy blanket on your bed. As a female business traveller it gets all the ticks particularly a good hair dryer and lighting in the bathrooms so you can do your makeup!

Breakfast is consistent, fast, excellent quality and good service. Go for the al la carte as the eggs, bacon and homemade baked beans are well worth it.

Service is impeccable.

The only hotel to stay while in Wellington.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
Thank Denita W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

Thank you for your review and favourable comments, very much appreciated. You mention you love the Bolton Hotel, I really appreciated that, this means for you we have achieved our goal of making the Bolton Hotel your home away from home.
Warwick Angus - Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Was at Wellington for a work trip in Apr 2013 and extended my stay for 2 nights for some sightseeing. Stayed at the Bolton and found this hotel very comfortable. The rooms (I took the smallest one) are't v big, but they are all equipped with amenities. The staff at the reception is helpful and friendly and also very obliging. They are attentive to needs of guests which is a big plus. Location wise, it is pretty central and walkable to Lambton Quay, just walk towards the water front. Overall, am v pleased with this hotel.

Room Tip: If you'd like a bigger room, Bolton has those that come with a small kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anita L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

Thank you for your review and favourable comments, very much appreciated.
Warwick Angus - Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

The Bolton Hotel provided us with a good deal for a night in Wellington while on our honeymoon. The concierge was very helpful and the service was great. The hotel was very clean, quiet, and classy. The location was perfect for our walk to the Queenstown Gardens, Cuba Street, and Te Papa. Great choice for a night in Wellington.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank San S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

Thank you for your review and favourable comments. I was delighted you enjoyed your stay with us while on your honeymoon.
Warwick Angus - Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Stayed in a 2-bedroom suite for one night. Wished we could have stayed longer!! Very good location- lots of great cafes to walk to, as well as shopping. Our suite was spacious and beautiful. Equipped with everything we needed. The staff was incredibly helpful- provided a car to take us to dinner, amazing dinner recommendation (Martin Bosley's for seafood), and just overall lovely. Would definitely recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMD, Owner at Bolton Hotel Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your experience with us and thank you for your favourable comments, very much appreciated.
Warwick Angus - Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
1.0 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#5 of 46 in Wellington
1,665 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
1,908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.9 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
775 reviews
0.3 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bolton Hotel Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bolton Hotel Wellington

Address: 12 Bolton Street | Lambton CBD, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Price Range: $136 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Bolton Hotel Wellington 5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bolton Hotel is the perfect choice whilst visiting Wellington. We’re independent, so unlike a chain we can really look after you, with personalised extras that you may not find in other hotels. We’re located in the best part of the city, close to cafes, shops and restaurants and within walking distance of Wellington’s vibrant waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bolton Hotel Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing